New Shaw HDPVR Remote - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-06-17, 07:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 110
New Shaw HDPVR Remote

I used to have an older Universal remote and could (re)program individual
keys with a Setup-994 code.

Is this not possible with the new 1056B03 Remote (came with my DCX-3400)?
I'm trying to use it with a Yamaha HTR-6190B receiver - the http://www.urcsupport.com website suggests device code 2061, but that will not allow me to turn ON the receiver, only control it whilst it's on, and turn it off! I know there is a discrete code to do both, but without 994, I can't access it.

Also, does anyone know how to disable the backlight every time you press a key? The manual says about pressing setup twice, but that does nothing.

Can anyone offer advice here...

thanks,
m

Tosh 65HDX82 TV, Motorola DCT2000, DCT5100, DCT6412p2, Shaw Cable Calgary
magic_1994 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-06-17, 08:14 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
What remote did you get with your 3400? Can you post a picture of it because all I got with the four 3400s I bought last year was the Atlas remotes. I don't see any info on Shaw's website for any remotes other than the last two Shaw has had in the past several years. I'd be curious to see what type you got. I'll have to look up the number you posted.

EDIT: Found it on the URC site. Interesting looking unit. For now, if you aren't happy with how it works, you could take it in to a Shaw office and exchange it for a standard Atlas one. I'd hang onto it and just buy another Atlas from Shaw as they are only $15, or they used to be. They have a box full of them for the taking off to the side at the front desk in the Barlow office. There is a second box beside the one marked 'new' that is marked 'used' so I gather the protocol is to 'swap' out a bad one for a good one. Perhaps they have given up on charging for these but I would ask before just taking one if you aren't dropping off a bad one.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-06-17, 08:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
I see there is a list of 19 different codes in the User Manual that is available on the URC site. Have you tried all of those? If you scroll down in the window that showed you the '2061' code, there is a button that says 'show me more' and you can go through all of those until you find one that works. There should have been an instruction manual with the remote and the codes should be there too.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-06-17, 11:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 110
Hi Jetranger,
yeah thanks - I was just at the Barlow/32nd office this aft... saw the big box of "help yourself to a remote"! - all 2nd hand presumably, but who cares too much...

Yeah, this is a brand new remote - still Universal, but for some reason doesn't take kindly to the 994 programming of individual buttons like the old crop used to - minor inconvenience being I actually have to be upstanding to turn on the receiver (or grab the receiver remote!!) - used to be I could program both the ON and OFF functions into the remote

I did try all the numbers, but none of them produced a working ON/OFF toggle for the power - I think these Yamaha receivers are a bit unique in having two separate codes for ON and OFF, and the indicated TOGGLE code never seems to have worked with them - which specific Atlas remotes did you get?

Anybody else figure out how to program individual keys like we used to be able to with the 994 codes???

Tosh 65HDX82 TV, Motorola DCT2000, DCT5100, DCT6412p2, Shaw Cable Calgary
magic_1994 is offline  
post #5 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-06-19, 04:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by magic_1994 View Post
...which specific Atlas remotes did you get? ...
I have the same Atlas that Shaw has been handing out for the last year or so, at least they all look the same to me. They are labeled 11055BA2 on the sticker inside the battery compartment.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #6 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-06-19, 04:18 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
After reading through the manual for this 'new' remote, it seems it is not a 'learning' remote at all. It does seem to offer new Blu-Ray codes that the 'older' remotes have not had but I think I would rather have the ability to learn a function than not have it.

I would just use one of the regular Atlas remotes and program your 'C' key as the Power ON switch for your Yamaha.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #7 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-06-20, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 110
I'll have to swing by the Shaw bldg again and see if they have any of the older remotes... if I'd have known, I could have kept the 2 remotes from my old DCTs I traded in!!

Tosh 65HDX82 TV, Motorola DCT2000, DCT5100, DCT6412p2, Shaw Cable Calgary
magic_1994 is offline  
post #8 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-06-21, 04:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC. Shaw Cable, 42" Samsung DLP, 6416 w/expander & DCX3400
Posts: 1,900
Sorry many reps were not aware the new back lit remote does not have the learning function. If you need this I would recommend picking up a couple of the older remotes before they are no longer available as Shaw does not stock them any longer and all returned ones get scrapped as far as i know.

Designated Shaw Employee representative for Cable & Digital Cable for Digital Home Forums.
Shaw Guru is offline  
post #9 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-06-21, 05:42 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
Wow! This is tragic news. The Atlas was finally a not bad remote and now they are replacing it with one that is worse? What are they thinking? Oh, I forgot, little thought goes into these decisions.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #10 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-06-22, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 110
crazy workaround... since I'm only controlling 3 devices, I made my VCR key into an Audio key and found different Yamaha code that makes the Power button work as an ON button... now I can use the VCR device mode to power the Receiver ON (and coincidentally do all the other Receiver things) and use the Audio device mode to do all the Receiver things and power it OFF...

Tosh 65HDX82 TV, Motorola DCT2000, DCT5100, DCT6412p2, Shaw Cable Calgary
magic_1994 is offline  
post #11 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-08-12, 12:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Wow...I just had m DCT3416i replaced...and the new one came with this new remote control. Epic Fail!! That's all I have to say. It's a horrible remote. Whomever designed the button layout should be shot. Why did they move the exit button? Why doesn't my setting button work? Why does this thing blink lights everytime I press a button? Booo!!!
referee77 is offline  
post #12 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-08-12, 07:19 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 4,818
referee77: What does the new remote look like? Take a pic and post it.
DSgamby is online now  
post #13 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-08-13, 12:30 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
If the OP is correct (I think he may have missed a 'C' in the model number), it's the third one on the URC page at the link provided in Post#1 of this thread.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #14 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-08-13, 06:50 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 717
Love the lit buttons on the new unit but they moved the exist button too far up and left to reach easily. When I surf, I need to exit the guide as soon as I can! lol
bowmah is offline  
post #15 of 31 (permalink) Old 2011-08-13, 08:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 223
Can you program the green D button to be the exit button? If you can't do it directly, then perhaps use the learning function with the older remote?
antonk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome