Can I use an old Look-TV Antenna for OTA? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 2006-10-17, 10:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Question Can I use an old Look-TV Antenna for OTA?

Hi,
My location is Pickering, Ontario (near the boarder of Scarborough). The house that I bought has already an antenna on top of it's roof on a long pole. I am 96% sure that this antenna is from Look Communications company that was offereing digital TV service couple of years ago. Here is a link to the picture of the antenna simillar to what I have.

http://www.look.ca/en/tv/tv_installation.html

My question is this: Can I use that antenna for receiving free HDTV on the air if I buy a HD tuner? I already have an HD projector in my basement, but it needs HD tunner. Please let me know. Thank you.
Beamfinder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 2006-10-17, 11:18 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,402
No Look-tv is in a much higher frequency.

CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 2006-10-18, 02:05 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Thank you for your response.
Beamfinder is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 2006-10-18, 08:41 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Thorold Ontario
Posts: 2,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beamfinder View Post
Hi,
The house that I bought has already an antenna on top of it's roof on a long pole.
That's the way LOOK had to install them to get line of sight. They won't come back for the antenna, so toss it but keep the cable and pole, its reusable
jbracing24 is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 2006-10-27, 08:48 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 167
This is a California Amplifier active antenna for the frequencies between 2.3 and 3 Gigaherz.
L'inquisiteur is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 2007-01-10, 02:04 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
You cannot use a Look antenna because they operate on different frequencies. But all is not lost, you can use the mast for attaching a recommended outdoor antenna and your existing cabling, but you can't use the Look antenna for OTA reception.
Cyclism is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 2007-01-11, 10:20 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 1,980
short answer is NO, but the forum won't let me reply with only 2 characters.

Samsung TV, Pio-Elite AVR, OppoBD, Wharfedale Speakers, Kicker/Crown Subs, DB-4e OTA:)
Tom.F.1 is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 2007-01-19, 10:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,113
At what frequency range does Look transmit?
We currently transmit at 2596-2686MHz.
HDTV101 is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 2007-01-21, 10:18 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 1,980
You said 'we'? but your sig says bev?
Does look do any HD?

Samsung TV, Pio-Elite AVR, OppoBD, Wharfedale Speakers, Kicker/Crown Subs, DB-4e OTA:)
Tom.F.1 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 2007-03-16, 11:23 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ajax, ON.
Posts: 9
OTA & Look Antenna on same mast?

Could an OTA antenna such as the CM4221(8) be used on the same mast(assuming Look service is also maintained) without interference between signals?
peanuts is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 2007-03-16, 12:37 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,378
The different frequency ranges should ensure no cross-interference, but I would make sure that the 2 antennas are at least 30cm apart on the mast so that the reflectors of each don't cause multipath interference with the other.

If possible the OTA antenna should be on top. If you have to move the Look antenna to do that, make sure to scribe or mark the aiming direction on its brackets and on the pole so that you can remount it elsewhere on the pole again with no fuss.

I don't know your location so I'm adding that its also possible to put a rotor up top and mount the OTA antenna on it, above the Look antenna.
stampeder is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 2007-03-16, 01:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ajax, ON.
Posts: 9
OTA & Look Antenna on same mast?...

Thanks very much.

I've been sniffing around for a while now, and plan on taking the HD OTA plunge shortly. I'm in Ajax ON about 1km from the lake and will likely go 4228 aimed at Buffalo with a professional install, but thought I'd inquire about the existing antenna/mast as it is at the highest point on my house.
peanuts is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 2007-03-16, 01:12 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,378
I think you'll do just fine with OTA from where you are, peanuts, and here's the thread for your area to compare with others' results:

ON - Scarborough, Pickering, Ajax, Whitby, Oshawa - OTA

Looking forward to seeing your results there too!
stampeder is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 2007-04-20, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Can I use this [Look TV] antannae to get HDTV signals?

Would this antannae work to recieve HDTV signals? I did some research and found a link to it's specifications:
http://www.vytek.com/pro_mmds_2010-130.html



Scorponox is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 2007-04-20, 02:50 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,300
NO:
Look Antenna?

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is online now  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome