OTA Cabling: RG-6, RG-59, RG-11, Twin-Lead, Crimping, Other Tips - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-01, 12:14 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Bathurst & Wilson
Posts: 21
Lightbulb OTA Cabling: RG-6, RG-59, RG-11, Twin-Lead, Crimping, Other Tips

I'll be setting up my OTA hardware in the next week or so and I'm wondering if I could use the cable I was previously using with my Rogers internet service?

The cable is marked "18 AWG CM or CATV". What I need to know is if it's 75 ohm RG6.

As this cable is already run exactly where I need it and to the correct length, any help confirming it's 75 ohm RG6 will save me alot of work and will be greatly appreciated.
manolid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-01, 07:35 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Pretty sure that is RG-59.
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-01, 09:41 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,484
I believe that RG-59 can work though, especially if the run is not too long, it just has higher line losses:

FAQ - Cable, Splitters

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #4 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-01, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Bathurst & Wilson
Posts: 21
It's about 120' in length.

I think I'll mount my hardware and use the existing cable and see what the signal strength is like. If I encounter any problem, I'll replace it with RG6.

ty for the help.
manolid is offline  
post #5 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-01, 10:06 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,484
The chart in the post 3 link indicates that at higher frequencies, you'd see a 10-15 dB additional drop at that length (RG59 vs RG6). So, it may depend on what sort of signal you have in the first place, or if you put an amp by the antenna, etc.

There are people much more experienced with OTA that should be able to comment further.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-01, 03:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
manolid if your house was built in the past 10 years, there is a pretty good chance its RG6. 18awg is thick and is the standard center core size for RG6 cable. My guess is that you have RG6.

RG59 is rated at 22 gauge for the center conductor.

120' of cable is pretty long and your ota signal will surely suffer. I would highly recommend a antenna preamp for your setup.

Good luck.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2007-06-01 at 03:35 PM.
Yaamon is offline  
post #7 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-02, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Bathurst & Wilson
Posts: 21
My house is 30 years old, but this cable was run by Rogers about ten years ago.

Ty for the help.
manolid is offline  
post #8 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-02, 04:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,224
If it was used for high speed internet service it is likely RG6. They need better signal strength for high speed internet over coax than analog TV.
roger1818 is offline  
post #9 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-27, 03:55 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 258
terminating rg6 coax

I just got some bulk quad shield rg6, some rg6 compression connectors, and a crimping tool. I'm having trouble getting a consistently good connection though.

I strip the cable, fold back the outer braiding, push the connector on using a T-tool, then crimp the connector. Four out of five times I can just slide the connector off after crimping. I think the problem is that I'm not getting the inner metal sleeve of the connector to slide between the insulated core of the cable and the outer jacket. I just seem to be pushing the jacked back. Does anyone have any tips on using the T-tool to push the connector onto stripped cable?

And I did make sure the connectors were quad shield compatible, so that shouldn't be the problem.
timmy1 is offline  
post #10 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-27, 04:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,224
timmy1, With compression connectors you need to use a compression tool, not a crimp tool. Home Depot sells two different models of compression tools by Ideal. I have the cheaper one and it works very well.

If you are using the correct tool, double check that you are using quad shield cable with your quad shield connectors. Quad shield cable has 4 layers of shield (2 layers of foil and 2 layers of braid alternating, i.e. foil, braid, foil, braid). If you only have dual shield RG6 you need to use dual shield connectors.

When used properly, compression connectors should provide a very reliable connection.
roger1818 is offline  
post #11 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-27, 05:15 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 258
Sorry I wasn't clear. The box and website describe it as a crimping tool, but it's made for compression connectors. Here's a pic:



And I am using quad shield rg6 (it says so on the cable, and I also tore it apart to have a look). I feel like I'm doing something wrong. Maybe later I'll post some pics of my technique so it will be clearer what's happening.
timmy1 is offline  
post #12 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-28, 12:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 258
cable termination

A follow-up on my cable woes. Here's an image of the process I use:



As you can see it's not working out so well for me. I have to use quite a bit of force to push the connector onto the cable, but it seems that I'm just pushing the insulation and the jacket back. Then when I use the compression tool it just pulls the connector forward again. As I mentioned in a previous post, I do get a solid connection every 4 or 5 tries.

Any thoughts?
timmy1 is offline  
post #13 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-28, 01:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,224
My guess is that it is an alignment issue. You have to make sure that the connector is lined up so that the centre core slides into the centre of the connector. Don't push too hard (at least not until you are sure that it is aligned properly). You then need to push the connector on so that the centre core is flush with the back of the connector (your second picture shows it back quite a bit). Only then should you compress the connector. I hope this helps.
roger1818 is offline  
post #14 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-28, 01:12 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,424
Thanks for the photo, timmy1: I think I see the problem here. The copper core wire and the stripped white portion of the coax are too long.

Do you have a coax stripping tool? If not, definitely get one so that you get a standard, correct measurement every time. Get a good one that allows you to set the depth of cut of the knives with an Allen wrench. That way you can set them very precisely.

In the case of the photo, even if your compression tool actually made it fit, the problem is that every time you would screw in that coax end onto a female fitting the threaded nut portion would be pulled onto the female fitting in the inwards direction as we want, but the inner core of the coax would reach a stopping point on the female fitting at which it can no longer travel inwards, so it would act as a "pushing outwards" force opposite of the threaded portion. In that case your compression fitting would fail over a short time.
stampeder is offline  
post #15 of 680 (permalink) Old 2007-06-28, 01:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Hi stampeder the cable stripped does not look too bad.

This is what I noticed not sure if the connector already used.

They are many different connectors on the market and only certian type of compression tool and connector will work together properly.

The connector that you have in the picture it looks like its already been used, unless you just pulled it off and its sitting there, is there a 1/8" gap before compression?

In this photo same type tool but the connector before it is compressed has about 1/8" the blue plastic ring before it compresses on the cable.

http://www.pbase.com/yaamon/image/81316195

Using a compression tool and connectors that dont have a separate ring they compress internally.

http://www.pbase.com/yaamon/image/81316196

Normally there should be a little resistance when you push the connector on and make sure the center( white insulator)is pushed flush to the inner part of the connector.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2007-06-28 at 01:55 PM.
Yaamon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome