: Connecting rogers cable to pc??

jake94
2009-11-22, 01:07 AM
I am quite new to this and am a bit confused on all that I've read, what I would like to know is. If i already subscribe to Rogers cable and would like to split one of my cable's and run it to my pc do I need another cable box connected to a TV tuner card to de-crypt the channels?? Or can i run the cable directly to the tuner card without another box?

2009-11-22, 01:34 AM
If you only want the analogue channels, then you could connect the coax directly to an NTSC tuner in the PC. If you want digital/HD, then you need the STB and appropriate connections to the HTPC and appropriate devices/software in your HTPC. Are you trying to record HD?

jake94
2009-11-22, 10:11 AM
No, I'm building a pc for my daughter and she would like to be able to watch TV on it. I was always under the impression the channels where scrambled from the filter they place on the box outside the house, that is why I thought since I'm already a subscriber to Rogers digital I could just install a good TV tuner card into the pc and have the card act as the digital cable box so i would not have to rent another one. But if that is not the case and i have to get another box to connect to the card what would you suggest?
I do have hd channels and her monitor is 1080p capable

JamesK
2009-11-22, 10:30 AM
If the monitor has a spare DVI or HDMI input, you can just connect the converter to the monitor. My monitor has HDMI, DVI and VGA inputs and a button on the front panel to switch inputs. I've got my computer connected to the DVI input and a KVM switch using VGA. I may get a HD converter in the future to connect to the HDMI input.

Wayne
2009-11-23, 01:40 PM