: LG DU-42PX12X Plasma


Pages : 1 [2] 3

LGPro
2005-09-06, 04:50 AM
All LG plasmas are HD compatible. That is they will accept a 720p or a 1080i signal (not all brand accept both, several only accept 1080i OR 720p). This means that if you feed it either of these signals, the tv will play it, it will not say "no signal" or "signal out of range". This does NOT mean that the tv will DISPLAY 720p or 1080i, it will only ACCEPT it.

an EDTV will DISPLAY 480p
and HDTV will DISPLAY 720p (and some expensive fancy models will display 1080P)

so... for LG
RU42PX10 EDTV (852X480)
RU42PX11 EDTV (852X480)
DU42PX12 HDTV (1024X768)
DU50PX10 HDTV (1366X768)
Everything 50 and up are HDTV 1366X768 with the xception of the 71" which is an insane 1920X1080

Hope that clears it up for most.

Toronto
2005-12-20, 09:07 PM
So any comments regarding this plasma...I was looking at this model also...

intrac
2005-12-20, 09:36 PM
So any comments regarding this plasma...I was looking at this model also...

I bought this set at Electronics For Less on Doncaster a few months ago.

Works great, specially the OTA part. I am also using the Rogers SA3250HD connected via DVI which also works great (except that I get a momentary DVI Alert when selecting DVI). This is an SA problem that will be fixed when Rogers eventually spools out newer software than SARA 11.52.XX.

I bought the Digital Video Essential DVD to calibrate the set. I found that the settings were all set high. I also found I can operate the set at reduced power -- there is still lots of brightness.

This set is at the low end of HD -- it is 1024 x 768 and the native res is 720p. Bit it is a plasma -- with excellent wide angle viewing, contrast of 5000 to 1, 2 yr warranty, 60,000 hrs expected life. It supports 1080i, 720p, 480p, and 480i.

It has DVI, 2 x component inputs, 2 x S-Video, 2 optical audio in, and 1 optical out and 1 digital audio in. etc.

givenchy314
2005-12-24, 04:44 PM
Anyone know of any reviews for this set? Selling for $1500 on Boxing Day...

intrac
2005-12-24, 05:06 PM
Anyone know of any reviews for this set? Selling for $1500 on Boxing Day...

This is an ED set. I wouldn't buy it when you can get an HD set for a little more.

Regnif
2005-12-25, 02:47 AM
I am new too the plasma tech as well wondering if a pc game is playable on this type of tv or is the response time too low for it??

intrac
2005-12-25, 01:10 PM
I am new too the plasma tech as well wondering if a pc game is playable on this type of tv or is the response time too low for it??

Any plasma is OK. They don't have response time issues.
The only sets with a concern for response time is LCD.

givenchy314
2005-12-25, 02:54 PM
I realize that the set is an EDTV (RU42PX10), however the DU42PX12 HDTV sells for $1000 more ($2500)....I'd really like a HDTV, but in my case that's a little more than I am willing to spend at the moment; for someone without any HD content at all...

Neild
2005-12-25, 03:03 PM
I am new too the plasma tech as well wondering if a pc game is playable on this type of tv or is the response time too low for it??

Quite playable, response time is typically very good on plasma's.

You'd want your game to be able to run in native 1024x768 mode of course, but other than that, you're set.

Neild
2005-12-25, 03:07 PM
So any comments regarding this plasma...I was looking at this model also...

I've had since it came out about 16 months ago. It's still looks great and the picture is up there with all the new models. I'd expected that a year or so after we purchased it, there'd be new and better technology to supersede it, but that hasn't been the case.

I recently had a chance to compare it side by side with the new LG 42" and a Pioneer 43". The picture quality of it was at least equal.

Other than different inputs (HDMI & Firewire) there doesn't seem to be much difference between the 2005 and the 2006 LG plasma's.

Neild
2005-12-25, 03:11 PM
I realize that the set is an EDTV (RU42PX10), however the DU42PX12 HDTV sells for $1000 more ($2500)....I'd really like a HDTV, but in my case that's a little more than I am willing to spend at the moment; for someone without any HD content at all...
Will you have HD during the time you plan on owning the set though? Or do you plan on attaching HD-DVD, Xbox 360, or an HTPC? Any of these devices will be MUCH more suitable on a higher resolution set than on an EDTV.

A few websites and reviewers quote the outdated opinion that HDTV and EDTV look the same in most cases. That's an unfortunate myth, similar to the "plasma's burn in so easily" myth that finally seems to be fading away this year.

Let me tell you on HD content the difference between ED and HD is dramatic. There's a sharpness to lines, curves, text, and details on the HD that is missing on the ED. Also the EDTV has a grid pixel pattern that you can see from most reasonable viewing distances.

intrac
2005-12-25, 04:10 PM
I realize that the set is an EDTV (RU42PX10), however the DU42PX12 HDTV sells for $1000 more ($2500)....I'd really like a HDTV, but in my case that's a little more than I am willing to spend at the moment; for someone without any HD content at all...

You'll be happy with it for a very short period of time, -- until you experience real HD, then you'll be sorry you didn't wait a little longer to get an HD you can afford.

You'll end up spending again. See the 2 side by side, and then compare.

jimmyjames
2005-12-28, 03:05 PM
I just set up the 4212 last night, picked up the last one from FS for $2500. I have only calibrated it by eye and it looks great!! I only have the regular digital cable box, HD is coming, and I'm very happy.
It works great with the Paradigm 110 CC package i got.
I can't wait for the HD!! and proper calibration!!
How can you go wrong for HD for $2500?? I was going to get an ED, I'm pumped!!!!

intrac
2005-12-28, 03:32 PM
I did my calibration using DVE and was looking for it at Future shop, but they never had it in stock so I bought it at AMAZON.CA

It was cheaper there and was delivered in 2 days.

seanhs
2005-12-28, 04:49 PM
I know this is somewhat subjective (atleast i think it is!) but what does this LG look best set to? 768p or 1080i? thanks.

intrac
2005-12-28, 10:52 PM
Jimmyjames,
If you have an indoor antenna, connect it to one of the antenna ports, and do a scan -- you may pick up a local OTA HD.

Seanhs,
It doesn't have settings -- it accepts whatever is fed into it.
When I'm receiving OTA, it accepts 720p and 1080i.
When I'm on digital cable, I'm connected via the DVI inputs, and the cable STB is set to autoDVI -- so the STB outputs the 1080i channels as 1080i, 720p as 720p and 480p as 480p.
The other input (on S-video) is accepted as 480i.

givenchy314
2005-12-29, 06:38 PM
Thanks for the feedback (intrac and Neild)...unless HD players and next-gen game consoles drop in price pretty quickly, I don't see myself getting HD content for at least a year (or two)...my initial thinking was in 2 years HDTV plasma prices would have dropped quite a bit by then...

But, you guys are right though, I should probably wait for the prices to drop a little more (or save a little more) and spring for a HDTV.

So I went to FS, and the sales guy said they were showing a HD source connected by component. Even though all their HDTVs were connected with component, all the HDTVs on display did not look impressive to me (it must be due to the signal being split to all their tvs).

With that in mind, I took a look at the LG DU42PX12...it seemed snowy at times which made me hesitant to pick it up that second...also the FS spec sheet read: Displays 480i, 480p and 1080i. No mention of 720p like the other models on display...does that make any sense? Or is it a typo?

seanhs
2006-01-04, 02:58 AM
Just wondering if it has HDMI? I could have sworn i read it does in a few places, but now, i can't seem to find that it does... any answers? thanks

intrac
2006-01-04, 10:33 AM
Just wondering if it has HDMI? I could have sworn i read it does in a few places, but now, i can't seem to find that it does... any answers? thanks
The 12X has DVI-D -- not HDMI. The difference is that HDMI is digital video plus digital audio. I'm using the Toslink (optical audio) as well as the DVI cable.

You can get a DVI-HDMI cable or adapters if it is a problem.

seanhs
2006-01-04, 12:44 PM
there is only one DVI port though, right? Guess I'll have to get a switcher... anyone have a good cheap one?