Daylight Saving Time problem? - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 08:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Pace and Motorola

Just a note regarding the post about Pace and Motorola units. I have a Pace unit sitting beside my portal (hooked up-i use it for picture in picture). It has the same time display as my portal.
This says to me that Shaw's "manufactures issue" is as others are saying, BS.
I too am hoping that Shaw gets there act together and makes there product(s) work better before they waste there time and our money on other things. I've had the Gateway system since Nov 2011, and it has improvedd slightly since then, but it does have a long way to go. This time issue is simply an addition to my list of issues that need to be corrected.
Unfortunately, Shaw is the lesser of all evils when it comes to cable. There are only 2 reasons I stay with them; no contracts and tech support actually here in Canada (I'm in Calgary).
Maybe if we all complain loud enough, they will give us all tablets to compensate us, ya right. (I mentioned the tablets as Telus is giving Tablets away to new customers).
Do you think I can blame Shaw for showing up an hour late to work tomorrow?
I should get something out of this

Last edited by 57; 2012-03-11 at 11:49 PM. Reason: Language
silverbackman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 08:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria, B.C.
Posts: 5
Quote:
So everyone that has corrected their time on their gateway is the guide still an hour behind? Or is it now looking correct?
Guide/ Time/ All recording settings are fine after remote reset.
MntalGiant is offline  
post #33 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 09:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
I'm in Edmonton and contacted Shaw on the chat. They also said they are working on a permanent solution and would re-set it for me as a temporary solution.

However, the first time they re-set it, the clock on it was running two minutes fast. I told them to this, so they re-set it a second time and still two minutes fast. This is both on the guide itself and the time on the front of the portal boxes.

So really now I'm in a worse position than before, at least my PVR recordings weren't going to be affected, now everything will be two minutes off until they apply the permanent fix.
mikeyb0101 is offline  
post #34 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 09:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 9
It's broken again....

Hi, from Winnipeg. Well, I should have known it was too good to be true. It's 8 p.m. Central time, and when I went to consult the Guide, I noticed that there was no 8 p.m. slot. It was then I noticed that the clock had reverted back to 7 p.m. - unbelievable! Like so many of you, I have a number of recordings set for tonight as well as throughout the week. All my portals show 7 p.m. Curiously, my spouse had set the "Good Wife" to record for 8 p.m. but the Gateway is recording it now. I just don't have the time to sit on the phone or chat to fix this tonight so we will see what happens overnight.
videopegger is offline  
post #35 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 09:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
My Portal just corrected (minutes ago 7:14). Guide is the correct time too. Future recordings today look like they will be ok. A program that was to record @ 6:00pm looks like it recorded fine.
Funny thing is my Pace unit still reads 6:14pm.
I may try unplugging it to see if it fixes it. I'm not really concerned with it as I don't record anything on it.
My portal is 1 minute behind though, but it was before too (I just adjust my recordings to start and stop early).
Wow, only 14 hours to fix the problem. I'm glad Shaw doesn't build Heart pacemakers
silverbackman is offline  
post #36 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 09:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Beaumont, Alberta
Posts: 13
I just sent sternly written email about lack of proactive customer service and the fact they have made no attempt to respond with any information other than "we are working on it, don't call us we will call you",

I'm sure they will respond quickly
xLuther is offline  
post #37 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 09:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 6
Smile Fixed in Calgary

I just started to read the forum, found this issue. Just as I was reading the prior posts my Gateway updated itself. Looks like Shaw is starting to roll out a fix, well at least in Calgary they are.
dbrooks169 is offline  
post #38 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 09:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Beaumont, Alberta
Posts: 13
Just sitting watching LA / Chicago game ( in Edmonton) and my time corrected, checked my guide and it's fixed as well.

My 1st call was 7:42 this morning, must have been my sternly worded email
xLuther is offline  
post #39 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 10:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 9
Update from Winnipeg

Well, it's 8:55 Central and I just noticed that the Portal had corrected back to the proper time. It's obvious this happened since I last posted. The Guide appears to be correct and I believe this evening's recordings will be OK.
videopegger is offline  
post #40 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 10:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary, AB ShawGateway & 3 Portals, Shaw 1TB Expander, Sony 3D KDL-46HX729, HTSF470, 2 BDPS580
Posts: 165
Yep, my clock fixed itself recently too. A show set to record at 6pm recorded OK.
sailorickm is offline  
post #41 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-11, 10:13 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 47
Just noticed, my time has now self corrected as well.

PANASONIC TC-P65ST30, PIONEER VSX-1020, BDP-330, PD-1007 SHAW GATEWAY, B&W DM601-S3 LCR60S3, SVS PB12 +2 SUB, APC H15
rabbler is offline  
post #42 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-12, 12:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
I've had a very strange experience with this daylight savings issue.

Earlier this afternoon I got Shaw to re-set my gateway, and it set it to the right hour, but it was running two minutes fast.

I called again at 9:30 and they confirmed they were seeing their Gateway running 2 minutes fast as well. It *might* be running fast if you had your Gateway re-set prior to the fix being applied.

Anyways, he re-set my box two more times, and now I'm back to being an hour behind, but the minutes are back in sync ...

So basically I'm back to square one, however he said that the fix should be automatically applied some time ... so we'll see what happens.
mikeyb0101 is offline  
post #43 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-12, 01:54 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
Seems to be fixed for me now in Calgary. I noticed it was correct just after 10pm but I couldn't say just when it changed. Minutes are the same as on my 3400 and the hour is of course correct now. All of my usual recordings were made without any issues before and after the change, based on the earlier reports of when it may have actually changed.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #44 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-12, 02:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 303
Mine has corrected as well, with one exception. It is exactly one minute behind my DCT3416 and the recordings that started this evening started just into the the beginning of the show. not a big deal when said shows have a "previously on" segment but I fear that I will miss something when one starts straight away.
Arcanum is offline  
post #45 of 95 (permalink) Old 2012-03-12, 02:19 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AB. LG47"LE5500/Toshiba 32E200U /BDC6500/ Shaw Gateway
Posts: 941
I woke this morning and my time on the portals were wrong too, the guide data was right time though. It fixed itself late afternoon. I did notice my series recording for a new Walking Dead didn't record as usual and was lucky to catch the repeat an hour later.

Shaw Employee, Opinions are my own unless otherwise stated.
Shaw Champ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome