: Sound Dropouts on Rogers HD Preview Channel 501

Pages : [1] 2

SuperGoop
2005-07-20, 12:48 AM
I am new to HDTV. I just rented the 3250HD box. I have no problems with any of the HD channels, except for Rogers' own Preview channel 501! It happens to not only the MM Video Awards, but also the one when they are introducing the advantages of HDTV.

I am using coax digital audio out into my Pioneer VSX812 receiver. About 1 second of sound is dropped every 20 seconds. If I switch the Audio output setting to "Other" (instead of "Dolby Digital"), the stutter goes away.

I tried to search the forum, but couldn't find a solution. I called Rogers, and they say they are not aware of the sound drop problem.

Fortunately, I don't have this problem with the regular HD channels.

Thanks.

JAY-DEE
2005-07-21, 10:38 AM
SuperGoop, I've noticed the same sound dropouts on the Rogers HDTV preview channel (501). Haven't even tried to change sound settings because the other HD channels seems to be OK except for problems which others have identified with sound occasionally (louder, softer etc. on various channels). Could it be that the Dolby sound is not being properly managed by Rogers?

My receiver for sound is a Sony DB1070 which has been providing excellent full surround sound.

I occasionally glance at the preview channel just for the picture to ensure that broadcasting of HD picture is OK when there are problems at source with some broadcasts on network TV channels.

Enjoying HDTV. Wish there was more Movie channel HDTV and more "educational" HDTV.

uberchuckie
2005-07-21, 02:37 PM
I had really bad audio stutters when I connected my Pioneer VSX-409 receiver to the Explorer 8000HD using coax.

I switched to the toslink optical connector and all the stutters went away. You might want to give that a try.

gfong
2005-07-21, 02:43 PM