Cogeco Programming and Packages Discussion - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 78 (permalink) Old 2012-12-31, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,054
Cogeco Programming and Packages Discussion

This thread is to discuss programming and packages available from Cogeco

This is the thread to post in if you are investigating changing your programming or investigating what is available on Cogeco. Hardware pricing can also be discussed here.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-27, 03:05 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 135
U.S. Superstations

Can anyone confirm that the U.S. Superstations - WPIX, WGN, KTLA & WSBK are still available with The Movie Network package. It's only listed as included in the Super Channel package, which we are not interested in. Receiving conflicting reports from customer service.
ava0775 is offline  
post #3 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-27, 05:58 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 93
I have the Movie Network package and do receive the superstations.
smsat is offline  
 
post #4 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-27, 09:00 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 135
Thank you!
ava0775 is offline  
post #5 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 07:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Grimsby
Posts: 93
So my wife wants to watch Big Brother. Last night it was on Global but tonight it is on something called Slice which appears to be only a non HD station. Is this just Cogeco or is Slice just a non HD station everywhere.
Goldberry is offline  
post #6 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 09:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,092
Shaw Media doesn't distribute this channel in HD yet. It's not unique to Cogeco.
bigoranget is offline  
post #7 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-03-01, 09:07 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Grimsby
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigoranget View Post
Shaw Media doesn't distribute this channel in HD yet. It's not unique to Cogeco.
I guess Shaw really doesn't give a crap about the Big Brother series then if they don't want to use Global to air it Personally I hope it dies quickly.
Goldberry is offline  
post #8 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-05-17, 07:25 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13
Time Shifting Channels Removed

I received an email from Cogeco today informing of the following:
Dear Valued Customer,

At Cogeco, we are committed to providing you with the very best services that entertain, inform, and connect your world. As part of our efforts to continuously improve our TV packages, we are making several changes in the upcoming weeks to harmonize our TV packages across Ontario.

Therefore, we are revising the list of channels available in your TV package. Here is a summary of what will change in the upcoming weeks:


Channels permanently added to your current package
Treehouse – a great line up of kids' programming
V – a French channel that goes beyond the usual with original programming (available on channel 541 SD and 563 HD)
Channels removed from your current package
The West feeds for NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX and PBS will now be available in the Time Shifting theme pack, which can be added to any Digital Select package.
Salt+Light and EWTN – will be available through the new 'Heart and Soul' pack FREE of charge
Télé Québec will no longer be available

I really do not care about Treehouse or "V', but am super ticked off about losing the time shifting US channels. Last month they told me the price was going up 3 dollars and now tell me that for the added money I am lucky enough to lose some of the most watched and recorded channels.

Last edited by 57; 2013-05-17 at 07:48 PM. Reason: Moved to existing thread.
Nick44 is offline  
post #9 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-05-17, 08:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 40
I was just going to comment on losing all the west channels...I've had time shifting for years..So am i losing these channels? If so where are the moving too..I think it's time to give back there PVR, cancel the Super Sports Package..maybe look for another option..lol
mfanbrad is offline  
post #10 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-05-18, 05:54 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kingston
Posts: 129
Our house is currently looking at reducing services. We really didn't want to, but the time has come.
bbailey861 is offline  
post #11 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-05-21, 09:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Windsor
Posts: 3
Angry Usual Cogeco Robbery

This is the usual robbery that Cogeco does from time to time and they seem to be able to get away with it.
I really like having the channels from out West. It gives me a 2nd chance to watch a program I may have missed.
Earlier they removed Showcase-Pacific without any notice. Poof! and it was gone.
We are getting rate increases while our programming is being reduced. I am seriously looking at satellite TV now.
Radrick55 is offline  
post #12 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-05-21, 11:31 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 317
I received the same letter, although we have the Basic Package. We are losing three to five channels (I don't watch anyway). Our price is going up.
cableredneck is offline  
post #13 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-06-03, 03:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1
Gained TSN2 in the new line up, but can't access it

We received that letter, saying we will lose S&L and Tele Quebec?
Will gain TSN 2, Treehouse and V?

I visited the local Cogeco store and was advised ( I was only really interested in TSN2) that you cant access the new additions with a Cogeco adapter, but with a digital box ($4) or a HD box ($7) I can get it.
I have a HD box and can verify I get the channel on one TV, but not on the TV in my home office associated with the adapter.
Great so we get a letter (undated ) from Ron Perrotta VP Marketing, saying
"Channels permanently added to your current package"
What he didn't say was it will cost you the price of a digital box to receive them.
Why cant the adapters receive the new channel additions???
The guy in the store said the adapters were only meant for the initial migration from digital.
I would like an answer from cogeco, on an open forum
thankyou
Oakvillian is offline  
post #14 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-06-05, 03:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milton, Ontario
Posts: 614
I currently have all my services with Cogeco for the last 8 years. It is time to move on. Cogeco is too expensive for what they offer. I am seriously thinking of jumping to Bell and getting all my services from them. Their introductory prices are so much cheaper than what I am paying for and even after that the prices are cheaper than what I am currently paying with Cogeco.

I am just waiting for a response to a question I posted in the Fibe tv forum. That will be my deciding factor. Anyone else leave Cogeco for Bell?
fuzzy32 is offline  
post #15 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-06-06, 08:34 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Niagara
Posts: 251
Forget Bell, try Start Communications, at least for your internet and phone...
HowieDoin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome