: Advice on upgrade Windows Media Centre to record HD

bcSteveO
2009-11-11, 06:59 PM
I have been running Windows Media Center since 2005 on an Intel Pentium 4 3.0 GHZ. I have two Hauppauge 150MCE adapters. My two HD capable Shaw Cable HD tuners are connected with Composite out to the two tuners cards. The PC has 4 GB of memory and is currently running Windows 7 Ultimate.

I can record standard def stations but would like to upgrade to be able to record the HD stations as well.

I'm guessing at minimum I would need to replace the two Hauppauge TV Tuner cards with some HD capable device.

This area is new to me. Does this work with Shaw tuners? Was is the connection from the Shaw motorola boxes to the tuner card (Component + stereo L & R or HDMI??)

What, if any issues are there with copyright or playback restrictions with the recorded HD content?

The media center is in my basement and I access the content Via a LinkSys DMA2100 extender connected to my 1080P TV via HDMI cable. I also have an Xbox 360 that could be used for the extender if the DMA cannot handle the HD content.

If anyone that has gone down a similar path could provide some guidance or advice I would appreciate it.

Does this work? What are some Tuner cards that others have used successfully?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Steve
Victoria BC

digitalforumguy
2009-11-11, 07:14 PM
Welcome to the forum!

Suggest that you spend some time going through the extensive posts covering all of your questions, and then come back with any remaining queries. Most of this stuff has been discussed to death, so people won't be in the mood to cover it again. Start with the stickies and go from there.

Some quick thoughts:
- your processor is fast enough for HD
- you don't list your vid card, so that might be an issue (search the model number in the forums)