: Which HDTV should I buy this season?

Pages : [1] 2 3

adesalos
2008-11-11, 11:35 AM
Trying to decide on the right model here while upgrading my complete A/V set-up.
At equivalent price (about $1300-$1600), what are the reasons to buy one vs. the other?
Any comments appreciated.

acSlayta
2008-11-11, 05:23 PM
If you're gonna consider the Panasonic plasma I'd recommend checking out the Samsung PN**650 series. I had to decide between the two a month ago when I bought mine and I went with the Samsung. Rich, warm, realistic colors are A+

Tonyd133
2008-11-12, 12:56 AM
I am torn between two 1080p plasmas, both Panasonic.
Contender #1, Viera TH-C50FD18 (similar specs as the Z80) from Costco. Costco will double the warranty for free. Points to consider, 20,000:1 contrast ratio and 50 inches.

Contender #2, Viera TH46PZ85
Points to consider, 46 inches but 30,000:1 contrast ratio, slim design, 1 year warranty

Most other features similar. I am torn and can't make up my mind. I'm a rookie when it come to this stuff. Not sure if the contrast thing is a big deal, for a hundred more, I get more screen, but more screen doesn't mean much if the image is lacking.

Opinions appreciated!

Thanks,

Tony

wprager
2008-11-12, 06:28 AM
Where will it sit (dark basement, bright familyroom)? How far will you sit away from it?

The contrast numbers are often not all that relevant, but since they are from the same manufacturer perhaps this time it actually means something. In a brighter room I'd prefer better contrast numbers. Otherwise I'd go for more size, unless you're sitting very close.

Brooker
2008-11-12, 10:47 PM