Which IP Phone are you using and why? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 2011-04-20, 06:12 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Which IP Phone are you using and why?

Now that I have been using VoIP.ms for sometime, I'm interested in getting an IP phone.

I'm interested in knowing what IP phones members are using with their VoIP provider and why.

Thanks in advance

P.S. Let's keep this discussion on residential use.
hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 2011-04-20, 07:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 3,022
I've used the Aastra 9112i (now discontinued), the Aastra 9480i and the Snom M9 DECT cordless.

By far, my favourite is the Aastra 9112i...it's carrier grade, solid as a rock and easy to use. The 9480i shares all the same attributes, but as a 4-line business phone, it's inherently more complicated a and cumbersome. It also doesn't require POE (AC adaptor instead), so I don't need to put costly injectors in my structured cabling system.

I will not be purchasing any more Snom phones...the recommended FW upgrade bricked my phone and it took tech support three days to send me an old FW file. Besides that, they are extremely light and don't have the sturdy feel that I like.

Im going to bench some Grandstream units next to see how they might fit in at the low end of the market. I'm also considering Cisco, but they usually require POE, so I might pass.
99semaj is offline  
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 2011-04-20, 09:14 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Gigaset S675IP

Using the Gigaset S675IP because it is wireless using DECT and combines a POTS line with 2 VoIP lines. We also got an extra handset (it will allow up to 6 per base).

Since we had to keep the normal line for the alarm this automatically routes local calls, 911 and 800 calls to the POTS line and everything else to the VoIP provider. No re-wiring necessary.
notsure is offline  
 
post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 2011-04-21, 12:18 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
I use a Cisco SPA-921. The reason why I bought it is because it looked like the phones Jack Bauer used in "24". Was that a bad reason to make a purchasing decision? Yes it was, and I'm especially irritated with myself because I rarely succumb to such advertising. It's an adequate phone with decent audio quality, but other products have more/better features (better failover options, XML browser, backlight, G.722) for a similar or even better price.

I've extensively read documentation for Aastra's IP phones and have been very impressed. They're even a Canadian company. I believe AV Trev is an Aastra dealer. If you have any questions that we can't answer I could ask him to stop by this thread.

m.
Mango is offline  
post #5 of 41 (permalink) Old 2011-05-11, 04:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 23
Currently i am using the following.

Polycom Soundpoint IP 550.

I love it. It sounds great. The speaker phone is amazing. But it was expensive so i don't think i will be buying more.
lcdguy is offline  
post #6 of 41 (permalink) Old 2011-05-15, 11:14 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gatineau, QC
Posts: 1,332
I currently use the SPA942 phones along with 2 SPA504G phones made by Linksys/Cisco. I find they work well, but I haven't investigated any others. Like Mango mentioned there's no failover settings. I haven't had any big issues with them. Audio is clear. I learned to provision the ones I had in a remote location. That's a cool feature. I'm not sure if all IP phones can be provisioned from remote.
FunkyTown is offline  
post #7 of 41 (permalink) Old 2011-05-18, 12:48 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 322
I use 2 Polycom IP650s and a Polycom IP6000, along with a Linksys ATA box, all registered with voip.ms. I connect a DECT 6.0 wireless base to the ATA, and that also gives me 4 wireless phones too.
TechieFreak is offline  
post #8 of 41 (permalink) Old 2011-06-10, 02:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 23
i have also added 4 polycom soundpoint 321 phones. They are also awesome and very cost effective ($78 without ac adapter)
lcdguy is offline  
post #9 of 41 (permalink) Old 2011-09-22, 07:15 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 338
Does the Samsung Gio Android cell phone with SipDroid application, qualify as an IP Phone?

Why: Wireless with WiFI and 3G. It also looks good.
DanTou is offline  
post #10 of 41 (permalink) Old 2011-09-22, 11:16 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
for the purpose of this discussion, No it does not.

technically, every Smartphone is an IP phone when you have a VoIP app installed.

This thread is about landbased IP phones used in homes or small offices hence my "residential" ps in post #1.
hugh is offline  
post #11 of 41 (permalink) Old 2012-05-20, 11:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Polycom 335

I recently got 2 Polycom 335 and I also have an PAP2T-NA for regular phones. All setup with VOIP.MS

The Polycom phones are nice and fairly simple to setup. I had some assistance and encouragement from a nice member on here...

Thank you TechieFreak!
Neurodog is offline  
post #12 of 41 (permalink) Old 2012-05-21, 09:37 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
I went with Cisco SPA504G and am quite happy with it. I ended buying a POE Ethernet switch too which cuts out a power adaptor. I have upgraded with the latest firmware.

Only complaints: Phone cord should be longer and although it's a four line phone, I've only been able to get two lines going. I'm sure its a configuration issue but I haven't figured it out since I only need two lines at this time.
hugh is offline  
post #13 of 41 (permalink) Old 2012-10-11, 06:47 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 142
Hi there, I am using Aastra 480i x 4 phones. Satisfied with them. I would like to have a Bluetooth wireless adapter for my phone but they told me that lifter doesn't fit.
At one time I bought 2 Polycom 650 IP phones one after another. Just beautiful looking, loaded with all kinds of features. Both failed within minutes after install. They told me that I have to run specially configured PC on the same network and run specific software where to Polycom phone will look at, save configurations and something in that respect. For life of me I could not install all the firmware updates and configurations so I returned both phones back and got refund.
ZackP is offline  
post #14 of 41 (permalink) Old 2012-10-28, 03:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
IP phones for the family

My residential use case requires the ability to walk away with the phone form noisy kids and for privacy to various areas of the house.

Most of the IP phones mentioned so far seem to be business phones. Just about all the phones sold at major Canadian electronics stores are business phones. What are some ideas on IP phones for the family?

What about something like the Unidata WPU-7800?

Currently I’m using the IPad with 3CX softphone and an Android (entry level) with integrated CSipsimple. The voice quality was much better on the IPad, but after enabling GSM codec on Voip.ms and in CSipsimple things have improved with the Android. I also have X-Lite softphone on the Laptop. All devices ring when we receive a call.

I’m happy with the softphone setup but I’m being told we need something that looks like real phone, like with buttons, for when grandma visits. The kids learned how to use the Ipad and don’t remember what a real phone looks like, but apparently, in an emergency the IPad might be hidden under the couch and be hard to find, and the smartphone might be in the purses with dead batteries.

Last edited by titicaca; 2012-10-28 at 03:38 PM.
titicaca is offline  
post #15 of 41 (permalink) Old 2012-10-28, 10:28 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,977
I'm glad that I've come across this thread. I've been using an ATA up until now, but I'm considering a SIP-enabled wireless VOIP phone for the home.

DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
Reply

Tags
ip phone

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome