VoIP.ms: Basic How-to Setup - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-09-29, 04:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKS View Post
Hi
I know this may be a simple question, but I'm having trouble getting a definitive answer.
If i use VOIP MS and get, for example, a Cisco Linksys PAP2T, can i then just plug my existing home phones into the PAP2T?
I have a regular Panasonic Dect 6.0. It has a base that plugs into a pots wall jack, with 5 other wireless phones throughout the house.
Will the functionality be the same as it is with pots?
IE: If someone dieals the VOIP MS number it will ring on all devices?
Any of the 6 phones can dial out?

AKS
Yes. That's exactly what I have except my phones are VTech. There is a bit to learn and you would probably have a system a little less reliable that what you had (with the emphasis on "a little"). About once a year or so, I have to reboot my router or PAP2T to get it working again.

On the other hand, you should get extra features that you didn't have before like having your voicemails emailed to you.

Phil
Phils is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-09-29, 07:02 PM
AKS
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oakville
Posts: 31
Thanks Phils
Any comments on the Cisco Linksys PAP2T?
If there is a better device, I don't mind spending the money.

This is all coming about because I'm going crazy with all the damn marketing calls and scams.
I read on DSL reports that you can use VOIP MS as a way of eliminating these calls.
The idea being, you direct incoming calls to an answering service.
It has a "white list" for numbers you know are good (family). If the incoming call matches the white list, the call is put through.
Any number not matching the list goes to a prompt. Press "1" to have the call go forward or it's automatically disconnected.
Anyone else do this?
AKS is offline  
post #33 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-09-29, 10:28 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKS View Post
If i use VOIP MS and get, for example, a Cisco Linksys PAP2T, can i then just plug my existing home phones into the PAP2T?
I have a regular Panasonic Dect 6.0. It has a base that plugs into a pots wall jack, with 5 other wireless phones throughout the house.
Yes indeed - in fact connecting a base station to a VoIP ATA is the easiest way to do things. You can also connect your ATA to your household wiring - but that requires messing about with the demarc to disconnect your POTS line. Since you already have a DECT system, by all means use that.

The PAP2T has been EOL'd for quite some time. The latest version of the PAP/SPA devices are made by Obihai. The OBi100 or OBi200 (whichever you can get cheaper) should be perfect for use with your DECT system.

m.
Mango is offline  
 
post #34 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 04:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Currently I am using voip.ms and knock on wood so far the service is excellent. I have cable internet 20/10 connection. I am using Cisco SPA122 in bridge mode connected behind the router. I have two voip services, Voip.ms for US and Canada and Callcentric outbound only, for Europe. On the router I forwarded the ports used by voip services. For Callcentric I connected dedicated Panasonic cordless phone. To voip.ms port I connected the entire house wiring.
If you want to port your number to voip.ms do it as per there instructions. DO NOT call Bell in advance. Porting takes a week.
Voip.ms has many servers. It is not true that closes is better. Ping and tracert few and see which one has the best ping and fewest hops. I am in Montreal. For me Toronto, not Montreal server works best.
ogorek is offline  
post #35 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 04:36 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
Port forwarding is a security risk. Have you verified that it is absolutely necessary?

And if so, did you remember to set your SIP Ports to a high number between 20000 and 65535?
Mango is offline  
post #36 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 06:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
I could turn it off and see if I will have the same quality with no issues. I used ARP binding on IP address and mac address of ATA. The ports are forwarded only for ATA.
I followed a setup guide from wiki.voip.ms and http://blog.voipdiy.com/2013/02/conf...with.html#more
ogorek is offline  
post #37 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 06:48 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
Every technical article I have read on that site has at least one error. Its author has no idea what he is talking about.
Mango is offline  
post #38 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 07:15 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Those are not technical articles, but loose discussion. Most people here are not experts. The reader is encouraged to read through several posts and makeup his mind.
You have to understand that people come here from different backgrounds and with different knowledge and budgets.
Currently I have a crappy router, but I have what I have and I have to make it work. Perhaps it is not ideal, but it is what it is.
I have read your blog on restricted cone NAT router, and perhaps your right. More reading is needed. If you are more experienced on the subject than educate us, but don't knock us down.
ogorek is offline  
post #39 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 07:17 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
Are you the author of http://blog.voipdiy.com/?
Mango is offline  
post #40 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 07:21 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Is this what you were talking about. No I'm not, I just followed his advice.
I thought you were knocking my posts.
Being new to VOIP I take peaces of information wherever I can, and post what works for me.
ogorek is offline  
post #41 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 07:31 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
Not at all. I apologize if it sounded that way.

I don't agree with his recommendation of port forwarding, unless things won't work any other way. SIP scanners are extremely prevalent - operated by hackers looking for unsecured VoIP equipment they can use for personal gain or criminal activity. If your VoIP equipment rejects such calls you may never know you're getting scanned. The attacker however does know your equipment is there, and will keep attempting to crack it for an indeterminate amount of time. If on the other hand your equipment is behind a "restricted cone NAT" router with no port forwarding or DMZ, there will be no indication that your VoIP hardware even exists. I would never say that something is completely "unhackable", but that would be as close to unhackable as you could get.

If a user's router is such that port forwarding is absolutely necessary, then a high SIP port (X_UserAgentPort if you use an OBi ATA) between 20000 and 65535 should be used. Most SIP scanners scan around port 5060. While using a high SIP port does not make you invulnerable to the scanners, it makes it less likely they will find you.

If you do remove your port forwarding, the primary issue to watch for is that you're still able to receive incoming calls. Whether or not the SIP port is forwarded will not affect, for example, audio quality.
Mango is offline  
post #42 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 08:10 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
I have SIP port on line 1 set at 5060 and line 2 set at 5061. If I turn off virtual server for port 5060 on the router, I can not call in.
On ATA I have Restrict Source IP turned on for both lines. From the documentation: "Restrict Source IP : Permit/prohibit the SPA device from accepting SIP packets from anywhere other than the registered SIP proxy."
From the above statement is the device restricted to only the voip service provider?
Also in the ATA device I have EXT SIP Port field. From the documentation:
"EXT SIP Port : If you want or know the specific UDP port you want the SPA to advertise as the public address port, then fill in the value in this field."
I think this is equivalent to your X_UserAgentPort. So in this field should I put in any number between 20000 and 65535?
As for the router I think it's time to look for a new one. Any suggestions for a reliable budget router?
ogorek is offline  
post #43 of 43 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 08:57 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 867
I am not clear on what EXT SIP Port is for, and the administration guide unhelpfully describes it as "The external SIP port number". I have never needed to use this configuration option.

In any case, you can change the SIP port from its current 5060/5061 to a random number between 20000 and 65535. Since your router requires the virtual server to be set up, you would need to update this with the new port number you choose.

If you do decide to get a new router, I recommend anything you can install Tomato firmware on. Tomato is an excellent firmware that performs particularly well with VoIP. I've been using Asus hardware (specifically the RT-N16) for several years now and am pleased with it - but there are many brands that are compatible.
Mango is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome