ATSC DVR & PVR Recorders (other than CM) - Page 8 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #106 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-03-31, 08:48 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,414
Try to identify which ATSC chipset is in them. That LG has a 4th Generation but is an excellent performer, but if the Sony has a 5th Generation chipset I would buy it instead.
stampeder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #107 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-04-03, 10:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks. Will do.
I wasn't even thinking about the tuner; I was more concerned with the functionality of the PVR/TVGOS side of things, but now that you've brought it up I'll keep it in mind. And the research continues...
FrankMac is offline  
post #108 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-04-09, 10:54 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Heidelberg
Posts: 104
Question Looking for ATSC DVR. Pioneer? LG?

I am looking for an ATSC DVR and the Pioneer 550/650 seem to fit the bill. I have a Pioneer 543 and I'm very happy with it. Any comments on general "usability" from owners of 550/650?

I occasionally se the LG 3410 on ebay but it doesn't seem to have a DVD burner. Comments?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks

Yamaha HTR 5920, Windows 7 HTPC, Hauppauge 7164
CM 4228, CM 7777, 50' tower
corndog is offline  
post #109 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-04, 08:51 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oakville, 3rd line and upper middle
Posts: 43
Philips DVD recorder w/ SDTV tuner (refurbished)

Just received my Philips DVDR3505/37 DVD recorder with SDTV tuner in the mail yesterday. It's a refurbished unit from Factory Direct online.

The unit did not come with a manual, but you can find one on Philips USA website.

I haven't had a chance to test out the record function, my focus last night was mainly on checking the strength of the tuner.

The initial scan for channels picked up both analog stations and digital stations. To switch between analog and digital you have to press the "DTV/TV" button on the remote.

Using my attic installed CM4221 and AP4700 preamp, the tuner held up pretty well in a head-to-head competition with my Samsung SIR-T451. It received all of the channels that I normally receive on the Samsung.

Channel surfing is pretty slow on this unit, as it is on the Samsung (a fact of life with most DTV tuners, I guess?).

Unlike the Samsung, the Philips does not have a signal strength meter, AFAIK.

One advantage the Philips has over the Samsung is that you have direct access to sub channels using the remote (e.g., press "7" + "." + "2" to get channel 7-2, WNGS Buffalo). With the Samsung you must first go to channel 7 ABC and then "channel up" to get to 7-2.

One disadvantage is that you cannot delete a sub-channel without deleting all of the channels on that frequency. For instance, you cannot delete 49-2, which provides identical programming (but in SD) as channel 49-1, without deleting 49-1 as well. The Samsung allows users to delete sub-channels without getting rid of the main channel.

Overall, I would say the Philips is a good tuner for the price. It's an all-in-one, DVD/CD player, DVD recorder and digital tuner. It's an affordable alternative to buying a converter box, DVD player, PVR, etc.

I will post later on the Philips' abilities as a DVD recorder (I will post this in the PVR, STB..." thread. I am posting my thoughts on the tuner portion of the unit in this thread because I thought people might find the Philips to be a viable alternative to a converter box.
globaldiv is offline  
post #110 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-04, 09:47 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North Tonawanda, NY
Posts: 85
Philips DVDR3505

I have this unit too and like it as well - at times it out performs the tuner in my Sanyo hdtv. However the best tuner I have had experience w/ so far is the one in the Zenith DTT900. It has the ability to delete sub channels and not the main channel or other sub's. It seems to be the best so far in terms of producing a watchable pic w/ the least amount of signal. I like this one to because it has the manual tune function where you can tune to a station not in memory and tweak your antenna for better signal then add the station to memory. The next box I want to try is the dish network - DTVPal. I ordered this one yesterday with my last gov coupon.
jimdoo is offline  
post #111 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-09, 08:22 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 137
Pico Macom hd-atsc Tuner or other options?

I am in the final process of selecting my components for my new dedicated AV room (almost done and I am so anticipating the results) .. and have decided to go with a commercial plasma display (for several reasons) TH58PH10uka, which also means that in order to get OTA, no I don't want to go cable, I will need a tuner either ext or int ..What I would love to have is a universal tuner (ATSC, NTSC), with all the PVR functions. Unfortunately it appears that those models are not yet on the market (Echostar tr50, Aurora HD Pro + HDD, etc...)

Any suggestions ..how is the Pico Macom hd-atsc,

Thks for the help
james57 is offline  
post #112 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-14, 12:13 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 208
Just saw this at Sam's Club JVC DR-MV100B

Hi everyone, I noticed this unit on the weekend at Sam's club.
It listed ATSC tuner on the features at Sam's it was $228. and some cents.

So I decide to take a closer look... here is a c&p from the JVC America site.

C&P here...
DVD+VHS Recorder with Versatile Compatible Formats including DivX(R), featuring ATSC Digital/NTSC Analog Tuners, HDMI Output with 1080p/720p Up-Conversion (DVD/VHS)


Playable Formats: VHS Hi-Fi, DVD-Video, DVD-RAM, DVD-RW, DVD-R, +RW, +R, +R (Dual), CD, SVCD/VCD, CD-R/RW, WMA/MP3/JPEG Digital Still/DivX(R) (CD-R/RW, DVD-R/RW, +R/+RW)
Recordable Formats: VHS Hi-Fi, DVD-RAM, DVD-RW, DVD-R, +RW, +R
ATSC (Digital) Tuner: 8 VSB (2-69), Clear QAM (1-135)
NTSC (Analog) Tuner: VHF (2-13), UHF (14-69), CATV (1-135)
Progressive Scan Output

here is the actual link just change the ++ with tt
h++p://av.jvc.com/product.jsp?modelId=MODL028343&pathId=115&page=1 (if the link is a problem feel free to delete it)
teenie is offline  
post #113 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 06:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by teenie View Post
Hi everyone, I noticed this unit on the weekend at Sam's club.
This unit does not appear to record ATSC/QAM, only NTSC.
Though it's still a good product if that's what you want - watch ATSC, NTSC, DVD or VHS
And record NTSC to DVD or VHS
recneps77 is offline  
post #114 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-19, 08:55 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by recneps77
This unit does not appear to record ATSC/QAM, only NTSC.
Where did you read this? I couldn't find anything about this on the website that teenie provided. I have heard of some VCR/DVD recorders that won't record to VHS with the ATSC tuner (I don't know if this is one of them). Is that what you are thinking of?
roger1818 is offline  
post #115 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-19, 11:56 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
Reading the specs, it only mentions NTSC record
"Recording Video Formats NTSC MPEG-2 (DVD) ; NTSC (VHS)"
It may record ATSC and downsample it in the process, but that would be very intensive work for the unit, and doesn't really make sense when it can just be dumped directly to a disc in mpeg-2 format
recneps77 is offline  
post #116 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-21, 08:07 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by recneps77
Reading the specs, it only mentions NTSC record
"Recording Video Formats NTSC MPEG-2 (DVD) ; NTSC (VHS)"
The way it says "NTSC MPEG-2" makes me think that it is just saying that it won't record in PAL and SECAM formats to make disks that are useable elsewhere in the world. Also it is saying that it is the recording "format" not the recording "source." I might be wrong though.

Quote:
It may record ATSC and downsample it in the process, but that would be very intensive work for the unit, and doesn't really make sense when it can just be dumped directly to a disc in mpeg-2 format
It will almost definatly be downconverting the picture to 480i. Standard DVD's don't support 720p or 1080i.
roger1818 is offline  
post #117 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-25, 10:36 AM
Kro
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St-Eustache, UFH=CM-4221, VHF=10y13s, CM-7778
Posts: 390
Lightbulb Wal-Mart Canada: Magnavox SDTV 80GB DVR for OTA

I was at Wal-Mart yesterday and they received the Magnavox SDTV recorder. It has a DVD recorder and a 80 gig HDD. They sell it for 199$ wich is pretty much the same price as in the US. The clerk told me they should receive other brands before september (He told me a toshiba unit).

That's good news we are finally able to buy a ATSC recorder here in Canada.
Kro is offline  
post #118 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-25, 01:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,224
Toshiba DR7 coming too - unknown tuner type

That is good news Kro. It will be interesting to see what this Toshiba unit will be. If it is the "new" DR7 it doesn't look like it has an ATSC (or SDTV) tuner, only an NTSC tuner.
roger1818 is offline  
post #119 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-25, 01:36 PM
Kro
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St-Eustache, UFH=CM-4221, VHF=10y13s, CM-7778
Posts: 390
He told me that they would all have an ATSC tuner. (He actually knew what an ATSC tuner is which surprised me.)
Kro is offline  
post #120 of 609 (permalink) Old 2008-07-25, 01:45 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,224
Maybe they are importing an American model. Either that or Toshiba Canada's website is out of date.
roger1818 is offline  
Reply

Tags
ota hdtv

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome