: Split from 1080i vs 1080p Upgrade Thread

TheTechV
2008-01-30, 12:27 PM
Newbie here....(hopefully this post is in the right forum thread)

I am a recent owner of a PS3, and have found my movie collection of Blu-Ray movies increasing, picture quality looks fabulous on my Toshiba DLP 52HM84, however its only 720p/1080i HDTV, which I got over 4 years ago. My question to you all is, am I missing out on the new "1080p" wave of Full HDTV LCD/Plasma's. I am thinking of buying another TV for the household, and don't want to blow my budget, since I already have a solid DLP TV. I am looking at the Samsung LCD LNT4061, which comes with all the bells and whistles. (3HDMI slots 1080p resolution, USB ports), etc.....

Is this a worthy upgrade for me? or should I stand pat, and wait tell the newer technology comes out, but at the speed of tech, that is probably pointless. You know what I mean?

Basically, am I going to notice my Blu-Ray Movies, in better picture quality if I go with this upgrade. I know there are better LCD's out there then this Samsung, but its on Sale, and the size (40") is just about right for my room conditions.

Thanks again, love the site......any info would greatly be appreciated.
There is a difference between 1080p and 1080i in certain condition.

When you have fast-pace action on your screen. The 1080p is much
better for refreshing image (more image per second) in those condition
and gives you better result naturally. Its the case with sports like
hockey just to mention an example. Also, Plasma is better than ACL or
LCD when the size of your TV is more than 40. Else, under 40 it is ACL
or LCD that are better.

Note that many digital box or digital decoder don't support 1080p as
of now but I guess more will in the future. It might be the case also
for othe equipment you use connected on your HDTV so verify that
too.

Hope it answer your question and it will ease your choice.

hugh
2008-01-30, 01:01 PM