OTA Cabling: RG-6, RG-59, RG-11, P3 Hardline, Twin-Lead, Crimping - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-26, 01:52 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal (DDO);SBGH Gen1;GH6;Hentenna;Tivax STB-T8 Conv
Posts: 51
RG-6 Quad

Quote:
Where did you see Quad shield Rg-6 cable?
The RG-6 quad was at Access Electronique at 43-b Brunswick Blvd, DDO. It was $9.99/100 ft with "Philips" clearly stamped on the cable. I went back to-day and the Philips cable was gone from the bin and replaced with a no-name RG-6U for the same price - could have all been sold because there were only about 5 or 6 rolls in the bin.

I checked at the back where the large cable rolls are kept and, hanging on a hook were 79' lengths of RG-6U Quad Shield clearly stamped on it along with "swept to 3000 Mhz". The price was 40 cents/ft.

Maybe just as well - "Tri-shield" seemss like it is better cable if you are looking for lower loss, according to hoopitup2000 but, I didn't see any on display.

sparky mtl
sparky mtl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-26, 02:16 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Quote:
The RG-6 quad was at Access Electronique at 43-b Brunswick Blvd, DDO. It was $9.99/100 ft with "Philips" clearly stamped on the cable.
Heh, the Phillips Quad Shield sold at Walmart has "3 times the speed of regular RG-6" advertized on the package. When you do the calculation, thats about twice the speed of light !!!!

My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
post #63 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-26, 02:51 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chantilly, Virginia
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky mtl View Post
Maybe just as well - "Tri-shield" seemss like it is better cable if you are looking for lower loss, according to hoopitup2000 but, I didn't see any on display.

sparky mtl
I use Carol Cable tri-shield RG-6 from Home Depot. It was .18 per foot about a year ago (~18.00 for 100 feet). It provides excellent results. Using a 91-XG (un-amplified), & 75 feet of cable, I receive 37 analog & digital UHF stations, 24/7.(Not counting digital sub-channels)
hoopitup2000 is offline  
 
post #64 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-26, 04:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beloeil
Posts: 616
60 % braid and 90 % braid

At Addison they have the following coax:

What about Rg-6 60 % braid and 90 % braid, what are the benefits for OTA applications?


Thanks,
intravino is offline  
post #65 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-26, 04:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Quote:
use Carol Cable tri-shield RG-6 from Home Depot. It was .18 per foot about a year ago (~18.00 for 100 feet). It provides excellent results.
Yeah, I got that too about a year ago, and it worked great so far. It has since gone up to $.20 or .22 or .24 per foot the last time I looked. But I think it may go down. Home Depot is cutting their prices faster than Lowes. Im waiting for the price of cheap roofing shingles to go down to redo the garage roof. In January of 2008 it was like $14.50 (still high) a bundle (need 3 bundles for a square). Then around April 2008, it went up to $23.50 a bundle. That price IMO cannot be sustained. What happened ? Did we run out of tar and stones ??? heh.

My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
post #66 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-26, 04:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Quote:
what are the benefits for OTA applications?
Basically none, unless you are in a high electrical RF noise situation. Then use the Quad Shield.

My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
post #67 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-26, 06:20 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North York
Posts: 226
Question Flat "Ribbon" Coaxial Cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 300ohm View Post
Yeah, Radio Shack sells a short flat 75ohm cable section that should work to get the cable and antenna outside without drilling holes. There is of course some loss associated with more connections.
I have tried numerous places to get flat cable but no luck thus far including "The Source" aka RadioShack. FWIW my cable run is around 10-12m. I tried some time ago placing my PC right next to the window thus cutting the run length to less than 1m but the channel list is EXACTLY the same.

Last edited by stampeder; 2009-03-30 at 01:05 PM.
peekaboo is offline  
post #68 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-26, 06:53 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Quote:
but no luck thus far including "The Source" aka RadioShack
Do they have a Canadian website ? Maybe its special order in Canada.

My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
post #69 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-26, 09:51 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Craig Henry (Greenbank/Hunt Club), Nepean, ON
Posts: 3,159
Quote:
Do they have a Canadian website ? Maybe its special order in Canada.
The "Source by Circuit City" and Radio Shack are not related -- Circuit City bought the Canadian company that ran Radio Shack a while ago.

As part of the Circuit City restructuring, Bell Canada has agreed to buy The Source later this year. (This is ostensibiliy to get the Rogers Wireless exclusive contract out of the Source stores, and Bell Wireless put in instead.)
tvlurker is online now  
post #70 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-28, 07:58 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Port Robinson ON
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by peekaboo View Post
I have tried numerous places to get flat cable but no luck thus far including "The Source" aka RadioShack. FWIW my cable run is around 10-12m. I tried some time ago placing my PC right next to the window thus cutting the run length to less than 1m but the channel list is EXACTLY the same.
You can get the flat cord at Homedepot. I bought mine there
ManBOOYA is offline  
post #71 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-28, 09:59 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Quote:
can get the flat cord at Homedepot
Now that you mention it, I do recall the short flat coax cable at my Home Depot about a year ago. But I havent seen it there for the past few months. It could be a store to store stocking thing.

My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
post #72 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-30, 10:14 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North York
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManBOOYA View Post
You can get the flat cord at Homedepot. I bought mine there
I'll look into that. Thx
peekaboo is offline  
post #73 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-30, 11:46 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oak Ridges, On
Posts: 405
Flat coax at Home Depot

I was at the Home Depot in Aurora (Ontario) yesterday. They have "flat" coax that is 1/8" thick by about 1/4" wide (rectangular cross-section). The 7ft cable is 19.99, and they also had an 11 ft cable, and possibly a longer one.

Not sure if the Radio Shack coax is any thinner.
DdDave is offline  
post #74 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-30, 12:31 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware on the flat side
Posts: 7,360
Quote:
The 7ft cable is 19.99, and they also had an 11 ft cable, and possibly a longer one.
Wow, that is pretty long for flat cable. The Rat Shack one is only about a foot.

My builds/plans (not the latest models) are located here.
300ohm is offline  
post #75 of 694 (permalink) Old 2009-03-30, 12:36 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
I'm thinking its probably (?) braided-core too. If so, cutting or crimping it any shorter would be a real hassle without tinning the ends with a soldering gun.

For some uses it would be great though.
stampeder is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome