New Pace/Shaw equipment launching Sept 30th - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-09-30, 05:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Has anyone been able to confirm the availability of the Pace Summit in Calgary?
lorissimo23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-09-30, 11:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 4
We just made an appointment this afternoon with Shaw to get our HD service installed on November 1st (so as not to have a double bill between Shaw and MTS)...any guesses on which PVR we'll be getting?
ksolomon is offline  
post #33 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-01, 12:48 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 222
Shaw Guru, thankyou for providing this information. Regarding the Shaw PVR expander (which i guess is a rebranded Western Digital MyDVR esata drive) ....has there been any discussion on whether or not 3rd party esata enclosures will work with the Motorola PVR? Just wondering if there will be some sort of equipment 'pairing', that will preclude the use of 3rd party esata gear. Thx & rgds.

Integra Research RDC-7.1, Bryston 9B-SST, NHT vt2, vs2 & sw2, Sony 65XBR10w, Moto 6416iii, PS3-250, Sony BDP-s550
RigPig is offline  
post #34 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-01, 12:56 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by RigPig View Post
....has there been any discussion on whether or not 3rd party esata enclosures will work with the Motorola PVR?
External Hard Drive Thread For Motorola DCT - See Post 1 For Summary

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #35 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-01, 01:36 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 222
.....actually i was asking ShawGuru if there had been any discussion 'Internal to Shaw' on that subject, i could have worded it different maybe.
He had mentioned internal discussions about the new hardwares, so i was just asking if that was touched on at all. Thx.

Integra Research RDC-7.1, Bryston 9B-SST, NHT vt2, vs2 & sw2, Sony 65XBR10w, Moto 6416iii, PS3-250, Sony BDP-s550
RigPig is offline  
post #36 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-01, 06:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
FYI the Pace 758Ds are in stock at BestBuy Surrey BC. Thanks for the advance info! I might have made a mistake and ordered the 3416 instead.. Unless this unit sucks, the 1TB for $500 is clearly better than 160GB for $500. I'm no math genius, but this seems like a no-brainer.
tj80 is offline  
post #37 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-01, 07:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,315
plugged in and works fine. It says 0%, and even though there are recordings, I think it uses the larger space first, then the smaller internal HDD, if I am correct (I think someone on here mentioned that). I can go on vacation now, and my pvr wont fill up!!!
JesseJ is offline  
post #38 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-01, 08:59 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesseJ View Post
I can go on vacation now, and my pvr wont fill up!!!
Speaking of ... What happens during power outage? Instructions (and bit of common sense) say that expander should be powered first, then after 5-10 seconds PVR. Reason is that disk in expander has time to spin up and PVR can then recoginze there is external disk and can properly initialize it.

When power comes back, both expander and PVR start initialization at the same time. If PVR makes check for external disk before disk is ready to respond what will happen?
  • Nothing. Disk will always start faster and PVR will recognize it.
  • PVR is faster and it will not detect external disk. It will record to internal disk for as long as there is space on it. Existing recordings on external disk will be available next time PVR boots up and external disk is recognized.
  • PVR is faster and it will not detect external disk. It will record to internal disk for as long as there is space on it. Existing recordings on external disk will be lost forever.
  • PVR is faster and it will not detect external disk. Because disk configuration changed it will automatically reformat internal disk and previous recordings on internal disk will be lost. New scheduled recordings will continue to record as normal.
  • PVR is faster and it will not detect external disk. Because disk configuration changed it will ask user (thus wait for you to come back from vacation) if it's OK to reformat. From that point on all scheduled recordings will be missed.
  • PVR is faster and it will not detect external disk. System will crash and wait for special boot sequence to perform factory reset
  • Something in between
753951 is online now  
post #39 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-01, 10:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
The answer is to buy a UPS. I have one on each of the three STBs in my house.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #40 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-02, 10:24 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 671
I'm well aware of ways to avoid it but when UPS battery gets exhausted UPS will shut down and we are back to the original question. Which of many suggested scenarios is going to happen? When my expander gets delivered I'll flip the breaker and test it myself, but I thought someone may have encounter this and knows the answer.
753951 is online now  
post #41 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-02, 05:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,268
I just talked to Shaw and was informed that a power outage should cause no problems after the drive is formatted. But only time will tell!
jumpy27 is offline  
post #42 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-02, 05:16 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,665
Power outages do not cause any problems with eSATA drives connected to Pace Aspen PVR's so I'd be hard pressed to imaging that they would with Whistlers.
JohnnyCanuck is offline  
post #43 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-03, 01:59 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 671
Thanks guys, that's what I wanted to hear.
753951 is online now  
post #44 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-05, 01:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 5
I can confirm that the new Pace HD Tuner DCT758D is available at the North Edmonton Best Buy. However, I went to get the box activated, and after about 20 minutes of working with the guy from Shaw (He told me that I didn't give him a valid serial number because it didn't start with PAZ) he informed me that Shaw wasn't putting up the firmware download until today, so my box is sitting at home right now hopefully downloading the firmware so I can use it when I get home.
bciochetti is offline  
post #45 of 81 (permalink) Old 2009-10-09, 06:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
From the Pace Website:

The box comes standard with dual video tuners that allow subscribers to record two channels simultaneously while watching previously recorded content.

The DC758D can support a range of hard drive models and capacities including the popular 1 Terabyte drives now on the market.
fuzzybunny is offline  
Reply

Tags
pace , pvr , pvr expander , summit , whistler

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome