ATSC High Definition Tuner Boxes (Non-Recording) - Page 7 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #91 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-06-25, 10:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Milton: James Snow / Derry
Posts: 68
Question ATSC High Definition Tuner Boxes (Non-Recording)

Hey guys,

I am interested in setting up OTA HD for my home, but my TV was purchased around 5 or 6 years ago and does not have an ATSC tuner.

I am trying to learn about HD boxes but I haven't made much progress. I am wondering if anyone can recommend some boxes that would be best and most cost-effective for HD - I noticed some recommendations earlier but it seemed that not all of these boxes were HD. And roughly how much should I expect to spend on a decent HD box?

Thanks for the help.

Last edited by stampeder; 2009-06-26 at 12:26 PM. Reason: title added
JJMoney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-06-25, 10:21 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Yonge & Sheppard, Toronto
Posts: 387
buy an upscaling DVD-recorder from the US... it'll have a digital tuner, and bob's your uncle.

Sony 32XBR1, Antennas Direct CS2, Xbox360 & BD. Gamertag: "DT Vancity" <-- get it, DTV?
blakew is offline  
post #93 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-06-26, 10:15 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 78
would DVD recorders in Canada be any different?
gohabsgo2 is offline  
post #94 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-06-26, 12:40 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 173
JJ Money, for an older LCD or Plasma you can use Samsung DTB-H260F. They're not for sale new but you can pick up online. They are full HD with HDMI and Component video outputs. ATSC tuner is also very good. Make sure you get one with a working remote.
RustyHD is offline  
post #95 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-06-26, 12:58 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,352
JJMoney, check out the several ATSC tuner threads here at this site since there are plenty of options for OTA HD devices:And of course there are the Winegard RC1010 and Centronics ZAT502 ATSC HD-output boxes discussed in this very thread too.
stampeder is offline  
post #96 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-06-26, 01:17 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,352
I've split the topic of ATSC High Definition Tuner Boxes that are Non-Recording into this separate new thread from the original thread, which will continue to discuss ATSC Converter Boxes that are Non-HD and Non-Recording.

Last edited by stampeder; 2009-06-26 at 01:47 PM.
stampeder is offline  
post #97 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-07-01, 10:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hamilton Mtn.
Posts: 1,575
External vs. Internal Tuners

Are external tuners better than the tuners that are inside the television set?

Does anyone have a crude ranking of these tuners beyond, "the latest chipsets"?
goforit is offline  
post #98 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-07-05, 10:30 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 70
Centronics ZAT502

I thought I would post some info on the set top box I got a few weeks ago at SAR. It was being advertised as the Centronics ZAT502HD. In terms of specifications (type of outputs, etc) everything is as indicated.

The physical appearance is slightly different than the pictures of this unit shown on the web. The box itself is hard to make out in the photos but the remote definitely looks different. The one I have doesn't have the blue oval of the photo on the web. Who knows, these could be from the ZAT501. I had mentioned this before, but the word "Centronics" doesn't appear anywhere on the product, or the box it comes in, or the manual. Seems a bit shady.

Anyway, I wanted to post some data I get from the box when I press "System Info" in the menu (I think that's what it was called).

Product: ATSC STB (duh)
Software Version: 11142008
Hardware Version: 8519-NOSA
Loader Version: 4273

I don't know what this info means in terms of chipset generation which seems to be the prime factor. I haven't opened up the casing to look inside, and I don't want to either as I tend to break things that are expensive. Anyone know if the software can be updated? Or if one would want to?
Legacy2009 is offline  
post #99 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-07-06, 10:04 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by goforit
Are external tuners better than the tuners that are inside the television set?
Even though there are lots of TV and external tuner manufacturers, there are acftually only a small number of ATSC chipset manufacturers that the big manufacturers buy from. This means that is is quite normal for several different brands of TV or box to have the same digial tuner inside. We see this again and again.The biggest difference seems to be in the software used to control the tuner and present a User Interface for owners.
Quote:
Originally Posted by goforit
Does anyone have a crude ranking of these tuners beyond, "the latest chipsets"?
That is actually one of the purposes of these threads. Also if you look through them you'll find links to comparison tests of certain tuner products.
stampeder is offline  
post #100 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-07-12, 12:36 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto (St. Clair/Bathurst)
Posts: 462
Interesting reading about the rear connections on various external converter boxes in this thread.

This is a consideration which has been important to me in mixing-and-matching components but which gets short shrift here (or worse, the answer to the question is hastily assumed).

I have older-persons eyesight, so-so interest in visual quality (but a nut about aural quality), and a 10 yr old SD TV. Viewing has been with a fine old satellite receiver with all the outputs. And you know what I think: barely any difference that I care about (or even can reliably detect) from RF (Channel 3 connection), "video" (yellow plug), S-video, and HMDI to a computer monitor.

HD broadcasting and reception is magnificent and nobody would ever go back to SD willingly. But from the tuner (a STB converter in my case, but these comments have no relevance to that earlier thread) to a SD monitor, not much difference.

I hope to hear from others to comment on differences when viewed on an HD monitor? But I don't think we should casually assume that you need to go up HMDI to have a great picture, once the STB has done its reception magic.


In olden times, I found the tuners in a VHS recorder weren't as hot as the TV. From this thread, I gather that is not so with expensive or even cheap DVD recorders today?
bentoronto is offline  
post #101 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-07-13, 10:55 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto (St. Clair/Bathurst)
Posts: 462
In post above, I wasn't clear that I am converting good source OTA HD signals, not satellite signals. Most likely I would see a difference between, say, Channel 3 and S-video if I had two monitors side-by-side for simultaneous comparison. But that still might not make S-video enough better to fret about it.
bentoronto is offline  
post #102 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-07-15, 12:43 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 156
Hi there, can anyone recomment a cheap ATSC tuner I can just get for temporary use? I'll only need it for a few weeks. Thanks in advance.
Random Dude is offline  
post #103 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-07-15, 12:52 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 539
these set top boxes are good for over-the-air ATSC reception, right? i just want to make sure i'm understanding things properly, becuase i thought there were no HD over-the-air recievers, only SD recievers (the digital converter boxes that the USA was sending coupons for)...
RingtailedFox is offline  
post #104 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-07-15, 01:00 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 156
Well if it is sorry to post in the wrong spot, I couldn't find a thread for SD set top units.
Random Dude is offline  
post #105 of 316 (permalink) Old 2009-07-15, 09:00 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,352
ATSC SD Converter Box thread

ATSC Converter Boxes (Non-HD, Non-Recording)

is the thread for that, and it seems the Zenith DTT901 is the cream of the crop in SD Converter boxes (see Post #798 in that thread for a recent review confirming that).
stampeder is offline  
Reply

Tags
atsc , ota

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome