Shaw DCT6412 Information / Questions / Problems - Page 73 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1081 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-03-29, 01:35 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
I would recommend the Motorola over the Pace.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 09:30 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Having trouble finding this information - if I follow the reset instructions found here for my 6416 iii, will it mark bad sectors and that sort of thing? I'm getting a lot of glitch recordings lately where the DVR won't replay past a certain point, or sometimes it will get through a bad point on fast forward but not on play. I'm assuming there are some damaged sectors on the disk as when I don't delete a few bad recordings future ones are mostly OK.
Joe Dwarf is offline  
post #1083 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 09:34 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 931
No. All those do is reset the or reformat the HDD. If you're unit is under warranty you should contact Shaw. If not, then you have a variety of options...
loracweb is offline  
post #1084 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 09:43 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks for the quick reply. My options as far as I understand it:

- buy an external HD, leave all the recordings currently on the DVR there and it should put anything new to the new drive
- buy the external drive and after formatting it transfer it to be the internal drive. Unclear if I can do this with a 1 TB drive
- buy a new unit but it seems like the newer stuff is even glitchier than the Motorola

Anything I'm missing or wrong about?
Joe Dwarf is offline  
post #1085 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-07-29, 04:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Hi,
I have a DCT6416 III that has a fan that sounds like it has a split personality. One minute is spinning and then the next it is hyper speed! Even at regular speed it is quite loud.

1. Is there a way to quiet the fan down?

2. Why does it fluctuate so much?

3. Is it worth replacing the fan?

I bought this second hand and don't know if it is under warranty (I'm am very doubtful that it is)

4. Also, is there any benefit to "registering" this unit with Shaw?? (not sure I can be bothered to sit on hold)

Hooked it up and it was up and running no worries.

Cheers
squbbles is offline  
post #1086 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 03:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Either the fan is very dirty with dust, in which case you can try to open up the unit and clean the fan, but you have to be very careful during cleaning because if the fan is "spun" too fast it can cause damage to the fan. The other possibility is that the fan is already damaged, in which case replacement is the only option.

I am not sure what you mean by "registering" the unit with Shaw ... do you mean for them to "activate" it? Because from what I know, the only way for the unit to become functional in your house is to have Shaw "activate" it, otherwise you cannot watch what you have subscribed to, and in many cases you cannot even use the PVR functions of the unit unless they activate it. If it works without calling Shaw, then you are probably using the previous owner's account ... once Shaw realizes this (usually within a week) they will deactivate the unit.
Satviewer2000 is offline  
post #1087 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-09-06, 12:23 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 380
I am not sure if it was addressed in this thread. But if you disconnect your PVR and take it to your cabiny, can you watch your pre-recorded shows?
Newb777 is offline  
post #1088 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-09-06, 12:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaw Guru View Post
Service calls are always included at no additional charge for Shaw customers.

With regards to the warranty. Shaw offers a full 3 year warranty from the date of purchase. Should a tech determine the unit is faulty and under warranty he will replace it with a refurbished model and the orignal warranty will transfer over.

For Shaw customers who subscribe to cable, phone & internet Shaw offers an Extended warranty which covers equipment for swap purposes so long as you are a triple play customer. As ytou mention you only have cable and internet so this would not apply but if you did also have phone with Shaw then it would be covered.
If you at any time terminate any of your triple play services, for example disconnect your internet and go with someone else and you end up resubscribing to triple lay at a later date, is your PVR warrantable again?
Newb777 is offline  
post #1089 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-09-06, 12:01 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 654
Quote:
But if you disconnect your PVR and take it to your cabiny, can you watch your pre-recorded shows?
Nope. You must have a connection to Shaw service or the PVR is a paper weight.

When I moved, I was stuck waiting over a long weekend to get my service hooked up. I could not use my PVR at all. Let me tell you, I was pissed off!

Thank goodness I had a PS3/360 and I borrowed a bunch of movies from friends to tide me over. (I like the back ground noise even if I am not watching. I don't feel so alone. *violins*)
GamerGuy is online now  
post #1090 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-10-15, 04:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 978
Will we ever see a firmware update pushed to the DCT6412III box for MPEG4 support or is it a hardware limitation?

I'd rather not have to toss away a $700 cable box, and frankly the oddly sized new boxes look out of place on my equipment rack.
ssbtech is offline  
post #1091 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-10-15, 04:33 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 931
Hardware. The old dct units can not do mpeg4.
loracweb is offline  
post #1092 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-10-15, 04:38 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,308
Your Analog box has been orphaned.
MPEG4 is a hardware limitation.
You don't have toss the box... you just have to watch the new channels in Standard def.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #1093 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-10-15, 04:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 978
SD, eh? That sort of defeats the purpose

Well if Shaw wants to sell me new channels they'll have to offer me a trade for the box as well. I know it's 7 years old and technology evolves but it's still a little frustrating.
ssbtech is offline  
post #1094 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-10-15, 11:12 PM
tux
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1,180
^^ Good luck on that.

I've been trying forever for Shaw to offer me a trade-in or trade-up on my DCT3080 or DCT3416. The closest I've got was last year, when I had the opportunity to trade either of them for an additional portal, if I purchased a gateway and portal at full price. And that offer is no longer offered. If I wanted to purchase an MPEG4 box from Shaw now, I'd have to pay full price.
tux is offline  
post #1095 of 1104 (permalink) Old 2012-10-24, 07:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mission BC
Posts: 419
I see Shaw still sells these boxes on their site. Seems strange that they would be selling outdated practically obsolete boxes. And it costs more than a DCX3400.

http://www.shaw.ca/television/equipment/hd-pvr-160gb/
buckycat is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome