: MCE 2005 Transition


byebye_cable
2011-09-03, 01:01 AM
For those of use in the GTA that use 14174 - or the folks that actually live there :) and that still have a MCE 2005 HTPC;

I'm able to add 69.1 (as 1691) in MCE 2005 simply by "Add DTV channel". However, for channels like 41.1 where there is a listing in ZAP2IT (presumably incorrect) it's not that easy.

If you try to add 41.1, since it's already there, you can only add 41.2 and you are not prompted for the real frequency of the channel. Same issue with 9.1.

So I try to add 42.1 and point to to RF 41. This is where it get's weird.
- 42.1 shows well in monitor digital antenna strength.
- if I surf DOWN 1421 > 1411, 1411 works!
- if I surf UP, neither works
This was repeated numerous times, not a fluke.

Anyway, at the end of the day, is there a way to hack the RF's for the channels in MCE 2005? I'm just to impatient to wait for Zap2it... :rolleyes:

pnear
2011-09-05, 02:57 PM
I'm not able to test this, but from memory...

Navigate to C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\EPG\prefs

Open the file ATSCChannels.xml (this is where Vista MC stores the channel info it gets from the guide download)

Remove the line for the offending channel, then save the file.

Now that you've removed the channel from the master file, media center will allow you to add it as a custom channel. Manually add the correct channel info using Add DTV Channel in the settings menu.

Pete

byebye_cable
2011-09-05, 11:05 PM
Thanks Pete, I wouldn't expect you to test it.

The name of that xml file was all I needed - like the key's to the car when I was a kid :) tyvm.