Channel Master OTA Gear & Antennas - Page 8 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #106 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-15, 11:50 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Remounted the 4221 higher

Had one of my staff remount the 4221 onto a 10' pole and I can now pull in Nbc with the other Buffalo channels stronger than before.

All of Toronto stations including Sun/Toronto 1 is very strong.

Height does make a difference especially when you do not have a clear view.

For me it was the Monte Carlo Motel right across the street blocking my view.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #107 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-15, 05:38 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
Yaamon, nice seeing you in person today.........

Anyway, sorry I had to rush back to the city to pick up the kiddies and didn't have time to chat, but I assummed that you don't have a clear view of CN Tower or the lake, right ? I mentioned to you about the trees that are half a click away directly south of me, I am wondering if it will be worst than your Hotel blockage. I always heard that trees are worse than buildings.....

Anyway, I probably won't have time until next week to try the 4221. I might just stick it on the existing vent pipe on my roof first and see what I get, and then figure out if I need to mount it higher........

BTW, How is CityHD ? I always have problem with this one.......
michaelC is offline  
post #108 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-15, 06:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Michael it was a pleasure meeting you.

If I remember you said the trees where you are were much further away than the 250' where the hotel is across the street from me.

You should be fine don't worry.

As long as where the antenna is pointed and it's a clear level view you are ok. The hotel acorss the street is a good 2 stories taller than the view my antenna needs to see and I was getting everything except NBC.

With the new 10' pole the hotel is still taller than the view of the antenna needs, but its enough for me to get a very strong signal.

No, you don't have to see the lake or CN tower as I can't see it from where I am.

City is a max signal actually all Toronto channels are at max.

Please do let us know how your install goes and Iam sure you wont have a problem.

If you have trees and they are close by less than 80' and they are twice the height of the antenna then you might have a slight problem. If the trees are much further away than that then you should be fine.

I will let you know as Iam getting, a 42A10 for my dad and mounting a 4221 on the chimney. My parents house has trees 25' away and is 30 to 35' tall so I wil let you know the results as Iam not going to mount the antenna as high to clear the trees.

Will take pics and post them of the install so you can get a idea how tall the trees are compared to the antenna.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2005-09-15 at 06:15 PM.
Yaamon is offline  
 
post #109 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-20, 01:20 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Niagara Falls, ON
Posts: 26
Where to get 4221

I've noticed a few folks in this thread have the 4221. Just wondering where everyone has been obtaining them? I'm hesitant to go for the 4228 due to its "directionality". Due to my location (Niagara Falls), I think a 4221 pointed at Buffalo (without a rotor) should do the trick.
CoconutJoe is offline  
post #110 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-20, 09:52 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fonthill Ont.
Posts: 49
antenna experts please help

I have a terk 55 antenna up on my roof on a 10 ft pole I receive all of the buffalo channel no problems. I occasionally get cbc.If I were to get a 4221 antenna and mount it to receive Toronto stations would it be possible to combine both these antennas into one cable as the terk has a power supply i plug in at the receiver end. If that is a no go would two 4221's pointed in different directions do the trick so i would not need a rotar.
I'm located near welland in a town called Fonthill.What Toronto Stations could
I expect to receive now and in the near future. I would like to get cbc(hockey)
ctv and global when they come on line,is city tv a pipe dream from my location
fonthill hdtv is offline  
post #111 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-20, 10:11 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
CoconutJoe mail order it and have them deliver it to the closest US border post office, its a free service they provide.

They will hold it for 30 days. Drive down and pick it up.

Foorhill yes you can use two antenna and then combine the signals and definatelly a 4221 would pull all the Toronto or Buffalo channels from where you are located and then repoint the terk.

I think from what I have been reading you might have a problem getting City tv as the signal is very weak south of Toronto.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2005-09-20 at 10:32 AM.
Yaamon is offline  
post #112 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-22, 01:05 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
Yaamon,

Finally mounted the CM4221 today, on a 5' pole just clearing the roof of my neighbour. All 5 Toronto HD channel came in max strength WITHOUT amplification inlcuding CityHD which I never did get consistently before. However, nothing from south of the border. I am just wondering if a pre-amp would help, or how I would know a pre-amp would help without actually installing one. I am wired for an indoor wall wart if needed, so it wouldn't be a big deal for me to install a pre-amp.

What do you think ? I don't think I can install it any higher without getting my wife's attention that the house is looking like a UFO with an antenna 10' up on the roof. :-)

I don't really care about the network HD since I get it on *C anyway, but it would be nice without switching back and forth to get all HD channels together off the OTA..........

I don't need a rotor for the CM 4221, right ?
michaelC is offline  
post #113 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-22, 04:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
michaelC you are on the right track. If you are pulling in the Toronto stations at max signals especially Sun/Toronto 1 then, you have to point your antenna more south or east to get the Buffalo channels.

The furthest station south/east is Nbc.

If you view is clear then just repoint the antenna there is no need to go higher, if your south view is clear.

You dont really need a preamp as I also use at the office a 4221 with no preamp. At my office I can pull in all the Buffalo channels strong except Nbc that flakes in and out during the day.

Nbc comes in fine in the morning and starts falking out by 11am.

The reason for my weak Nbc is that the motel roof across the street is still almost two stories higher than my antenna.

What you should do is try and repoint your antenna till you get a good strong signal for Nbc and let Sun/Toronto 1 drop to 65-70% signal. Because the Toronto stations are very close by you wont get the drop out compared to the Buffalo channels that has the same weak singal.

I really dont think you need a rotor from your location.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2005-09-22 at 04:12 PM.
Yaamon is offline  
post #114 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-22, 04:11 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
Okay, will try it tomorrow.......I think I can add two feet of height to it, would that make a big difference ? Either way I am still block by trees about 1 km away.

I will try point it south east instead and see what happens. I think it is dead south right now. What are the Buffalo channels in terms of numbers ? I am getting 5/9/25/53/66 all Toronto channels and that's it.

Thanks man.
michaelC is offline  
post #115 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-22, 04:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Michael without a compass where you think south is maybe is not.

If you can go two feet hight there is no harm is trying as higher is better. You might even get a bit more gain, especially if your view just clears your neighbour roof.

You should definately get 23-1 Cbs and 23-3 Upn. 43 Pbs and then from there 7 Abc and Fox 29 and then Cbs again at 4-1 and 4-3. Nbc comes in at 2 but the receiver might pick it up as 33-1

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #116 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-27, 12:27 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
Hey gordee88,

I am on Duplex on Yonge and Eglinton and I have a CM 4221 mounted on the roof with a 6' pole just clearing the roofs and I can't get anything from the states. I am aiming it at SSE and only get full strength of all TO stations.

I am amazing that a 10' pole in the backyard gets you US channels with all the trees around. I must be doing something wrong..... I do have long cable runs though. I can't see that it is because of the difference between 4221 and 4228.

I am curious and would love to know exactly where you are just to check out the surrouding houses and trees.
michaelC is offline  
post #117 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-27, 04:08 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelC
I have a CM 4221 mounted on the roof with a 6' pole just clearing the roofs and I can't get anything from the states. I am aiming it at SSE and only get full strength of all TO stations... I am amazing that a 10' pole in the backyard gets you US channels with all the trees around. I must be doing something wrong..... I do have long cable runs though. I can't see that it is because of the difference between 4221 and 4228.
This would be a very interesting comparison test between the two Channel Master products...
stampeder is offline  
post #118 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-27, 09:17 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
michaelC if you want you can return the 4221 and try a 4228.

I think where you are located you are in a dip/lower elevation and your Buffalo stations will suffer.

Once you go north I think past Lawrence or Yorkmills towards the 401 and above the land grade/elevation get much higher as you go more north. These increase in elevation helps the Buffalo signals.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2005-09-27 at 10:05 AM.
Yaamon is offline  
post #119 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-27, 03:54 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
Yaamon, how much is the difference between 4221 and 4228 ?

I am not too sure if it is worth it. I am pretty well resigned to the fact that my location sucks. If 4228 is more directional than I am almost certain that it wouldn't any different. Other than moving, I think I am pretty well stuck. I am just amazed that people get reception in midtown with a pole in the backyard. I think you are right regarding the dip. There is even a difference between east west as well (i.e. Yonge is lower than Avenue etc). So I am stuck both ways.
michaelC is offline  
post #120 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-09-27, 05:03 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelC
I am pretty well resigned to the fact that my location sucks.
Tower! Tower! Tower! A nice 60 footer would blend in with the skyline.
stampeder is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome