ATSC Converter Boxes (Non-HD, Non-Recording) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-01-04, 07:13 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Windsor on canada
Posts: 6
Lightbulb ATSC Converter Boxes (Non-HD, Non-Recording)

Will the samsung sir -t151 ota hdtv work on the sony 43in hdtv ready tv I live in Windsor ont have ota access
lockness is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-01-04, 12:00 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: sir-t151 ota hdtv covertor

Quote:
Originally Posted by lockness
Will the samsung sir -t151 ota hdtv work on the sony 43in hdtv ready tv I live in Windsor ont have ota access
yes it will. You will need a rotor on your outside antenna for sure. WTVS-DT is on the WWJ tower (along with WWJ-DT and WKBD-DT). You need to point NW to get WADL-DT (Mount Clemens) . Also, when the Toledo digital channels ramp up power, point south to get PBS, ABC & NBC HD from them. WGTE-DT will show different PBS HD than WTVS-DT most of the time. Have fun - you are in a great area and should get some Flint & Cleveland in the warm weather of summer. Checkout www.michiguide.com for a wealth of HD info in your area - I'm jealous.

BTW - do not fall into the trap of adding an antenna preamp (too many high powered stations near you will overload it). If your signal is poor - raise an antenna and/or get better antenna instead
post #3 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-01-04, 10:08 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 499
Where do you purchase the Samsung OTA Tuner?? I dont think they are sold anywhere in Canada.
digitalcable is offline  
post #4 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-01-05, 11:36 AM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 71
Live Wire Audio in Windsor has both models of the Samsung OTA tuner. As far as I know they may be the only store in Canada to have them.
TDog is offline  
post #5 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-01-06, 01:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 10,415
Contact Samsung Canada directly and I'm sure they can arrange something with a local dealer.
JohnnyG is offline  
post #6 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-01-09, 09:46 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 499
I guess it would make sense to sell them in Windsor being next to Detroit,but whats the cost of the Samsung ATSC Tuner??
digitalcable is offline  
post #7 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-01-09, 08:07 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 71
I think it is in the $900 range. The PQ is excellent, even when the networks are only broadcasting in 480p. There is no HD on cable in Windsor and it doesn't appear to be coming soon either. So the OTA tuner is a nice alternative to satellite. It is very tempting to get one.
TDog is offline  
post #8 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-02-22, 08:15 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 38
Lightbulb Samsung ATSC Tuners

Hi All,

I just bought a samsung SIR-151 on EBay, and after playing with the antenna for a while, was able to pick up the buffalo stations on the receiver, as well as one from detroit, and the citytv channel, all with medium signal strength, from my outdoor antenna. Late last night, all the stations except for citytv report no signal strength. Do those stations only broadcast during primetime? Anyone have any ideas about what the problem could be? I'm in SW Ontario, near Milton, for what it's worth.

Thanks,
Ian
Phaedrus is offline  
post #9 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-02-22, 02:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 499
How much did the samsung unit cost you? Also, i find it hard to beleive you can get a Detroit signal from Milton?? If so, which one was it?
digitalcable is offline  
post #10 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-02-22, 04:04 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalcable
How much did the samsung unit cost you? Also, i find it hard to beleive you can get a Detroit signal from Milton?? If so, which one was it?
I paid $250 US for it. I couldn't believe it was a Detroit station either. The station, according to the info screen, was WJBK, which is Fox 2 in detroit.
And strangest of all, it had a signal strength stronger than the Buffalo stations!
Phaedrus is offline  
post #11 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-02-22, 04:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 499
I went on E-bay trying to price out the Samsung Tuners and nobody will ship to Canada. The units all vary in price too.
digitalcable is offline  
post #12 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-02-22, 05:53 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalcable
I went on E-bay trying to price out the Samsung Tuners and nobody will ship to Canada. The units all vary in price too.
I was lucky, the guy I bought it from lived in Niagra falls, Canada, so it was no problem to ship. The list price is $499 US, although I'm not sure what price you can get it from in stores.

The picture quality is simply amazing - I'm really happy with the results so far.
Phaedrus is offline  
post #13 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-02-25, 11:28 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ayr, Ontario
Posts: 219
I Want My HDTV is right. We had some good tropo activity last week. I was picking up Cleveland with a highly directional antenna aimed towards Toronto.
I also just bought a SIR t151 from ebay but I haven't received it yet. I'm looking forward to seeing how it compares with my 6000 OTA module. Last I checked, you could pick the Samsung up for $350 US from Crutchfield.
jurassicjockey is offline  
post #14 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-02-25, 05:33 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassicjockey
I Want My HDTV is right. We had some good tropo activity last week. I was picking up Cleveland with a highly directional antenna aimed towards Toronto.
I also just bought a SIR t151 from ebay but I haven't received it yet. I'm looking forward to seeing how it compares with my 6000 OTA module. Last I checked, you could pick the Samsung up for $350 US from Crutchfield.
I would be interested to know how the samsung compares. Can you post back after you receive your unit?

How much did you pay for it on Ebay? I got mine for $250 US.

I can no longer pick up the Detroit stations, so it must have been an atmospheric anomaly.
Phaedrus is offline  
post #15 of 1037 (permalink) Old 2003-02-25, 09:56 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ayr, Ontario
Posts: 219
I think I saw that one you got. Was it early last week. I had planned on bidding on it, but then I forgot. I paid $290 US no taxes to someone out of Montreal. I hope to get it later this week. If I don't get it until next week, I won't get a chance to play around with it until the next week. I definitely will post back with my impressions of any differences
jurassicjockey is offline  
Reply

Tags
dtv converter , edtv , hdtv converter

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome