: TV Only has 2 HDMI so I have to choose.


supercoo
2008-01-21, 05:09 PM
Hi guys,

I have 3 units that can be hooked up to HDMI so I have to decide which of the 3 I will have to connect via Component cables.

Expressvu 6100 HD
Toshiba HD DVD Player
Sony Playstation 3 40gb

Actually the Expressvu is DVI - HDMI if that matters.
I do use the Toshiba a bit for upconverting DVD's I guess.

I just got the PS3 and haven't hooked it up yet.
I wanted to see what my best option would be from you smart guys.

Thanks in advance!

Cyclism
2008-01-21, 05:12 PM
I would recommend connecting the HD DVD and the PS3 via HDMI in order to preserve the upconverting capabilities of both players which can only be done via HDMI. I would use component to connect the 6100HD as you will not see any noticeable difference between component and HDMI.

JesseJ
2008-01-21, 05:29 PM
You can get an HDMI 1.3 switcher for as low as $39 online at monoprice.

JohnnyG
2008-01-22, 11:03 AM
Oppo has a 3 input HDMI auto-switch for $99. It even includes a remote control, but it auto-switches too. A customer of mine had one and was very happy with it.

I saw a number of different HDMI switches at Future Shop as well. There were in the area with TV antennas.

Stargazer
2008-01-22, 12:11 PM
Which two will you use the most? We watch TV the most, so I would connect the STB with HDMI (I got a slightly sharper picture vs component).

The PS3 will up-convert DVDs, too, so you don't need the Toshiba just to do that.

Plus, if you start building up your BD collection, you'll have less need for the Toshiba :D.

57
2008-01-22, 12:39 PM
Stargazer, the PS3 and the HD-DVD player only upconvert via HDMI, hence the appropriate suggestions by Cyclism in post 2. Via Component Video they only upconvert to 480p. Of course a switch is an option, but not really necessary in this case - the switch will also negate the possibility of optimum calibration of all inputs.

Stargazer
2008-01-22, 01:25 PM
That's why I recommended connecting the STB and PS3 with HDMI.

The OP stated that the Toshiba was for upconverting DVDs. If that's the case why use the Toshiba for upconverting, if the PS3 will do it for you plus more?

Also, since the PS3 is new it will probably get more use than the Toshiba, anyway.

Plus, I never said anything about using a switch. Sorry if I was unclear in my first post.

JohnnyG
2008-01-22, 04:19 PM
It is extremely unlikely that you will notice any image degradation by connecting the ExpressVu receiver by component video (some even report an improvement). I don't believe you'd suffer any technical limitations in the receiver, either.

pappcam
2008-01-23, 11:00 AM
I have a 55" Sony SXRD which has two HDMI inputs. I use the two for my PS3 and my PC (The VGA input on the TV has a limited resolution). I hook up the Cable PVR through component and it looks the same as when I had it hooked up with HDMI.

I was going to get an HDMI switch from monoprice and use my Harmony 880 remote to switch inputs but they're all out of stock so I went the above route.

Ham.Clan
2008-01-23, 11:15 AM
Dell has a 4-Port HDMI Video Switch with Remote for $49.99 in today's DOD promotion.

JohnnyG
2008-01-23, 12:51 PM
$50 is a great price! Makes me wish I needed one!

Well, makes me wish I had an extra $50 to spend too :D

hawkwind
2008-01-23, 03:26 PM
Since switches have been mentioned, does anybody now if there is an optical switch out there that can be switched with a remote? Right now I am manually unplugging and plugging the optical cable from my STB to my 360.

JesseJ
2008-01-23, 03:57 PM
You can get an HDMI 1.3 switcher for as low as $39 online at monoprice.
Like I said before, there's an HDMI 1.3b switch, with remote, for $39 at monoprice. It's worth it.

4X1 Enhanced 1.3b Certified HDMI Switch with built-in Equalizer and Remote (REV.3.0)
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011002&p_id=4088&seq=1&format=2

kai
2008-01-31, 02:29 PM
+1 on the above HDMI switch but I would get a 4x2 hdmi switch because of the 2 HDMI output to the TV. This way you can adjust the TV picture setting per hdmi input and you can assign sources to the individual picture setting as you SEE fit. :)

I tried the BEV 6100 with DVI-to-hdmi and it is a slight picture improvement...mainly the blacks were darker, but then you need a separate audio feed to the TV or AVR.

Battscrew
2008-01-31, 11:00 PM
Since switches have been mentioned, does anybody now if there is an optical switch out there that can be switched with a remote? Right now I am manually unplugging and plugging the optical cable from my STB to my 360.
I just purchased an optical splitter which from what I understand when used in reverse will allow it to work in esence as a auto switch - but you can only have one signal going thru at a time.

57
2008-02-01, 12:07 AM
Problem is, many STBs are sending a digital audio signal, even when they are "off" which is really standby, therefore a switch is required.

new-guy
2008-02-01, 02:08 PM
Some time back I found an optical switch at Radio Sharck, now the source...
It is a manual switch but it does the job wonderfully.. No idea if they still have it but it is worth a look see.

UPDATE: check out eBay (or others) for optical switches

navdhanju
2008-02-11, 02:42 PM
I would say just use the component for the 6100. All broadcast HD is 1080i. (Correct me if Im wrong)
So you would still be getting that with the compnent.

IMO that should solve ur problem.

Good Luck

57
2008-02-11, 06:11 PM
Not all broadcast HDTV is 1080i, see:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76129

Also, BEV changes most of the 1080i channels to 720P, so 720P is probably a better choice, but I agree, as mentioned earlier that CV from the STB is a good option.