Eastlink Tech's Cutting Corners - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By JamesK
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2017-08-10, 07:28 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Eastlink Tech's Cutting Corners

Got home from work yesterday to find that an Eastlink installation tech came to hookup my neighbour, however he cut into my line and installed a splitter, then ran the cable line across the lawn to my neighours house. I am paying for a 300mbps line and my speeds have dropped to around 200mbps and occasionally 100-150mbps and have lost signal to many of my HD channels on my Maestro boxes.

Was in contact with Eastlink support, they didn't seem to concerned to be honest and just booked a tech (better not be the same one!!) to come and check out the issue(s).

Attached are some pics of the "quality" work this tech did.



https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1o...ew?usp=sharing



https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1o...ew?usp=sharing
Gforce99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2017-08-10, 10:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,343
Gee... It looks like your grass needs cutting...
Obed likes this.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2017-08-10, 11:03 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 977
Either your neighbour is a new Eastlink customer, or their existing cable line died.
This is a temporary cable to the neighbour's house, which will be replaced by a permanent cable.
It should have come in from the streetbox, not your house.
46FD04 is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2017-08-11, 02:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,795
It's almost certain the neighbor's main line is damaged or defective. Routing the cable across the lawn is very shoddy work and should only have been done if there was no way to run a cable back to the drop box. Burying new drop cables can take weeks or months.
ExDilbert is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome