looking for voip provider - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-15, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Exclamation looking for voip provider

Hi all,

Looking for a voip provider with minimum frills and features (VM, call display and call wait) and cheap monthly costs.

The big problem I'm running into is number porting. Live in Alberta with a number exchange not supported by many providers 780-922-XXXX

Yes I need to keep this number.

I would like the provider to allow BYOD if possible, but not a deal breaker.

Looked into alot providers but most wont port my number.

PhonePower will port my number but on the fence with that company and question how they price their service. With all the service fees and the exchange rate to USD it still pricey IMHO. I will not use most of the features they offer/.

Anyone have any recommendations?
Nexus77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-16, 08:48 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 189
I looked at all kinds of systems/options and ended up biting the bullet and buying an Ooma box. If you don't want US long distance just unlimited Canada wide calling, in Ontario it's under $4/month.. taxes and fees
I've been impressed with quality for the last few months.
pinto is offline  
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-16, 12:34 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 12,064
Nexus77, here are a couple of threads by someone that just went through the same process:

Obi110 - PhonePower or Anveo sign up? Porting Questions

Phone Power Experience (First two Weeks)
Dr.Dave is offline  
 
post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-16, 01:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Disclaimer - I work for a company that sells VoIP Services

Hi Nexus77 - I saw a link to this post on a twitter account - and thought I would throw in my 2 cents.

As far as whether a VoIP Provider can accept a transfer of your phone number should strictly come down to your current service provider, and whether or not they will allow THEIR number to be transferred to a different provider (some existing providers are very stingy on this, and will not let their numbers go) - the best thing you can do is to contact your existing carrier, and find out if you're allowed to transfer our your specific number - if they say no, there isn't anything any provider will be able to do (as far as I know).

Now - with that said - I talked to our people here, and we can take any number in the US/Canada, as long as the existing provider allows it to transfer - the transfer process requires a form and, yes, your latest phone bill.

Just here to help!

R.J.

Last edited by 57; 2014-07-16 at 02:24 PM. Reason: Edited.
rjgazarek is offline  
post #5 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-16, 02:28 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,167
Be careful when contacting your existing provider regarding porting - you may lose your number if you say the wrong thing. It's discussed in the following thread:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...61#post1478061 There's also a link to the regs there.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-16, 03:04 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Thanks for all the replies.

I checked with ooma before and they said they cant port my number.

I don't want to raise any flags with my current provider on porting my number out. I know others in my are who have ported numbers to MCSnet in the area.
(MCSnet is still too pricey for me to transfer to them)


DR.Dave - I did do a search and replied to Shawguy's post asking for an update with PP after a month service, thanks again for the links
Nexus77 is offline  
post #7 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-16, 07:53 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
To Nexus77 - I checked the VoIP service providers that I could think of that are commonly discussed here (other than PhonePower and Ooma which you already checked) - Callcentric, Anveo, VoIP.ms, and AcroVoice. AcroVoice is apparently the only one that can port your number.

To rjgazarek - I'm sorry to disagree with you. Your post is not correct.

1) As per CRTC regulations, a service provider cannot prevent you from porting your number to a new service provider.

2) Whether or not a specific service provider can port a number depends on the carrier(s) that they wholesale services from, and if the carrier has "presence" in that number's rate centre (geographic area). In other words, it depends on the winning carrier, not the losing one.

3) You should not contact your existing service provider to advise them that you want to port your number.

4) I highly doubt your company can port any number in the US/Canada. It would not be profitable for you to have access to every single rate centre everywhere.
CodyG102 likes this.
Mango is offline  
post #8 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-16, 08:10 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 189
Ooma uses Distributel for porting in Ontario. Can't speak for where you are.
pinto is offline  
post #9 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-16, 08:12 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
Interesting - Distributel is the only VoIP wholesaler I see that has presence there, yet Ooma's tool says they can't port it.
Mango is offline  
post #10 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-16, 11:32 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Thanks again for the replies.

Mango- contacted ooma again and asked them to check my number and confirm LNP peeps that my number cant be ported... again the answer was no sorry not at this time. something about rate center and my area.

Sent AcroVoice an email and like what I see thus far. not alot of features for 10.95 cnd but I'm okay with that. they have the basic that I need/want. Looking at the website no BYOD but sent email to confirm and confirm number can be ported.

Anyone have any reviews?

Thanks again to all who took the time to post and reply
Nexus77 is offline  
post #11 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-16, 11:51 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
We used AcroVoice's business services at my former job and I also use them at home. I'd rate them five stars. If you have any questions about them that I could answer, do let me know.
Mango is offline  
post #12 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-17, 12:13 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
I don't want to turn this into a Acrovoice thread, but a few questions all based off the 10.95 just-a-phone plan

-does it support fax
-does it support BYOD
-what does the 350 min per month include (what calling area)?
-indicates no long distance charges within Canada, this mean up to 350 min/month for calls within Canada?
-have you experienced any server downtime?
Nexus77 is offline  
post #13 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-17, 04:07 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjgazarek View Post
Disclaimer - I work for a company that sells VoIP Services

As far as whether a VoIP Provider can accept a transfer of your phone number should strictly come down to your current service provider, and whether or not they will allow THEIR number to be transferred to a different provider (some existing providers are very stingy on this, and will not let their numbers go) -
Not true as I was able to port my number to Speakout/Rogers mobile but not to voip.ms . As I understand it voip services do not have every number available. It depends on who they work with.

Oops I see Mango, the undisputed expert already said this more eloquently!

Depends what you need to retain the number for. We ported to a Speakout/Rogers and recorded a message stating our new toll-free number with voip.ms and most were able to comprehend.
gzink is offline  
post #14 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-17, 10:12 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus77 View Post
a few questions
-does it support BYOD
They offer BYOD for a few select ATAs. I would let them know which one you have and ask if yours is supported. They will lock the ATA to their service, but a simple factory reset can unlock it in the unlikely event that you decide to cancel.

-does it support fax
Yes, if you buy your hardware from them or use an ATA that supports T.38. If you want to BYOD, be sure to mention you're interested in fax to verify your ATA is compatible.

-what does the 350 min per month include (what calling area)?
-indicates no long distance charges within Canada, this mean up to 350 min/month for calls within Canada?

The 350 minutes/month covers Canada and the USA, and a selection of international destinations that have rates similar to domestic calls.

-have you experienced any server downtime?
I recall one issue caused by a carrier outage a few years ago that resulted in about two hours' downtime for incoming calls only. I haven't experienced any downtime with AcroVoice's equipment. You may be interested to know that AcroVoice has switches in both British Columbia and Quebec. If any hardware or network issue arises with the equipment in one facility, the other should remain online and working.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gzink View Post
Mango, the undisputed expert
Flatterer!
Mango is offline  
post #15 of 47 (permalink) Old 2014-07-17, 10:21 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Quebec
Posts: 245
I also had problems with porting existing number.I went with Fongo because they seem to port without problems
Voodoocobra is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome