: HDTV Newbie Questions.

steam03
2008-07-08, 08:03 PM
Hi All,
I came across this website because I was googling a lot of info. for HDTV. I'm a definite noob in this field and thought this site has tonssssss of info. and people that would be able to help me understand more. I live in Markham in Toronto and currnetly watching TV under Rogers basic cable.

Recently, I bought a Samsung 52" LCD TV with Home Theatre System and Blu Ray player as a bundle. I have been reading this forum and learned a few things. But there are some more questions I would like to ask. Hope this would save me a little bit of time reading many threads. I know the normal cable tv is only a 480i (and it's sucking on the lcd) and it's not even digital because I only have channels 2-6X channels.

1) If I just go with ROgers digital basic plan, are the channels much better PQ than what I'm seeing right now?

2) Say if I join Rogers Digital Basic plan (Ch 0-2XX?), do I view their channels in 16:9 unstretched or still 4:3? (I am not enjoying the stretched images right now)

3) Say if I join Rogers Digital Basic plan, I know I get a few free HD channels (OTA). But I want to watch sports in HD. Must I add an entire package just to get TSN HD, the score HD, sportsnet HD? Can I add less $ to choose certain HD channels?

4) I'm paying around $50 tax-in for my basic cable Rogers now. Any preferences between other providers like Shaw or StarChoice or etc? Suggestions for a digital plan with some HD experience?

Thanks for considering my questions as well!:p

eljay
2008-07-08, 08:06 PM
Hi AllHi, and welcome! :D
1) If I just go with ROgers digital basic plan, are the channels much better PQ than what I'm seeing right now?Generally speaking, probably yes, but sometimes the analogue SD channels do look almost as good as / comparable to the digital SD channels...