Can I tether NEW iPad to iPhone 3GS? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-05-27, 09:44 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 54
Can I tether NEW iPad to iPhone 3GS?

I currently have an iPhone 3GS and an iPad 2 wi-fi. I am able to tether my iPad 2 to my phone whenever wifi is not available.

I'm thinking of buying the new iPad (wi-fi only), can I do the same with this model?

Thanks in advance.
MrBizi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-05-27, 02:53 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 3,703
Yes you can. There isn't really a difference between the Wi-Fi radios on the iPad 2 and the new iPad.
BGY11 is online now  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-05-27, 09:35 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 54
Thanks bgy11....off to buy a new iPad...
MrBizi is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-05-31, 10:12 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Richmond Hill ON/NY NY
Posts: 1,088
Does it use a lot of data when you tether? Ive got an iPhone 4 and new iPad. I am allowed 1GB per month.
Doug30 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-05-31, 11:16 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug30 View Post
Does it use a lot of data when you tether? Ive got an iPhone 4 and new iPad. I am allowed 1GB per month.
I'd be careful with a 1GB data plan. Check to see how much you regularly use on just your iPhone right now before you start tethering. If you're watching video online, be extra careful.

Panasonic TH-42PE7U plasma, Toshiba HD-D3, PS3, Shaw DCX3400, Yamaha HTR-6160, Polk 6.1, Belkin PF30, Harmony 700
cooper83 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-06-01, 03:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Richmond Hill ON/NY NY
Posts: 1,088
OK thanks Coop
Doug30 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2012-06-08, 08:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug30 View Post
Does it use a lot of data when you tether? Ive got an iPhone 4 and new iPad. I am allowed 1GB per month.
I'm with Rogers, they send me a text message when I've used up 80% of my data plan.

If you're just surfing the web it doesn't use much.
MrBizi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome