: DCX3400 having low sound output for channels (since sept 1)


ghostrider06
2010-09-04, 11:50 AM
Ever since the morning of September 1 something weird has happened with my DCX3400. The sound for every channel is so low and to be able to properly hear a show i must turn the volume very high to sound normal. I did not change any settings and I even checked to make sure the hidden setting were not changed either and dolby sound is set to "On"

Has anyone else encountered this?

antonk
2010-09-04, 12:16 PM
I think I noticed the same thing, only my Dolby is not on (I don't want it on if I'm just using TV speakers, right?). I don't know if Sep 1 is when that changed, because that's when I got my 3400 (to replace the crappy Summit), but between the two it does seem like I have to turn the volume up higher. I think this is more noticeable on non-HD channels, as they seem to be quieter.

P.S. It's not a huuuge difference in volume. I'm used to having my TV on 18 (out of 100 I think), and now I turn it up to between 25 and 28 or so, so not super high.

bubba
2010-09-04, 12:44 PM
On the back of the 3400 there are two sets of composite audio outputs. One set is variable the other is fixed. Before Sept 1st, the output was set to the highest and you had to turn it down -- with the volume control for the 3400, not the TV or receiver. They seem to have fixed this and turned the audio level down hence the result you are complaining about. To fix this, just turn the volume on the 3400 up (or switch to the other audio output pair).

ghostrider06
2010-09-04, 03:03 PM
I forgot to say that I do not use my TV speakers for volume, I use a surround sound speaker system. For example when I watch a Global News Cast on channel 211 I used to listen on volume 12 but now I have to go to at least 18-20 to hear it well enough. A big difference in my view.

antonk
2010-09-04, 03:55 PM
Actually now that I've had more time with the 3400, it seems like the volume is fine. Maybe it was just a quiet show (or channel) when I noticed it, but my volume levels now seem to be the same as before. So no problem :)

bubba
2010-09-04, 05:04 PM
ghost,

The question is, what audio output do you use? Composite (RCA jacks) or SPDIF or HDMI?

57
2010-09-04, 05:16 PM
To clarify: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76085 Cables & Connections.

ghostrider06
2010-09-04, 07:25 PM
just the RCA Red/White cables I have connected

Jetranger
2010-09-04, 10:47 PM
Like bubba suggested, move the cables to the other red and white terminals and you might find a difference.