Cogeco TiVo service - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 13Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-10, 11:43 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 12,803
Cogeco TiVo service

Quote:
BUSINESS DEVELOPMENTS AND OTHER

During the third quarter of fiscal 2014, the Corporation's subsidiary, Cogeco Cable Canada, recognized an impairment of $32.2 million of property, plant and equipment, capitalized wages and borrowing costs related to an Internet Protocol Television ("IPTV") solution project on which its Canadian cable services segment had worked. As a result of the unexpected performance issues encountered with the platform, it had to be abandoned by Cogeco Cable Canada. Subsequently, in order to enhance its competitiveness, Cogeco Cable Canada has concluded a partnership with TiVo Inc. ("TiVo"), a global leader in next-generation television services that enable viewers to consume content across all screens in and out-of-the home to be launched at Cogeco Cable Canada by mid-fiscal 2015. The TiVo solution was successfully launched in the first half of fiscal 2014 at the Corporation's Atlantic Broadband subsidiary with great customer acceptance.
Source: Quarterly Report PDF

"Mid-fiscal 2015" means Cogeco should start rollouts before March 2015, if everything does on schedule. Since they've done this in their U.S. subsidiary, the timeline is probably realistic.

TiVo guide PDFs

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2014-12-05 at 11:39 AM. Reason: Added User Guides
Dr.Dave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-10, 03:24 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Burlington
Posts: 168
Here's what it looks like on Cogeco's Atlantic Broadband subsidiary:
http://atlanticbb.com/for-home/tv/tivo
pooper is offline  
post #3 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-10, 03:55 PM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 397
So what can we expect to change out of this? Will a DVR still cost me $15 a month? Will it be an all-new system (i.e. finally updated guides after 10+ years of waiting)?

Also, when is mid fiscal year 2015 for Cogeco?
jeffaustin90 is offline  
 
post #4 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-10, 04:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
it will be all new Tivo type guide and when i was the phone she said that we would have the Tivo by December this year

this is what it should like that
proudcanadian is offline  
post #5 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-13, 07:35 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St Catharines On Sony KDL46EX620,PS3-60,Cogeco DCT6412, Harmony 880 Yamaha HTR6140 Polk RM10&PSW10
Posts: 26
I would be very interested in a working whole home dvr system if the rates are somewhat equivalent to the system that they have now.I'm glad to see that they have finally given up on their existing system and are getting an off the shelf system from an existing top notch company but am afraid the cost may drive pricing beyond my reach.If a
anyone gets any more info I would love to hear it as it is not often you can get excited about Cogeco bringing in the latest tech.
http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/coge...ario-1.2703228
http://www.multichannel.com/news/tec...es-tivo/375822

Last edited by optics; 2014-07-13 at 08:00 AM.
optics is offline  
post #6 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-13, 07:13 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 56
You have to be kidding me! I have been lamenting the sorry state of DVR's in Canada since I last had a TiVo. What timing I just asked Cogeco to cancel all my services. Recording Formula 1 and seeing a NASCAR race, then recording the Tour de France and seeing a rodeo was the last straw. I even told their rep that TiVo uses an overscan flag to record a show when it is actually on not by time. OK, I was very frustrated and do realize that I was wasting my time.

Living in Burlington, do I go with Bell or lick my wounds and stick with Cogeco and hope that this time(they did announce a letter of agreement with Tivo in the early 2000's) they really will do it and do it right?

Bill
DBC944 is offline  
post #7 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-14, 09:50 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 12,803
Cogeco said they will gradually roll out TiVo in Canada, so it may take a while.

Atlantic Broadband announced their TiVo plan in June 2013 and Cogeco reported on their conference call that it is 95% complete.

I heard that Dejardins analyst Maher Yaghi said in his research report that the TiVo system was better than Cogeco's existing system but not as good as Fibe, but I haven't seen the report myself, so I don't know if there were any more details.

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2014-07-14 at 10:07 AM.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #8 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-15, 08:00 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Burlington
Posts: 168
Here's hoping that living in Cogeco's backyard(Burlington) keeps paying off. I'd love to have the new system this year. 1995 really wants their software back.
pooper is offline  
post #9 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-18, 06:03 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St Catharines On Sony KDL46EX620,PS3-60,Cogeco DCT6412, Harmony 880 Yamaha HTR6140 Polk RM10&PSW10
Posts: 26
I was in the local store yesterday and asked the rep about Tivo.I was told that at a staff gathering that morning they had been informed to expect a Dec 2014 roll out in my area.This was the first they had heard about Tivo and were excited about a new tech to provide to customers.
optics is offline  
post #10 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-18, 10:36 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 24
Wow, this is great news.
rickyb is offline  
post #11 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-20, 10:20 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 56
Tivo uses a cable card. We do not have that in Canada. Will we get it or will Tivo make a unit just for Cogeco without the cable card?

Will we get the Roamio, Roamio Plus or the Pro? There are a lot of questions that will take time to get answers to.

Bill
DBC944 is offline  
post #12 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-20, 10:43 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
TiVo also licenses their software as well so it can simply run on existing STBs. I'm not saying this is the route cogeco is taking but cable card is not required.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #13 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-21, 01:53 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 12,803
Cogeco's Atlantic Broadband subsidiary uses the T6 model, which is similar to the Roamio. They charge a $10 upgrade fee per month for TiVo Service in addition to the regular DVR price. TiVo Minis are $9.99 per month for additional TVs.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #14 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-22, 01:29 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 56
I have just rescinded my Cogeco cancellation. All because of the hope that Tivo will be the answer to the guide and program shifting that plagues Cogeco. Time will tell if this is the right decision as I had to agree to a 12 month commitment. Now hopefully Cogeco will integrate Tivo and all of it's features successfully.

Bill
DBC944 is offline  
post #15 of 370 (permalink) Old 2014-07-22, 04:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 103
Smile

Although cable card may not be in use with cogeco there is two providers in canada that I know of that do. Shaw and eastlink both have recievers that use cable card .
viperdiablo is offline  
Reply

Tags
tivo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome