New Pace/Shaw equipment launching Sept 30th - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-12-23, 05:51 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,636
I've had my 6412 powered on 24/7 for 5 years. No problems whatsoever.
faston is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-12-23, 06:31 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC. Shaw Cable, 42" Samsung DLP, 6416 w/expander & DCX3400
Posts: 1,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticode View Post
Oh that's really cool, I didn't know the DCT comes out of sleep mode to record something. That said, is there a reason to put it into sleep mode in the first place?
No really benefit to put it in sleep mode other than to say to the wife that I'm doing everything I can to save energy. lol

Designated Shaw Employee representative for Cable & Digital Cable for Digital Home Forums.
Shaw Guru is offline  
post #78 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-12-23, 11:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Ah now that's using your noodle Shaw Guru :]

How about tuners? Does the Summit only have one ASTC tuner?
Mysticode is offline  
post #79 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-12-24, 11:31 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC. Shaw Cable, 42" Samsung DLP, 6416 w/expander & DCX3400
Posts: 1,900
When the Summit does not have an external drive connected it only has 1 tuner. Once it reads that it has an external drive it auto enables the ability to have dual tuners.

Designated Shaw Employee representative for Cable & Digital Cable for Digital Home Forums.
Shaw Guru is offline  
post #80 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-12-26, 12:55 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Downtown, Vancouver, BC
Posts: 175
None of Motorola or Pace DCT's have any ATSC tuners.

You are confusing QAM tuner with ATSC, one is for cable, one is for OTA.
VBC1 is offline  
post #81 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-12-28, 11:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Ah, QAM then! I always thought they were ATSC turners (HD?), guess not...
Mysticode is offline  
Reply

Tags
pace , pvr , pvr expander , summit , whistler

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome