: Snowbird's experience with Nexus One in the States

fishypops
2010-03-13, 09:00 PM
I thought that I might jot down some experiences of the Nexus One i the States.

I have been snowbirding in Florida for the last 3 months, with Nexus and T-Mobile since the beginning of Jan.

I signed up for T-Mobile's month to month pre-paid. This gave me 1000 minutes and unlimited web and email. For $79.

Along with the N1, I bought the desktop charger/stand.

First Encounter: The N1 was a little flakey in terms of reception. This lasted around 2 weeks.

Things just got better and better:
Reception is great now - call clarity is perfect, data download is rapid !
Google Maps function with turn by turn directions is precise, but given the coupling with voice searches, well.... it is fabulous. ( I took back my Garmin 765T that I had bough just before Christmas - one of the happiest days of my life). Being able to speak 1845 Fuelfox Road, and Google being smart enough to know that I mean "FuelFox road in the same town that I am in !!! not somewhere else... well priceless.

I live by Google Mail and Apps, so I am a little biased. My life lives in Googles' servers (200GB of it).

I have not a bad thing to say about the phone, it is easy to use, beautiful to look at, comfortable to hold and fast to operate.

Now I am dreading coming back. I need some advice; I can't find any good comments o experience of any users of the Nexus One, in Canada. So, can I please ask a couple of questions of anyone up there who has taken the plunge;

What carrier are you using ?
Where do you live and work ?
What plan did you choose and why ?
How do you rate the Voice reception ?
How do you rate the Data reception ?

Thanks. Dreading going back. If anyone has any questions, I would be very happy to help.

Tomato9876
2010-03-14, 12:13 AM
If you want 3G, get a Wind Mobile SIM Card (assuming you're in Toronto/Calgary/Edmonton). You can get 2G on Rogers.