Missing center channel sound on HD channels? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 2009-11-13, 12:24 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC. Shaw Cable, 42" Samsung DLP, 6416 w/expander & DCX3400
Posts: 1,900
Missing center channel sound on HD channels?

A friend noticed that while watching some HD channels it will not be coming through on his receiver in 5.1 even though it says 5.1 in the guide. He has shown me where a program will be coming through on right front and rear only and no other channels have anything coming through then the next program comes through with all 5 channels working. This has caused him to be forced to watch some of his programs using the TV speaker. Anyone else notice unusual 5.1 sound issues lately?

I've been told most amps will compensate automatically and mix the feeds faking a surround sound effect but this does not work on his amp (a little older model)

Designated Shaw Employee representative for Cable & Digital Cable for Digital Home Forums.
Shaw Guru is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 2009-11-13, 12:38 PM
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,577
This is improperly encoded DD5.1 audio and is discussed as items 1 & 2 in the following FAQ. Workarounds and other information on similar issues are also discussed there:

FAQ - What's Available in DD5.1

CBC and sometimes PBS do this a fair bit because they don't wish to switch back and forth between DD5.1 and DD2.0 because that causes issues with their (older) equipment, therefore rather than sending out DD2.0 for DD2.0 programming, they send out DD5.1 all the time but only two-channels for those programmes that are not true DD5.1.

The right-front/rear issue has happened very occasionally, but he should also check his speaker connections with the test tones on his AVR to ensure they're connected properly. There is really not much that can be done with improperly encoded DD5.1, although sometimes you can use the analogue audio connection to the amp and process it using Dolby Pro Logic.

The analogue audio connection will work for improperly encoded audio, but will not bring back missing dialogue - for that I recommend using closed captioning.

Guides are notoriously incorrect for information such as HD or DD5.1.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  

5.1 , dolby digital , surround sound

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome