: Which media player should I get

Pages : [1] 2

jokeDR
2011-07-16, 08:53 PM
I have read through this forum quite a bit and my head is spinning. I have just recently learned how to get some movies and TV shows off the internet. We are OTA and right now watch Netflix and other things on the PC. Netflix we can also stream to one of our TV's via Wii in crappy SD.

I would like to be able to download shows that I may miss OTA from the internet and watch them on the TV.

I looked at a Boxee Box today, the salesguy said it was the best but it costs a bit more.

I have heard I could buy an AppleTV for less, and "jailbreak" it easily with a program like FireCore or XboxMC and add things like IceFilms etc.

Would welcome opinions on what my best bang for the buck option is.

Thanks.

I am a total newb with this computer media extender stuff.

Jake
2011-07-16, 10:22 PM
I think you should set a price or else you will get every suggestion under the sun. I would also think a straight forward system is best. One that plays most types of content, does not require customization and is stable. I am not a fan of the transcoding aspector having to maintain a backend system. The last thing you want is a box that freezes up or requires frequent reboots or tweaking. I would stick to the mainstream too. Which I think are,

Apple TV 2
WD TV Live or Hub
Boxee Box
Roku

I know the WD TV products. I have two. For $100 you can't go wrong. The Hub version is more expensive because it includes an internal drive. But if you have a USB stick or eHDD then you are good to go with the less expensive one.

jokeDR
2011-07-17, 12:32 AM
I think you should set a price or else you will get every suggestion under the sun.