Need advice to ground antenna - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-07-11, 11:25 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Repentigny, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 73
Need advice to ground antenna

Hey guys,
I'd need your advice as to how to ground my antenna. I mean, I know I need to connect a copper or aluminium (no. 8 or 10) to a ground rod driven at least 3 feet into the ground. Thing is, my antenna is not on the side of the house were there's a flat wall that goes to the basement. It is the carport.

I've attached a picture of the front of the house. The red circle is were the booster is connected, therefore the ground my be connected just before that. I cannot do that on the back of the house as I have a wooden deck that prevent me to put a ground rod there. So must be on the side, or the front (which I'd need to cover somehow). I've read that I must avoid any 90 degree turns or heavy turn with the cable...based on my setup, will be hard to avoid.

So, question is. Is someone having a good suggestion about how to ground the antenna? I cannot move the antenna as on the side of the carport I'd be too low, and on the other side of the house I have a pine which goes twice the height of the house, so cannot put the antenna there either.

Any recommendation?

Thanks in advance for your help

Best Regards

Martin

Last edited by stampeder; 2010-07-11 at 12:35 PM. Reason: please use Grounding thread
grizzlymv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-07-16, 10:15 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Markham
Posts: 112
Gounding needed for Attic install?

Hi, I have been trying to search the answer to my question and wasn't able to find it. Is it require?

I plan to run the cable from the attic down to my basement where I would plug it into the Roger split. Is that a good idea? This way, I wouldn't have to re-run all of my wires again to each room.
ZzRicezZ is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-10-23, 10:42 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
Antenna Grounding / Lighting Supression

I did a search but didn't see anything specific.

From what I have read you should ground the coax using a grounding block, and ground the antenna mast using a grounding rod.

If I do both, do I need any lightling supressors?

(BTW just picked up a DB8 and will be mounting it tomorrow.)
Digital_Frank is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-10-23, 10:59 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Please read through the "Grounding Info & Standards: OTA/Dish/CATV/Telecom" thread, which contains everything you need to know on the subject:

Grounding OTA / Dish / CATV / Telecom - See Post 1
stampeder is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-05-05, 11:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beloeil
Posts: 616
Question Do I Need To Ground An Indoor Antenna?

Hey Gang,

A friend purchased a 4221Hd for an interior setup in front of a patio door.I will modify (Hack) the 4221HD, but his question to you is:

Do you need to ground the antenna if it's inside the house?

I told him no, but he wants a second opinion.



Thanks,
intravino is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-05-06, 07:08 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 515
There is no requirement (or advantage) to ground any indoor or attic antenna.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-05-06, 08:18 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Far East End of Hamilton, ON (Lake & Barton, 11th floor facing WNW)
Posts: 1,854
I'm using one here in the apartment in a second bedroom nestled in the corner pointed at Toronto mounted to a freestanding patio table umbrella stand. Works like gangbusters.

Cameron

DAB listener 12/2003-11/2011 (DAB Off-Air since 11/2011)
HD radio Listener since 06/2010
CamDAB is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-05-06, 11:14 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Exclamation When you should ground an indoor antenna

Canadians have all experienced that dreadful static electricity zap in the middle of the winter as we walk across a rug in thick socks and accidentally touch the cover screw on a light switch... YOWWW!!!!

If there is any risk of this happening to an indoor antenna on which the elements are of exposed metal then ground it and be glad that you did. The blast from a shock like that could easily damage a tuner.

Otherwise I agree that there is no real reason to ground an indoor antenna.

For all the information you'll ever need about grounding please use our official Digital Home grounding thread: Grounding Info & Standards: OTA/Dish/CATV/Telecom
stampeder is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-07-16, 01:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Worried about lightning strikes...

Hi,

I just put a CM4221HD on the balcony of my 34th floor apartment (second highest floor of my apartment). I don't have it "grounded" to anything and it is directly connected to my HD converter box. Should I be worried about lightning strikes? If so, is there any way for me to protect my equipment in case the lightning zaps my antenna? Not sure what the chances of lightning hitting my antenna are. There is a concrete roof above my balcony and the CN tower is about 15km away (I live near Bloor/Islington in Toronto).
ph4tb0i is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-07-16, 01:43 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Grounding Info

A reminder that all the information you'll ever need about grounding (including answers about lightning) is found in our official Digital Home grounding thread: Grounding Info & Standards: OTA/Dish/CATV/Telecom
stampeder is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome