Splitters, Attenuators, Filters, Diplexers, Other Signal Gear - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-05, 10:05 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,061
I think you are asking do they make a 3-way splitter with 3.5dB loss on all legs. The answer is NO as it is impossible. If you split the signal in half you get 3.5dB. Do it again and you have 7dB. What they do is split one leg twice thus giving you two 7.0db legs and one 3.5dB leg. 4-way splitters are 7dB all around.
Jake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-05, 11:15 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Thanks Jake that made sense.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #18 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-05, 08:28 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
On a related question, what happens when you stick an OTA antenna output into a powered multi-switch ? I know that in my case with a Perfect Vision 5x8 I actually get the UHF across all 8 outputs from a single input, and I also know that the powered part only compensate for insertion loss (i.e. it does not boost). What kind of signal loss would I be looking at then ?

The reason I am asking is that on a long run from the multi-switch I am losing signal. I guess if I don't use UHF on all eight outputs I should just duplex it to the ones that needs it rather than sticking it into the 5x8 multi-switch........ (i.e. Just stick a duplexer on the feeds that need UHF......).

Also, when you boost the signal, it should be close to the antenna, rather than the receiver, right ?
michaelC is offline  
 
post #19 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-05, 11:42 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,061
Eight outputs should be 11dB loss per leg.
Jake is offline  
post #20 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-06, 12:39 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,152
Put a pre-amp up on your antenna and you will have 25dB gain. More then enough power to compensate for cable and splitter loss. The 811 tuners are not as sensitive as your 451 so you will need all the gain you can get.
HDTV101 is offline  
post #21 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-06, 02:36 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
The antenna has a built-in pre-amp for 10db......So if the 5x8 switch is taking out 11db, I am basically on a non-amp antenna as far as the output is concerned.

Would I be better off take it off the 5x8 multi-switch or should I boost it with some in-line 900Mhz booster ?



Actually just check the specs.....900Mhz and under is only 5db loss which is pretty good. Wonder how they do it with a 1x8 split ? They must boost before splitting.
michaelC is offline  
post #22 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-13, 09:38 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
Combining indoor and outdoor signals

Is this possible ? I have an outdoor antenna and was wondering if I can combine the signal with an indoor antenna before feeding it into the set-top. Would they cancel each other ? If not, can I just use any run of the mills splitter/combiner to do this ?
michaelC is offline  
post #23 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-13, 10:29 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,152
You could but I don't see the point. The outdoor antenna should outperform the indoor antenna by a long shot.
HDTV101 is offline  
post #24 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-14, 12:06 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
Its a bit of a "long" story.... I have an outdoor antenna that picks up all the Toronto stations, but for some strange reason, when I try to hook up to a really long run to my bedroom, only Toronto1 and CTV shows up. CBC and CityHD somehow doesn't get thru. I check and replace the cable and it fixed my Sat problem (I had the same problem with the cable with my Sat signal.....CBC Toronto doesn't come thru but I think it was simply a coincidence).

I know that if I stick an indoor one I will pick-up CBC Toronto and CityTV as well and hence the question. Myabe the better question is how to boost the weaker signals so that it will go thru the long cable one. My antenna has a built-in 10db pre-amp already, and the the OTA feed is pump thru a powered 5x8 multi-switch so there shouldn't be much insertion signal loss. What else can I do ?

Do you know if I can just use normal cable splitter to do the combining ?
michaelC is offline  
post #25 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-14, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,152
Add an amp to the outdoor antenna
HDTV101 is offline  
post #26 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-14, 10:32 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
I was playing with the set-up today and realized that my Sat in-line booster is only from 900Mhz to 2050Mhz, but it must done something to the lower frequencies since once I removed it, I got all of the OTA channels back. So I am all set again, although with weaker Sat signal which is no showing any ill effect even with the relatively long cable one (100' from Sat Dish to the multi-switch, another 90' from the switch to my receiver). The OTA antenna is only 50' from the switch.

The in-line booster I have is the usual non-powered little adapters that you can get at The Source or Home Depot.

By the way, there is already a pre-amp on the antenna, can I still add an amp to it ? I am not getting any US channels now, is there a way to know that if I add an amp it will get some US channels as well ?
michaelC is offline  
post #27 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-08-31, 10:11 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Splitting the antenna signal with 2 Baluns instead of Splitter?

I am in Miami and was talking to a friend who uses a off air antenna and was telling him to buy a HDTV tuner he actually said a few years ago was thinking about it.

Since he was using satellite he did not bother to order and now was going to order a Samsung tuner 451 after seeing what he can get at my brother house.

At my brother place with a little dinky outdoor antenna he gets 12 Miami stations 10 out of 10 bars.

He got his order of his 4228 for him and his friend.

Well my friend said he did not split his antenna but connected two baluns to the antenna and ran each RG6 to each tv, is this the same as splitting the signal ?

My thinking there is only so much gain from the antenna and you are feeding/pulling two tuners.

Would this be a better way for those who need only two feeds ?

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #28 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-09-28, 09:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Continued from GTA Results thread

Brewmaser you are welcome.

Good to hear you can pull in all the Buffalo stations. Nbc and Fox seems to be the hardest two to get.

Yes by installing a dual antenna setup and pointing the 4221 towards Toronto and having the 4228 for Buffalo you should get excellent results.

This was the setup I also chose as I'am going to be feeding 3 different tv setup and if I installed the rotor in the family room, I did not want to get out of bed at night to rotate it to get a good picture from a weak station.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #29 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-09-28, 10:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Markham -- Bayview & Steeles
Posts: 257
What are you going to use to combine the 4221 with the 4228?

FOX should be the easiest to get -- it's on Grand Island, where NBC is in the south=south east of Buffalo.
intrac is offline  
post #30 of 1748 (permalink) Old 2005-09-28, 10:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Intrac I used a Channel plus 2532 or you can use any good two way splitter rated for 5-1000mhz splitter in reverse.



Theres the Aspen 2 way both port pass through 2 way splitter 5 - 1000mhz.

For those who need a 4 way splitter/combiner theres the channel plus 4 way splitter as the 2534.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
Reply

Tags
antenna , dtv

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome