: Firefox 3.0 Issues on Windows


Pages : [1] 2

Petee_C
2008-09-03, 08:51 PM
Anyone have a quick fix for this?

My desktop computer was running FF 2.x.x, and I got a message to upgrade to FF 3.0 a few weeks back.

It has become next to unusable, crashing within minutes....

Any suggestions? Do a complete uninstall and then reinstall it from scratch? I guess the only draw back would be I lose my bookmarks and saved passwords.

THanks,
P

PS. Running Vista

rsambuca
2008-09-03, 09:40 PM
Just save your bookmarks.html file and the cookies.sqlite files to keep those settings. Come to think of it, you may as well just save the entire profile folder, and link to it in the profile manager after re-installing.

hugh
2008-09-03, 10:16 PM
I think FF 3 is really buggy. I'm having lots of problems with saved passwords and things not loggin in properly to various sites.

The result is I am using Opera a lot more these days.

eljay
2008-09-03, 10:26 PM
I'm actually having better luck with 3.0 (actually 3.0.1) than with 2.* versions. I find this version to be very reliable.

jvincent
2008-09-03, 10:48 PM
No problems here with FF 3.0 either.

rsambuca
2008-09-03, 11:31 PM
Interesting. I am finding that other than the slower start-up, Firefox 3 is much better for me. What OS is everyone using it on? I am using the linux version for the most part.

jvincent
2008-09-03, 11:33 PM
XP here.

rsambuca
2008-09-03, 11:55 PM
If hugh is using Vista, then maybe we are on to something here...

cyclo
2008-09-04, 12:15 AM
I have Firefox 3.01 installed on 3 Vista PCs/Laptops... Ultimate, Enterprise, Home Premium. I use the saved password feature to auto logon to a variety of forums (computer hardware, software, cycling, etc.) with no problems. I don't think it is Vista.

To copy (and backup) my FF bookmarks and passwords from one computer to the next, I use Mozbackup.

spensar
2008-09-04, 12:43 AM
I use Vista and FF 3.0 and am not having any problems.

VuMax
2008-09-04, 11:15 AM
I'm also using FF3 on Vista. The last couple of versions of FF2 crashed daily on this machine, FF3 has been solid.

Petee_C
2008-09-04, 11:54 AM
saving the profile, and doing an uninstall and a fresh install seems to have cured my crashing problems.... at least it has for the past few hours that its been up.

The profile manager was a bit awkwards, but my bookmarks and logins seem to have made the switch.

P

Biggworm
2008-09-04, 05:02 PM
I had posted earlier when FF3 first came out that I was unable to load Google Maps following the upgrade (still can't). I am using Vista and the only other issue I have had is I can't log on to the admin page for my D-Link DIR-655 router (this stopped working after upgrade as well - message is resource appears to be down). In both instances IE7 does the trick.

Zero G
2008-09-04, 05:05 PM
I'm running it on 3 XP Pro SP3 machines and it has been running very well.

jvincent
2008-09-04, 05:05 PM
For those that are having issues have you tried resetting everything to default?

Just type "about:config" into the URL bar and go crazy.

rsambuca
2008-09-04, 09:51 PM
I am also wondering whether it may be a particular extension that is being troublesome.

e268
2008-09-13, 08:51 PM
It is taking over my computer. Whenever I visit a website, my cpu usage goes to 100% and memory usage is over 500MB. After I closed it, windows task manager shows it is still on, and I have to hit end process to kill it. I am now on IE. I turned off my computer and started all over again, same problem. Turned off computer again and same problem. Wonder if any of you run into tis situation. BTW, Avast is running for protection.

cyclo
2008-09-13, 09:15 PM
If you you notice that your disk drive is thrashing (excesive disk activity) while your CPU usage goes to 100% it could because of the built-in anti-malware serving site protection feature in FF3.xx.

You can disable this by following the instructions of "workaround" (2nd from last) in this thread from Mozilla Support:

Hard Drive Thrashing Fix in FF 3 (http://support.mozilla.com/tiki-view_forum_thread.php?locale=en-US&forumId=1&comments_parentId=82100)

Since I use Adblock Plus and NoScript extensions anyways, there was no need for me to enable this anti-malware serving site protection feature. I noticed a faster/smoother behaving FF 3.0 after disabling the option.

e268
2008-09-13, 09:19 PM
Thanks. HDD is flashing and clicking. I'll try and fix it now.

e268
2008-09-13, 09:26 PM
Cyclo: it works. But, does it make it less secure?