: Analog SD on Plasma

totalbalance
2008-01-08, 12:14 PM
Hi folks,
I recently bought an LG 50PC5D plasma TV from FS. This is my first HDTV and I don't have a digital box yet (It's coming in the mail). So I hooked my normal analogue cable into it. What I've noticed is that the regular channel TV picture looks grainy as compared to my tube TV. I've tried different modes the TV has where it leaves either the picture native in 3:2 or it zooms it and tries to fit in the 16:9 by zooming in the picture, the picture in any setting looks grainy. Given the fact that I am a newbie in the HDTV world, is this normal? I thought the TV would automatically upconvert the signal and do a better job. Would this improve when I connect my digital box watching normal (ie 480 resolution) TV statations, not just HD, or should I buy a more expensive brand such as Panasonic or Pioneer instead? BTW, the picture looks amazing when I hook up either my regular DVD or my upconverting DVD. Thanks for your inputs.

Cyclism
2008-01-08, 12:20 PM
totalbalance:

Welcome to the Digital Home Forums.

Please read the following FAQ with lots of useful information for newcomers to the Forum:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

Included in the FAQ above, you will see a link titled: Why is the Picture Quality on my HDTV not what I expected, especially for SD signals?

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=18580

totalbalance
2008-01-17, 09:51 AM