Yamaha RX-V1400 and PCM 5.1 audio - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-01-04, 12:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 162
Yamaha RX-V1400 and PCM 5.1 audio

Is my Yamaha RX-V1400 receiver able to process an uncompressed pcm 5.1 audio track coming from a blu-ray movie from my PS3? I am running a digital optical cable from the PS3 to the receiver but the audio is only coming out as 2 channel. Do I need to change some settings in the receiver or is it just not able to handle this signal and I would need a new receiver? Thanks.
James Nickerson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-01-04, 01:46 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,208
Have u checked the settings on the PS3 to make sure the audio is set to ouput bitsream? I believe you will get 5.1 once you do that. Your receiver cannot process TrueHD it only passes it as DD. Which to me still sounds great.
QuickSilver is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-01-04, 01:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 162
Yeah I did switch the PS3 to bitstream so I could get the Dolby Digital but I was wondering if I had to do that or if there was a way to get my receiver to handle the uncompressed 5.1 PCM signal. I guess I need to get a new receiver to get the uncompressed audio then.
James Nickerson is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-01-04, 02:52 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,208
Yes if you want to receive the uncompressed 5.1 then you need a new receiver that handles HDMI processing. I believe there are very few on the market right now.
QuickSilver is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-01-04, 10:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
I have a Kenwood VR-307 that doesn't seem to recognise the bitstream audio from my HD DVD Polar Express on my (Toshiba HD A2) DVD player as 5.1 multi channel. It plays ordinary DVDs in 5.1 suround (auto detects), yet the same settings don't play the HD DVD.

I know the HD DVD is Dolby Digital Plus, however I thought DD+ was downward compatible with "plain" Dolby Digital 5.1?

This thread sounds like a similar issue. Can anyone explain to me what's happening here?

Thanks in advance,
Dan
Dan McGee is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome