Antennas Direct OTA Antennas & Gear - Page 22 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #316 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-04, 09:51 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
Well, I had a few minutes and I just couldn't resist....
Nice! I think I just found my next experiment.
peano is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #317 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-05, 06:21 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brampton, Ont
Posts: 116
Awsome ADTech ! Will be interesting to see how that performs

Attic install, Antennas Direct DB8e, Channel Master 7777 preamp. Over 25 stations solid. Cable free since May 2011.

Last edited by Jase88; 2011-11-05 at 07:32 PM. Reason: Removed image quote
arrow201 is offline  
post #318 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-06, 12:32 PM
HWP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto, East York (Greenwood & Mortimer)
Posts: 1,179
Milehigh,

Welcome to the forum. More people will be able to give you better advice if you post in the Montreal thread here:

QC - Island of Montreal (Central areas) & Nuns' Island - OTA

Good luck!

OTA, HD7697P, CM7778, Rotator, CM3218, TiVo, HDHomeRun
Apple TV, Netflix, Teksavvy, Unblock-us, Wind, MagicJack
HWP is offline  
post #319 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-08, 10:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brantford ON
Posts: 24
edtrutone,

Have you compared this to a previous antenna? What gains have you seen?

Mine is going up this weekend in Brantford. New install.
Chris-P is offline  
post #320 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-08, 12:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
new db4e antenna

the new one is much better it starts 12dbi to 14.25 all the way.
you will be happy with it,plus a bonus wb .no problem for ch 11 chch in
Mississauga.
edtrutone is offline  
post #321 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-08, 01:59 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Antennas Direct Tech Support - St Louis
Posts: 320
Unless he has a meter that reads signal power, it's not likely he's going to be able to provide numerical quantities for the difference in the gain of the new vs the old antenna.

Glad to hear it's working out. Consider the channel 11 reception a bonus since we didn't design the DB2/4e for anything other than UHF.
ADTech is offline  
post #322 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-09, 02:39 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 422
For vertical stacking, what's the distance between the top and bottom antennas (measurements center-to-center, or from the bottom of the top to the top of the bottom antenna)?
be236 is offline  
post #323 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-10, 01:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brantford ON
Posts: 24
Unboxed DB4e

Unboxed my DB4e. Nice looking antenna.

One thing I noticed was one of the lower elements is a bit loose on the rivet. No way to adjust as-is. Question for ADTech: I was thinking I could shim it (between washer and rivet head) tighter with a piece of metal like a c-clip and dab a bit of silicone so it doesnt shake loose, or wrap telephone copper bare wire around between washer and rivet head to tighten. Thoughts?

Tested antenna indoors near a window. Got the usual channels I get with the terk amplified and 4221HD clone, TVO, and CHCH. Installing the CM7777 pre-amp got me CBLT-DT 5.1 (54 miles away) surprisingly. 30% quality 100% signal on a zinwell convertor.

Impressed so far. Saturday is install day. 36ft on tower and hope we can pull in TO and Buffalo stations.
Chris-P is offline  
post #324 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-10, 03:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Newmarket - North of Toronto
Posts: 60
Chris, what is impressing you? Just getting that 1 channel, CBLT?
threeflags is offline  
post #325 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-10, 03:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brantford ON
Posts: 24
Well yes. Impressed that I can pull in cbc from indoors at 54miles away from broadcast station.
Chris-P is offline  
post #326 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-10, 04:23 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Antennas Direct Tech Support - St Louis
Posts: 320
Chris,

The elements all have a "little" movement in them. However, if the movement is excessive in your opinion, i.e. if you just shake the whole unit and the wire moves, your idea of using some thin wire to shim it sounds reasonable to me. I do know that some pre-production units exhibited this concern and the factory was supposed to adjust the riveting mechanism to tighten them.

I checked the several production units I have here at the office and they all seem snug enough. Perhaps it was a one off occurrence.... We'll keep an eye out for it.
ADTech is offline  
post #327 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-10, 04:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brantford ON
Posts: 24
The rest are snug. Not a big deal. Thanks for the response!
Chris-P is offline  
post #328 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-21, 04:49 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal QC
Posts: 410
Question VHF-Hi on DB4e?

Hello folks and AD Tech,

I know the DB4e is technically a UHF antenna but what's the performance on VHF high? I'm only asking because of the following comment on the AD website:

Most of our UHF Antennas will pick up high VHF stations like channels 7-13 depending on your distance from the transmitters and a few other variables.

However the Clearstream 2 UHF antenna needed a special kit from what I could see to get VHF-Hi ... is the DB4e the same deal or is it more "VHF-Hi friendly" right off the bat?

Any specs for VHF-Hi?
interdit_450 is offline  
post #329 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-21, 05:15 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Antennas Direct Tech Support - St Louis
Posts: 320
On VHF, the new bowties aren't much different as the old bowties.

If you NEED VHF, plan accordingly unless you want to experiment. (Is that plain enough?)

They were designed from the beginning to be optimized for UHF 14-51, nothing else. The VHF dipole shown earlier is one option for modest high-VHF reception. At this point in time, you'd have to roll-your-own north of the border.
ADTech is offline  
post #330 of 861 (permalink) Old 2011-11-22, 12:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brantford ON
Posts: 24
Thumbs up

Just an update on my loose db4e element. I squeezed a bit on the rivet with a pair of large adjustable pliers and that tightened it up without any compromise to plastic or antenna structure. Note, be gentle and easy with it.

Chris
Chris-P is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome