: Global Ottawa DTV Transition - Aug. 16, 2011 - update in Post #331


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

rmchahn
2011-08-15, 08:17 AM
@roger1818 in this post (http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showpost.php?p=1290316&postcount=54), navwizard (a Global engineer) recently said they were on track to transition Ottawa on August 15th, but not to hold him to that.
Only analog as of 6:15 a.m. this morning. Anybody have any further updates as to when Global will flash cut in Ottawa?

argilo
2011-08-15, 09:04 AM
At 9:00am Global went off the air. Hopefully it will be in digital when it comes back!

james039
2011-08-15, 09:46 AM
And they're on with a bizarre PSIP of 6.1 channel name uJC-4LA

The signal is appallingly weak. I enjoy better reception from the 2-Edge HC channels and this channel is LOS.

Update: now it's showing up as channel 4.1 after a rescan and CBOT was bumped to 25.10

Wtf Global??

ve2vq
2011-08-15, 10:41 AM
Well the headline says it all.
RF 6, vert ch 6-1
S/N = 27
signal strength full scale= 97

OTAJuncqui
2011-08-15, 10:45 AM
here's a screen cap of Global @ 10:30.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/66034556@N05/6045999348/in/photostream

I hope they turnthe knobs to the right

moody
2011-08-15, 10:53 AM
Global's corrected their channel name to "CIII-DT" instead of "uJC-4LA". Still showing up as 4.1 though.

OTAJuncqui
2011-08-15, 10:55 AM
Full TS details in this one:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/66034556@N05/6045490173/in/photostream

vejostde
2011-08-15, 11:13 AM
Well, it looks like I'm going into the attic. As I feared, Global is too weak for me to receive.

I've got a homemade channel 7 yagi pointed at Watertown, with 6 is coming in from the back. The analog signal was weak, and the picture was quite grainy, but I was optimistic that it would be good enough to pull in the digital signal.

Since the WNYF repeater went up on 28.1 and 28.2,the channel 7 antenna became redundant, so I'll replace it with a channel 6 dipole I built and see how well that works for the digital signal.

Wish me luck,
Josh

james039
2011-08-15, 11:45 AM
Global is currently on RF6 an mapping to 4.1

CBOT-DT has been booted off to 25.10

I can't imagine CBC will be terribly amused by this.

GerryB
2011-08-15, 11:56 AM
No Global here in downtown Ottawa at noon Monday. Tried every possible antenna angle in the apartment. Nothing. Even shut off all computers and electronic devices that would normally kill the signal.

bowhunter
2011-08-15, 12:00 PM
No Global here in Franktown on either TV or my Hauppauge 850. And CBOT is still on RF 25(4-1) here too.

moody
2011-08-15, 12:04 PM
I just scanned again and confirmed that I still see Global from Richmond. I can't actually confirm that there's a picture, because I'm at work and just have shell access to my mythtv box. That is, I can scan but I can't watch.

roger1818
2011-08-15, 12:12 PM
Global is currently on RF6 an mapping to 4.1

CBOT-DT has been booted off to 25.10

You must be using MythTV. I got the same thing on my myth box when I did a full rescan, likely because It found 6 first and when it saw that 4-1 was already occupied, it gave CBOT-DT 25-10 instead of the 4-1 it requested. I did deleted both channels and did two partial re-scan (only channel 6, renamed it to 6_1 and then only channel 25) and everything came out okay (though I am having troubles getting the guide data from Schedules Direct for some strange reason).

Could everyone please report the type of antenna you are using for VHF-LO when reporting your results? I am using a 5Y6S and seem to be receiving a good signal so far.

OTAJuncqui
2011-08-15, 12:20 PM
I've got pic and sound on ch6 within my Npvr software so if the situation remains as is I'm good to go.

FunkyTown
2011-08-15, 12:23 PM
I still have no sound or pic. I'm using a CM4228HD antenna in my attic. I'm getting all of the other digital channels and analog too. So unless channel 6 is broadcasting at an extremely low signal, I'm not sure why I'm still not picking it up. I just did a scan to see if it would make a difference but it doesn't.

I have plain rabbit ears on my TV in the bedroom. I'll go up and try that one, but if I can't pick it up with the CM4228HD in the attic, it seems strange I would pick it up with rabbit ears. I'll check though.

Trip
2011-08-15, 12:27 PM
The 4228HD is a UHF antenna, it has a negative gain on low-VHF like 6.

- Trip

rmchahn
2011-08-15, 12:29 PM
I still have no sound or pic. I'm using a CM4228HD antenna in my attic. I'm getting all of the other digital channels and analog too. So unless channel 6 is broadcasting at an extremely low signal, I'm not sure why I'm still not picking it up. I just did a scan to see if it would make a difference but it doesn't.

I have plain rabbit ears on my TV in the bedroom. I'll go up and try that one, but if I can't pick it up with the CM4228HD in the attic, it seems strange I would pick it up with rabbit ears. I'll check though.
Isn't CM4228HD a uhf antenna which will pick up vhf-hi? Since Global's on vhf-lo, that may explain your result. It would be interesting to see how you do with your rabbit ears.

Edit: Looks like Trip beat me to the punch.

FunkyTown
2011-08-15, 12:42 PM
The rabbit ears which also has a UHF loop is no better. I'm getting no signal on 6 or 6.1.

The strange thing is, I used to pick up channel 6 when it was analog. So if they are still broadcasting on 6, something must have changed. They may be on a much lower signal.

jihenry
2011-08-15, 12:44 PM
I have a VIP-302SR and get nothing on channel 6. It was watchable while they were still analog but nothing today on digital. TS Reader is seeing thousands of TEI and Continuity errors on Ch6.

Fota
2011-08-15, 12:47 PM
Looks like I’m out of luck with digital Global TV the way it’s broadcast right now on channel 6. With some strenuous antennae acrobatics closest I can get to Camp Fortune, I managed to get my TV to lock onto 6.1 for a very weak digital feed. Getting nothing at all with my antennae in its normal location, regardless of orientation.

I’m posting here because I’m curious to see if this will be a widespread problem; past discussions pointed to this one as being the potential biggest issue local channel. I’d also be curious at one point to see a forum poll for the number of people (not /) getting Global DTV.