Can I use a fax machine with a VOIP phone? - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 40 (permalink) Old 2014-12-15, 01:16 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Voip.ms faxing success. I used Epson Artisan 810 connected to Cisco SPA122 behind the router, on a voip.ms value line. The only configuration change I made in the ATA was: Fax Disable ECAN from "no" to "yes". All other settings unchanged. I called Canon Test Fax Service at 1-855-392-2666. The transmission was smooth send and receive. The Epson displayed communication error message on receive, but the Canon test page came in 100% perfect.
I will be using Epson only to send occasional faxes, not to receive.
ogorek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 (permalink) Old 2014-12-15, 08:25 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Longueuil
Posts: 832
This may have been said in the previous three pages but I've successfully faxed countless pages using a Canon M5770 multifunction device over... MagicJack.

Going nowhere @ 220 ft
John Koenig is offline  
post #33 of 40 (permalink) Old 2015-08-19, 05:05 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Port Stanley, ON
Posts: 365
Faxing with VOIPms - no go

Teksavvy 30/5 plan, OBIHAI 202 and VOIPms.

Faxing with a Xerox Workcentre 3315 and have less than a 40 percent success rate. It appears that the delay is just too great for this to work.

Should also point out that the fax machine is on a separate dedicated SIP (sub account) on port 2 of the OBI.

Any suggestions?

Delhi SFA 1483, Antennacraft Suburban VHF, CM7778
Gentleman is offline  
 
post #34 of 40 (permalink) Old 2015-08-19, 05:08 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
Look in the admin guide http://www.obihai.com/OBiAdminGuide.htm for how to set up a star code for $NOJI1 and $NOEC1. This might help for sending faxes, but not receiving. Also, lower the speed of your fax to 9600. If faxing is important to you, try VoIP.ms's beta online fax service or FreePhoneLine which supports T.38 (but has no technical support).

For a supported solution, AcroVoice has a non-beta online fax service, and their phone service supports T.38 which should ensure reliable faxing.
Mango is offline  
post #35 of 40 (permalink) Old 2016-07-19, 09:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Possibly the answer is no. FAX was actually designed for analog network and cannot travel on VoIP network. Both are incompatible and the biggest challenge is the way VoIP signal coverts audio into computer language, it distorts the signals from fax and it can't be understood on the other hand. VoIP service provider to have this problem resolved.
Voilla is offline  
post #36 of 40 (permalink) Old 2016-07-19, 09:57 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto Downtown, Bell VDSL Fibe
Posts: 246
A virtual fax service, such as MyFax, would provide a workaround.

Former Rogers VIP, now Bell Fibe, Sony KDL40W3000, BDPS350, Philips Streamium NP2500 (2). DS209 NAS, Playbook
Norman_C is offline  
post #37 of 40 (permalink) Old 2016-07-19, 03:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,382
Quote:
FAX was actually designed for analog network and cannot travel on VoIP network
That is incorrect. A properly operating VoIP link is indistinguishable from a regular TDM digital voice channel. However, the question remains whether you get good enough VoIP over the public Internet. I have set up FAX over VoIP, a few times, and it worked well. There is even a FAX CODEC that's designed to work over VoIP

BTW, there hasn't even been a true analog network for many years. A regular POTS line is analog only as far as the exchange. It's G.711 digital elsewhere, unless someone runs a lower bandwidth CODEC to save costs.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #38 of 40 (permalink) Old 2016-07-19, 04:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,649
I do not use it often but have had great success with voip.ms and obihai. Faxing worked fine for me.
gzink is online now  
post #39 of 40 (permalink) Old 2016-07-20, 05:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Yes, It is correct because FAX communication uses the analog signal in a different way to regular voice communication. When VoIP technology digitize the analog voice communication, it is optimized for voice not for Fax signaling. Best way to use FAX machine with VoIP phone is to use VOIP gateway and connect it with ATA i.e Analog Telephony Adapter that supports T38.

However you can get this issue resolved via contacting VoIP service provider as well. He will guide you well to make FAX machine works well with VoIP phone system.
Voilla is offline  
post #40 of 40 (permalink) Old 2016-07-20, 04:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,382
^^^^
That depends on the CODEC used. Cell phone CODECs, designed to minimize bandwidth are strictly voice only. However, the G.711 CODEC, as often used for VoIP, is the exact same CODEC used for the full 64 Kb digital voice channel. As I mentioned, I have set up FAX over VoIP. That said, there may be issues with using it over the public Internet, due to latency etc..



BTW, you're talking to someone who's worked in the telecom industry for many, many years and first came across digital voice carriers in 1975.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome