Towers East, West, & South. Rotate a Directional? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 2016-08-05, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Towers East, West, & South. Rotate a Directional?

Hello, I'm Paul from Grand Forks, North Dakota. While googling for information on TV antennas, I stumbled across a 2014 thread from this forum which compared the DB8e to the DB4e, two antennas I have developed an interest in. In the thread it was mentioned that the DB8e was very directional, which in the poster's experience led to a loss of available channels as compared to his DB4e.

Due to my tower situation, I am strongly considering using a rotor, in which case, the strong directional performance would be a plus. Or, I think it would. I am new to this.

My situation:
I have one TV, no splitter required.
I want to mount the antenna in my attic. Cable run will be around 50 feet (15 meters)
I want to pull in a VHF tower that is 40 miles East of me.
I want to pull in a UHF tower that is 40 miles West of me.
I want to pull in a UHF tower that is 50 miles South of me.
I live in very flat country that is predominantly prairie.

I am especially interested in the VHF tower that is 40 miles away as that is the station that carries the Minnesota Vikings and football season is approaching. From my previous experience with those inexpensive little flat panel antennas, VHF has been a tougher pull than UHF.

Would a rotor-equipped, attic-mounted DB8e be a good choice? Or would the DB4e perform as well or better? Or should I be considering a "conventional" antenna design, like the Winegard HD7694P.

Thanks for any help,

Paul
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 2016-08-05, 12:54 PM

You can forget the DB4e, it is not rated for VHF only UHF.

The HD7694P is an VHF/UHF antenna. However from inside the attic either antenna will perform poorly.