Watch HD Recordings on Non-HD TV? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-04-12, 09:47 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 17
Watch HD Recordings on Non-HD TV?

Can you hookup a Portal to a non-hd tv and watch HD recordings?
grover11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-04-12, 09:55 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,322
Probably. Here's a link - different provider, but the answer is the same:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...89#post1400589

One person mentioned that you need to set it for 480i, but I don't think that's necessary unless you have component video connections on the TV (pretty rare), as the RF-coax, composite and S-video connections are SD by default.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-04-12, 10:29 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sooke,BC
Posts: 752
I can confirm - yes you can.
dabell is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-04-12, 10:44 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Regina, SK, CA
Posts: 620
Yes, quite true, the SD outputs should, of course, be SD by default.

However, if you do have component video inputs on your TV, you'll get an even better picture. In this case you absolutely must set the video output to 480i.

Also, bear in mind that the recordings will be in 16:9 format (even if they are a 4:3 show, they will be 4:3 with sidebars so 16:9 net). This means you'll have black bars on the top and bottom of the screen so that it properly fits your screen. I didn't mind this, but on a very small SD television it might be somewhat annoying. I personally preferred getting the extra programming width rather than cropping it to fit the screen.
PhotoJim is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-04-12, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 17
Thanks

Thanks for the answers!

This just may help me convince the wife to get on board with upgrading to the Gateway/Portal setup.
grover11 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome