Channel Master DVRs For OTA - Page 8 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #106 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-01, 09:44 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,577
If the data is different than PSIP then maybe CFTO is transmitting it? However, I'm really not sure that if CFTO was transmitting, that using a zip form GI would actually work. I just don't know enought about TVGOS to say.

If either of you have a rotor, perhaps try pointing your antenna away from downtown Toronto enough to lose CFTO. The question in Canada has always been who is going to carry guide data here.

Another possibilty is that the DVR is capable of using analog TVGOS if available? Just a thought...

BTW, the detailed post about this unit on the *other* site, does specifically state that all outputs are active. I hope that answers the other open question.
99gecko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #107 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-01, 12:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenstu View Post
It has analogue pass through - your TV could do the rest no??
No. It won't record from the TV's tuner and over 95% of the programming I want to record is only broadcast in analog here in Ottawa. I don't expect this to change until 2011.
roger1818 is offline  
post #108 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-01, 09:26 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ste-Adèle
Posts: 100
Just back from the cottage where my DTV PAL is and I must report that I did not have any problem with the unit and that the Harmony remote worked properly, but since I put it in an the "activity" watch TV, once this activity is run, it does not give me the DVR button anymore! I will have to program the DVR button on a more accessible key.

I set some timers to record some shows, will see next week-end if it worked. I also did not get any reception for Tele-Quebec that just went on the air last Monday, hopefully they are not full power yet...

Pierre
PierreP is offline  
post #109 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-02, 10:56 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oakville Ontario - 8th Line and Upper Middle Road
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by PierreP View Post
Just back from the cottage where my DTV PAL is and I must report that I did not have any problem with the unit and that the Harmony remote worked properly, but since I put it in an the "activity" watch TV, once this activity is run, it does not give me the DVR button anymore! I will have to program the DVR button on a more accessible key.

I set some timers to record some shows, will see next week-end if it worked. I also did not get any reception for Tele-Quebec that just went on the air last Monday, hopefully they are not full power yet...

Pierre
Pierre, I had to manually add the "DVR" menu item to the Activity via - Customize Buttons - Additional Buttons.

Works fine now.

Stu

OTA CM4228-CM4221 Combined DTVPal DVR AppleTV 40GB Harmony 659 / 880
Unibody MBP 15 c2d 2.66 Mac Mini 2009 iPad 32
iPhone 3GS 2 Apple TV 40GB
tenstu is offline  
post #110 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-02, 08:41 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto/Etobicoke - Bloor/Royal York/Queensway/Islington
Posts: 1,519
Thumbs up Got my DTVPal DVR today

My DTVPal DVR arrived today (the day after the Super Bowl ). So far, I have a very favourable impression. Tuner strength looks better than the one on my Aquos (maybe 6th generation?). It also works over HDMI to my Aquos and over component video to my slingbox simultaneously like I has hoping it would. The VIP622 remote on the slingbox also controls the DTVPal DVR well.

More as I discover its features.

A-D DB4e, CM 7778 9521, TiVo Premiere & Roamio
El Gran Chico is offline  
post #111 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-02, 08:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oakville Ontario - 8th Line and Upper Middle Road
Posts: 532
Congrats!

What software version did it arrive with?? TV Guide logo showing up for you (as it is for me) even though WIVB is not on board with TVGOS?

So many questions!

Stu

OTA CM4228-CM4221 Combined DTVPal DVR AppleTV 40GB Harmony 659 / 880
Unibody MBP 15 c2d 2.66 Mac Mini 2009 iPad 32
iPhone 3GS 2 Apple TV 40GB
tenstu is offline  
post #112 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-03, 11:29 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto/Etobicoke - Bloor/Royal York/Queensway/Islington
Posts: 1,519
Stu, I have the same software version you do, and I'm not updating it either until I think the risk/reward in well in my favour.

I didn't have much to time to play with it last night, but I did have some struggle.

- First Global didn't add in the channel scan. I tried to add it manually but couldn't. So I re-ran the Setup Wizard and it worked fine (just settling in problems ).
- Second, I couldn't get it to provide DD5.1 - then I discovered it wasn't the DTVpal at all - it was the HDMI setting on my surround sound player.
- the DVR is sitting in a big open space in my TV stand and it's acting like an echo chamber for the hum of the hard drive. I've got to figure out some way to dampen it.

I haven't experimented at all with the TVGOS but I notice today I have the logo on the guide (it wasn't there last night ). I'm certain the data is from PSIP (or else Global is running a "DTV Program" marathon )

A-D DB4e, CM 7778 9521, TiVo Premiere & Roamio
El Gran Chico is offline  
post #113 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-03, 06:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oakville Ontario - 8th Line and Upper Middle Road
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Gran Chico View Post
Stu, I have the same software version you do, and I'm not updating it either until I think the risk/reward in well in my favour.

I didn't have much to time to play with it last night, but I did have some struggle.

- First Global didn't add in the channel scan. I tried to add it manually but couldn't. So I re-ran the Setup Wizard and it worked fine (just settling in problems ).
- Second, I couldn't get it to provide DD5.1 - then I discovered it wasn't the DTVpal at all - it was the HDMI setting on my surround sound player.
- the DVR is sitting in a big open space in my TV stand and it's acting like an echo chamber for the hum of the hard drive. I've got to figure out some way to dampen it.

I haven't experimented at all with the TVGOS but I notice today I have the logo on the guide (it wasn't there last night ). I'm certain the data is from PSIP (or else Global is running a "DTV Program" marathon )
Glad to know you have the TV Guide logo as well. A real mystery. What ZIP did you use?

Mine is dead quiet though. I have read that some are noisier than others. This is likely the hard drive. If it ends up being a real issue, if it were me, I'd swap the drive out myself rather than go through the hassle of trying to RMA to Dish. (But being sure the drive was indeed the culprit!)

Glad there are a few of us here in the area to bounce observations off of...!

OTA CM4228-CM4221 Combined DTVPal DVR AppleTV 40GB Harmony 659 / 880
Unibody MBP 15 c2d 2.66 Mac Mini 2009 iPad 32
iPhone 3GS 2 Apple TV 40GB
tenstu is offline  
post #114 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-04, 12:30 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto/Etobicoke - Bloor/Royal York/Queensway/Islington
Posts: 1,519
I used 14072 too. I dropped a big old bulky sweater into the cavern of my tv stand and it absorbed about 90% of the hum. My wife didn't say "what's that noise?" tonight so I'm considered it resolved. It was fine with the cabinet door open but it was't going to leave it like that all the time.

As for TVGOS, my wife asked me if it could record something on CBC on the weekend. I ran the search function and much to my surprise, it found it!
I could never go that far into the future with any of my Samsung boxes.

Now I find that the Omnis, CITY, Canwest are actually hurting themselves by putting junk program names into PSIP - this appears on the grid and I can't see what's upcoming ans worth recording.

The more I use this thing, the more I like it!

A-D DB4e, CM 7778 9521, TiVo Premiere & Roamio
El Gran Chico is offline  
post #115 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-04, 09:19 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montréal (Rosemont)
Posts: 284
I had a similar vibration / noise issue with my Bell PVR. I resolved it by putting two mouse mats under it.
Yagi is offline  
post #116 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-04, 09:41 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vaughan, Ontario (near Dufferin and Steeles)
Posts: 1,894
Questions about manual over-ride on the TR-50 model...
  1. Can I manually set it up to record by channel and time, even if PSIP or TVGOS is available
  2. Can I force it to use its own internal clock to control recording, regardless of PSIP?
As you can tell, I don't trust some channels' implementation of PSIP.

OTA brings you crystal-clear, uncompressed HDTV, no simsubbing, and the real SuperBowl commercials. You can't get all that on satellite... OR CABLE.
Walter Dnes is offline  
post #117 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-05, 08:41 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto/Etobicoke - Bloor/Royal York/Queensway/Islington
Posts: 1,519
With good reason Walter! That was one of my concerns too. As long some something is in the timeslot (eg "CityTV HD Event 1234"), you can record it. If there's nothing at all, I haven't found a way to do that yet, although you can hit "record" as you are watching it.

As for the clock, I don't think so but my clock has always been correct.

BTW, a certain OTA gear retailer in Michigan that ships to Canada now sells them!

Hey, not sure if this was mentioned earlier in this thread but it does NOT come with an HDMI or component video cables - make sure you have one of them if you order one.

A-D DB4e, CM 7778 9521, TiVo Premiere & Roamio
El Gran Chico is offline  
post #118 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-05, 09:15 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ayr, Ontario
Posts: 219
Thoughts so far

1) Had one problem with channel changing. Would take 10-15 seconds to change channels. Full power reset seems to have fixed it.

2) Uses time based recording. I really prefer event based recording. Does anybody know what Dish uses for their recording software.

3) No problem with reboots so far, running software 202

4) Some audio dropouts on CBC with a strong, steady signal. Seems to be intermittent.

5) Still haven't figured out the guide. I have guide info out 7 days, with the exception of CH and Sun.

Overall quite pleased with the receiver so far.
jurassicjockey is offline  
post #119 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-05, 09:23 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ayr, Ontario
Posts: 219
Walter

To set a manual timer go Menu>DVR>Daily Schedule>Timers>Create>....
Not sure how you can force it into using an internal clock though. Nothing obvious that I could see.

Steve
jurassicjockey is offline  
post #120 of 899 (permalink) Old 2009-02-05, 10:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 26
>BTW, a certain OTA gear retailer in Michigan that ships to Canada now sells

Who would that be?
asteroids is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome