Channel Master OTA Gear & Antennas - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-06-29, 10:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
The 4228 comes with a 75 ohm F connector. So I used a short 6" RG6 cable in from the CM4228 connector.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-06-30, 01:14 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaamon
The 4228 comes with a 75 ohm F connector. So I used a short 6" RG6 cable in from the CM4228 connector.
Channel Master 4228s now come equipped with a matched balun to output 75ohm signal, but I recommend that you mark one of the 300ohm leads so that you don't accidentally get them mixed up in the future if you decide to gang two 4228s for some reason. Ya never know...
stampeder is offline  
post #33 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-06, 04:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 342
I just bought a semi-detached house in Mississauga and I'd like to buy a 4228, but I'm not sure I want to piss off the neighbour just yet. I'm debating going with an attic install (I assume the antenna can be taken apart to fit in the attic) or mounting it in a spare bedroom that will be facing south.

If the neighbour ends up being a jerk, I'm slapping that sucker on the roof. If I do mount it on the roof, should I be concerned with wind loading? The 4228 is steel and it weighs 15 pounds by itself.

Any advice appreciated.
jeneral is offline  
 
post #34 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-06, 04:40 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeneral
If I do mount it on the roof, should I be concerned with wind loading? The 4228 is steel and it weighs 15 pounds by itself.
Hi, the weight you've mentioned is not correct at all, so you don't need to worry about it or any wind load problems if your house is not in a tornado alley. I don't know why that false weight number seems to be around, but my 4228 weighed nowhere near that. See this post as well:

http://www.digitalhomecanada.com/for...60&postcount=3

also there's an excellent analysis of attic mount signal penalty in one of the threads here from an engineer. Keep it out of the attic, and if your neighbour has anything to say about your antenna just show him your results.
stampeder is offline  
post #35 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-06, 07:10 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fonthill Ont.
Posts: 49
I've decided to get a Channel Master 4228 with the hopes of improving my reception over the terk 55 i'm using now . I've had a hard time finding a supplier in the buffalo area or anyone on line that will ship to Canada can anyone help
fonthill hdtv is offline  
post #36 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-06, 07:23 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonthill hdtv
I've had a hard time finding a supplier in the buffalo area or anyone on line that will ship to Canada can anyone help
Check out the OTA Equipment thread and you'll find a Canadian dealer:

http://www.digitalhomecanada.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23984
stampeder is offline  
post #37 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-07, 05:52 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fonthill Ont.
Posts: 49
I specifically asked about american suppliers because i do not want to spend $120.00 for a antenna that's for sale in the U.S for $39.00us
fonthill hdtv is offline  
post #38 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-07, 07:32 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
And next time you'll specifically say "no Canadian dealer info wanted", right? Thankfully you're close to the border.
stampeder is offline  
post #39 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-07, 08:03 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterford, Ont
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonthill hdtv
I specifically asked about american suppliers because i do not want to spend $120.00 for a antenna that's for sale in the U.S for $39.00us
$120....try $148 thats how much I paid for it....sure is a rip off...we are definitely in need of some competition. Of course thats including tax. and I had to go pick it up too

The place in US that I saw it for $39 doesnt ship to Canada but if your going for a trip.
tricky is offline  
post #40 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-15, 02:34 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 123
S***! My CM4228 just fell down. It looks ok though.

Note to self: three pieces of tape won't hold a CM4228 for more than a week in hot weather.
Sarke is offline  
post #41 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-21, 12:34 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Better gain by stacking CM4228s

Is there a way for me to use 2 CM4228 and combine them for better gain to pull in WB 49 from Buffalo.


I was thinking if the CM4228 is basically two CM4221 put side by side can I then stack two CM4228 on top of each other or beside each other?

Too bad I can only get this channel os those days the DXing is good.

Now we are talking. I spoke to Ron Morgan, Technical Consultant Andrew Corp. North Carolina Channel Master Brand Products.

They don't any any actual test but had said a few customers had tried it with success.

Ron said just make sure on the second antenna that the bow are evenily spaced between the first and second antenna.

As you can see the antenna slightly over lap to have the bow evenly spaced.



Since my cowoker has two CM4228 mounted I will ask him to try it. If you drive south of 16th Ave on Mccowan on the west side before the cop station you can see his dual CM4228.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2005-07-21 at 01:20 PM.
Yaamon is offline  
post #42 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-23, 12:17 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
Here's a DHCer who already uses a stacked CM4228:

http://www.digitalhomecanada.com/for...8&postcount=19

so maybe you could PM him for some info.
stampeder is offline  
post #43 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-07-24, 05:21 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,152
check out http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ISSUES/erecting_antenna.html


See....
Antenna Projects -- For Do-It-Yourselfers in very weak signal areas

A 16-Bay UHF antenna
A 32-Bay UHF antenna




Last edited by HDTV101; 2005-07-24 at 05:24 AM.
HDTV101 is offline  
post #44 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-08-04, 11:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 342
I just received a Channel Master 4228 by UPS today and I noticed that the right side (if looking at the front of the antenna) appears tilted slightly inwards. If I lay the antenna flat on the ground, almost all the left side bowties are horizontal but the right side is all over the place. Am I correct in assuming that this unit is supposed to be symmetrical? Should I whip out a set of pliers and try to fix this unit (I'm a little scared of snapping something off)? Can anyone let me know if their 4228 is symmetrical?
jeneral is offline  
post #45 of 655 (permalink) Old 2005-08-15, 05:35 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Cm4221 Excellent Results in GTA

A friend has a CM4228 that he has not instaleld yet so I lent him a CM4221 that I was going to install at my office to see what it can pull in. He just leaned it up on a wall outside his balcony.

He lives around Markham Rd and 16th Ave.

Damm by the way is today a good dx day The reason is he is pulling in all Buffalo except Wb at 10 out of 10 on his Samsung SIR T451.

Then he is pulling in the 2 station from Rochester Fox and Pbs but also Wham(Abc) at 5 to 6 bars.

All Toronto station are at 10 except Toronto 1 at 8 bars.

He just has the antenna leaned up against the wall and he lost WHAM it was leaning back. He then tilted it forward and the signal came back.

I think Iam going to have to play with the tilt angle on my antenna to see if I can get more gain. Now its level and vertical.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2005-08-15 at 05:40 PM.
Yaamon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome