: How do I watch and record ROGERS HD?


Mogwai2005
2009-12-26, 11:37 AM
I am currently using an ATI tuner to get all of the channels which are coming in fine. But the HD channels that I recieve do not come in HD quality.

Does anyone know of a way to get the ROGERS HD channels in HD quality through my PC?

please help!

57
2009-12-26, 11:51 AM
This question has been asked many times. You cannot get them using a tuner card as they are encrypted. The only channels you can see with a tuner card are the analogue ones, or a select few digital/HD that are on free preview. See the following FAQ on that topic:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=32271


Here's the FAQ on Recording HD - Your options consist of purchase/rental of the Rogers HDPVR, purchase of the Hauppauge HDPVR via a STB and component video connections, or firewire connection from a STB which is usually problematical or has copy restrictions.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=14099


Here's a post useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

Mogwai2005
2009-12-26, 12:13 PM
even if I am paying for the channels?

right now I have the Rogers HD box, from there I am running the feed into the tv tuner and then to the tv. I am getting the HD channels that I am paying for...yet the quality is far from HD.

I was looking at this product from ATI...would this do the trick?

http://ati.amd.com/products/tvwonderdigital/

Mogwai2005
2009-12-26, 12:17 PM
even if I am paying for the channels? I am getting the channels but they are far from HD quality. Is their a card on the market that can get me the HD quality through my PC?

57
2009-12-26, 12:49 PM
In order to watch HD, you need to use a component video or HDMI connection to the TV/devices.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76085 Cables & connections.

You're probably not currently using that type of HD connection, hence no HD quality. As mentioned in the QAM FAQ, no card will work since the channels are encrypted (even to subscribers since each channel is authorized for each subscriber on the STB depending on subscription) and you need to use a Rogers STB and appropriate connections.

I suggest you take the time to read the links I have provided.

classicsat
2009-12-26, 02:45 PM
You could, like me, live with watching the HD channels direct live, and DVR SD channels (I thouugh, have Shaw Direct, with seaprate receivers for HD direct viewing and DVR recording; the DVR being a Series 2 TiVo).

Your cable box is the access spoint for the digital channels you subscribe to; HD being digital channels. To record in HD, your only real option is the Hauppauge HD-1212, or get the Roger's DVR.