: How do i do this ? (TV to AVR)

RAY0711
2009-09-10, 01:51 PM
Could you please help me , i have just bought an L.G.T.V. 32" LH3000 Model .

I had a tv before ( sony triniton ) and i used to connect the tv to the stereo using red and white ports that were on the back of the tv and the sound would come out of the stereo speakers .

But when i connect them to the new tv no sound comes out of the stereo speakers .

At the back of tv it says " Audio in ( RGB DVI ) "
and the other one says " optical digital audio out " do i need to get a cable that has the red and white connectors at one end , to go in to the stereo , and another sort of connector to go in to " optical digital audio out " or the one that reads" audio in ( RGB DVI ) "

Thanks for any advise , i am not good with things like this .

eljay
2009-09-10, 02:08 PM
According to the specs. (http://www.lge.com/uk/tv-audio-video/televisions/LG-lcd-tv-32LH3000.jsp), your new TV does not have analogue audio outputs. You could use a "digital audio-to-analogue stereo" converter - such as this one (http://www.svideo.com/digitalanalog.html) - or, if your receiver supports it, you could run your source (cable box, DVD, etc.) through your receiver for audio, and run video out to your TV.

2009-09-10, 02:17 PM
If your AVR (Audio Video Receiver) has an optical input, you could connect the optical output from the TV to the input on the AVR. You can't use the TV inputs, as they are inputs, not outputs.

One other option if you don't have an optical connection on the AVR is to use the TV's headphone jack and purchase a cable that converts the headphone output to the red/white analogue audio cables (Y-connector)

I looked at the specs on the TV and didn't see any analogue audio (red/white) outputs.

If you have devices connected to the TV, you could connect those directly to the AVR for audio as suggested by eljay.

See also the following FAQ relating the optical TV output...