Wireless TV Antenna? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-11-22, 11:10 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Question Wireless TV Antenna?

I am looking to put a TV antenna in the attic of my condo but I'm not sure how I can get the signal to my TV without having to pull new coax wires which I can not do. Is there anyway the receive the antenna signal and then send it wirelessly down to my TV? Any help would be appreciated!
crowellsr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-11-22, 11:30 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 513
No. The antenna has to be connected via a cable to the tuner.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-11-22, 11:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Craig Henry (Greenbank/Hunt Club), Nepean, ON
Posts: 3,170
This has been discussed in other threads, so search for it.
It might be possible by using an HDHomeRun digital tuner and a wireless router, but if you can't pull a coax cable up into the attic, how are you going to power the router and the tuner?

If you're talking about an attic, I assume you're in a condo townhouse. Can't you just pass the coax through the attic hatch?
tvlurker is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-11-23, 11:57 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
An HDHomeRun digital tuner and wireless or Powerline access point might be the best option. It should be possible to get power from an inside receptacle or ceiling fixture to add an attic outlet. Make sure the outlet is done to professional standards by an electrician. It's unsafe and illegal to run extension cords through building materials and insulation.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-11-23, 12:16 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 796
Before you go to all the trouble check your address with www.tvfool.com to see what sort of signal to expect.

Bill
My blog
blueroomelectro is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-11-23, 01:43 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamilton: Garth and Rymal
Posts: 600
I'd be a bit cautious about putting a router and hdhomerun up in the attic with fear of the extreme temperature extremities. You could buy an out door router, which may (or may not) be able to withstand these extremities better (would have to look at the datasheet/specifications), but I think the hdhomerun, being a commercial product has a very limited operating temperature range.

Mayhem Creations-"The Art Of Emotional Creation"
sites.google.com/site/maycreates/Home -for viewing all my DIY projects
Marbles_00 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-11-23, 02:29 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
If you're so determined, it wouldnt be hard to put the equipment in an insulated box with a pipe or something connected to inside air (tap into a *cold air* duct or something if you have any running in the ceiling or wall there).
That way it can maintain house temp, but still be out of the way.
recneps77 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome