Adding a SATA Drive To Pace HDPVRs. - Page 18 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #256 of 293 (permalink) Old 2011-06-18, 03:04 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 50
parental lock options?

I have a problem. Shaw is taking back the pace box that Im renting from them when I get my new portal system. Is there anyway to transfer the shows that I havent watched to an external sata drive, and somehow save it in another pvr?
jay84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #257 of 293 (permalink) Old 2011-06-18, 03:31 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
In one word; Nope.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is online now  
post #258 of 293 (permalink) Old 2011-08-03, 04:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,267
Can the internal drive be replaced with a 1TB drive in a Pace 775D (Tahoe) PVR?
jumpy27 is offline  
post #259 of 293 (permalink) Old 2011-08-04, 12:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Is content recorded on the Pace PVR Macrovisioned?

Aside from the data format of the programs on the hard drive, is there Macrovison as I hear Bell PVRs have?
Husky Doo is offline  
post #260 of 293 (permalink) Old 2011-08-04, 12:47 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,331
Macrovision is used on VHS tapes. There is no Macrovision on hard drives, however, the information on all service provider PVRs is encrypted, if that's the word you're looking for.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #261 of 293 (permalink) Old 2011-08-05, 01:02 AM
tux
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1,075
Macrovision is (was) also the name of the company that created that technology. They also product digital copy-protection [including SafeDisc] and digital content-protection for DVDs, set-top boxes, and other media; and they also make the i-Guide included in Shaw's set-top boxes. In 2009, they changed their name to Rovi.

So yes, Shaw set-top boxes have Macrovision technology, and I am almost certain that includes Macrovision copy-protection mechanisms
tux is offline  
post #262 of 293 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 06:29 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 50
How many different external drives can be associated with the PVR? I am using my own drive enclosures to install the drives.
If say, the drive is full, and I just disconnect the first drive and install another new drive. Then if I reconnect the first drive to the PVR, will I be able to access the programs recorded on the first drive?
alejandra is offline  
post #263 of 293 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 12:58 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 92
alejandra, for the Pace Summit, I don't think there are any limits. All the info is saved on the external drive itself. I've used about 4 drives and haven't had any problems viewing recordings on any of them.
accord1999 is offline  
post #264 of 293 (permalink) Old 2012-03-22, 05:05 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Posts: 1,331
I just connected my pvr expander while the shaw box was powered off. I waited a bit. I then turned on my devices via my Harmony One. I never received any message to "format" the drive?

Anything that I did wrong?


Nevermind, all is well BUT how do I get my Harmony One to recognize my box as a PVR with functions?

Optik PVR, Pioneer 1528-K, 58" Panasonic 3D TV, Xbox360, PS3, Panasonic 3D Bluray Player, Definitive Speakers, SVS Sub
stationg is online now  
post #265 of 293 (permalink) Old 2012-03-22, 05:49 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Posts: 1,331
Frustrating. I can't forward/rewind etc. does it take some time before the pvr expander is actually functional???

When I hit LIST it tells me DVR service is unavailable or disabled.

Optik PVR, Pioneer 1528-K, 58" Panasonic 3D TV, Xbox360, PS3, Panasonic 3D Bluray Player, Definitive Speakers, SVS Sub
stationg is online now  
post #266 of 293 (permalink) Old 2012-03-22, 07:16 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Posts: 1,331
wow im having one hell of a time getting the pvr expander to communicate with my shaw box. I have gotten to the "format" screen. I select yes a few different times. My shaw box then shuts off/powers off. I saw a few blinking green lights. But the shaw box stays powered off. I then manually power the shaw box on. I hit list and error message says "dvr service" is not available or disabled.

Talk to online chat and wasnt much help. Called tech but the wait was tooooo long. gave up after 15 minutes.

any thoughts?

Optik PVR, Pioneer 1528-K, 58" Panasonic 3D TV, Xbox360, PS3, Panasonic 3D Bluray Player, Definitive Speakers, SVS Sub
stationg is online now  
post #267 of 293 (permalink) Old 2012-03-22, 08:37 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Posts: 1,331
Ugh I took the pvr expander back to FS, picked up a new one. Installed. I get a green 0 on the front screen and I can't power off.

Optik PVR, Pioneer 1528-K, 58" Panasonic 3D TV, Xbox360, PS3, Panasonic 3D Bluray Player, Definitive Speakers, SVS Sub
stationg is online now  
post #268 of 293 (permalink) Old 2012-03-23, 07:43 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 92
stationg,

try powering off the expander as well as the PVR. Power on the expander first, wait a minute then power on the PVR.

The Format screen is confusing as to which option is actually selected and you may have selected "No". Try the opposite option.
accord1999 is offline  
post #269 of 293 (permalink) Old 2012-03-24, 12:50 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 37
Try a different eSATA cable.

I had TONS of problems until I tried a second cable.
ftaseeker is offline  
post #270 of 293 (permalink) Old 2012-03-24, 03:44 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 78
My Pace Tahoe has stopped recognizing my iOmega eSATA drive. I've had the drive nearly as long as I've had the PVR - about 4 years - and there haven't been many problems until now. I did the whole disconnect/reconnect procedure and the Pace still fails to recognise it. The light on the drive is on but it doesn't seem to be seen. I have checked the diagnostic menus as well.

We had a power outage here earlier this week and I'm wondering if that could have caused a problem with the drive, or with the Tahoe? The thing is that this isn't the first time that we've had a power outage here and the previous time was longer. Is it possible that the hard drive on the iOmega had crapped out but the indicator light still lights? Or is it something else.

(And before someone suggests getting a more modern PVR, I can't really afford it.)
Brent McKee is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome