OTA Cabling: RG-6, RG-59, RG-11, P3 Hardline, Twin-Lead, Crimping - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-31, 05:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: East Hamilton
Posts: 19
Home Depot has the 1 foot flat cable.It is made by RCA,part #CVHD911... $5.98

Last edited by stampeder; 2009-03-31 at 10:14 AM.
Rkh63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 02:48 AM
RnR
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Old-Timey 300 Ohm Shielded - w/amp?

I recently acquired some new old stock Belden City Color shielded 300-ohm cable as well as a new CM 0264 pre-amp.

What is the recommended way to cable a 300-ohm antenna to that 300-ohm pre-amp (tower mounted) to effectively utilize the shielding the Belden product uses?
RnR is offline  
post #78 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 02:57 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
Shielded twinlead is actually pretty simple to use, but I take the added steps of tinning the stripped wire ends with a soldering gun so that the wire doesn't fray when torqued down under the screw terminals of the preamp or similar connector.
stampeder is offline  
 
post #79 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 03:34 AM
RnR
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Very good!

In regard to the shield though... doesn't that need to be separately grounded in order to actually "shield" the antenna RF?

As the pre-amp appears to only present (2) terminals for the active leads and no accomodation for the cable shield, presumably the City Color cable would have to be seperately grounded somehow (just haven't seen it done). As the packaging says
Quote:
For greatest reduction of noise interference connect ground wire to nearest effective ground
. I guess I'll have to run a separate wire to effect that upstream of the pre-amp.

Last edited by stampeder; 2009-04-05 at 01:23 PM. Reason: quote tags fixed
RnR is offline  
post #80 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 01:28 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
The shielding acts like a Faraday Cage, so grounding it is not necessary. The same thing goes for the shielding in coaxial cable: even if you don't run it through a ground block the shielding still works. I don't knock anyone for grounding in these situations, but its not a showstopper if the shielded twinlead is simply going from the antenna's feed points to the preamp (length of 3 feet or less).

One other thing about your particular preamp: the weatherproof cover on those models has a slot or two for standard sized twinlead to sneak through... you'll probably need to carve the hole e a bit bigger with an exacto knife to accomodate the shielded twinlead, and then waterproof the hole.

Grounding thread:
Grounding OTA / Dish / CATV / Telecom - See Post 1

OTA Waterproofing, Sealants, Adhesives, Paint thread:
OTA Waterproofing, Sealants, Adhesives, Paint, Enclosures
stampeder is offline  
post #81 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 02:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,246
One other thing when using shielded twinlead is to make sure to weatherproof the exposed foam core at the ends. Details on how to do this is best discussed in the OTA Waterproofing, Sealants, Adhesives, Paint thread.
roger1818 is offline  
post #82 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 06:38 PM
RnR
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Thanks for the info; good suggestions... all.
RnR is offline  
post #83 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-04-30, 04:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 28
Indoor use of twinlead

I was thinking about using an 8 foot section of 300 Ohm twinlead to connect my 4 bay DIY to my amplifier indoors. I thought that this might help my VHF gain, but I was wondering if its a bad idea or not (ie: would it hurt my UHF).
cheap_guy is offline  
post #84 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-04-30, 04:33 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
Is it shielded twnlead, or is it standard? Shielded is preferable and will do fine indoors. Unshielded can sometimes be a hassle with interference.

Also I'm assuming your preamp has 300ohm input, correct?
stampeder is offline  
post #85 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-04-30, 08:15 PM
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 312
The important thing in coax cables is proper termination of the connectors and less the marketing hype of dual vs quad or crimp vs compression ! Military specs calls for crimped connectors and not compression type if that brings any comfort, cheaper crimp connectors wins out !

I used to work as quality assurance manager for a custom cabling shop that produces cables for the International Space Station to DoD and DND contracts.

I see photos in this thread with the dielectric foam still protruding onto the center conductors which is a no-no, use a razor blade or exacto knife and carefully remove the excess dielectric being careful not to score the center conductor, also do not touch the copper core with your hands as this can leave body oils and acids that can oxidize the copper overtime, use a Q-Tip with some alcohol to wipe it before you insert it. Make sure the dielectric does not have any bits of the shielding stuck to it, foam core cables have a tendency to have braiding stick to it, use a small brush or compress air to blow it away and inspect with a 10X loup to make sure that there are no braiding bits in the dielectric. If you are really anal like me, then use a Dremel with a cut off wheel to flatten the copper core so it does not has a burred sharp edge that can damage splitters, amps and your TVs coaxial input, the center conductor should not extend more than 1/8" from the connector.
EdT is offline  
post #86 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-05-01, 02:18 AM
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 312
I haven't seen a thread on here about solid copper core vs copper clad steel core RG-6 cables yet ...any takers ? ...LoL
EdT is offline  
post #87 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-05-01, 02:40 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
Electrically, solid copper is a much better conductor than copper-clad steel core. The VP (Velocity of Propagation) ratings of coaxial cables are expressed as a percentage of the speed of light, and they are much higher with solid copper than with steel core.

Also steel core is not nearly as flexible as solid copper so it can be a hassle to hump around a building or up through tight spots. I only use solid copper RG6.
stampeder is offline  
post #88 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-05-01, 12:13 PM
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 312
So which is better RG-9 copper core or RG-6 copper clad ?

From what I understand copper clad is not much of an issue if it is solely being used as a RF conductor due the "skin effect", but if you require current such as a pre-amp or LNB for a dish then copper is a better choice.
EdT is offline  
post #89 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-05-01, 12:20 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdT
So which is better RG-9 copper core or RG-6 copper clad
Did you mean to say RG-9 or was that a typo? RG-9 is 51ohm, not 75ohm.

Last edited by stampeder; 2009-05-01 at 05:45 PM.
stampeder is offline  
post #90 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-05-01, 07:07 PM
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 312
I meant RG-59 ...typo ...LoL
EdT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome