Is this too much to ask from you Eastlink? (Favourites) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-01, 11:32 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 21
Is this too much to ask from you Eastlink? (Favourites)

Is this technically impossible or just a feature no one really cares about?

Why can't the remote's/boxes be programmed so that when you press the favorites button it permanently sets the favorites as active so when you channel surf using the up/down buttons it only cycles through your fav chans both ways.

I find it a pita having to surf through non subscription chans especially when these boxes take a second to show the channel. If it was instant channel changing it would be a bit more bearable.

I have a logitech harmony one remote and am able to program the chan + key to act as the fav button so surfing up I can view my subbed chans all the time but its the down that peeves me.

Does anyone else find this annoying?

Riplin
Riplin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-01, 03:22 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,345
Yes...

When we had LookTV in Ontario we could set up a channel list. All you had to do was pick the channels you wanted from a master list and the UP/DOWN channel selector only displayed the channels in your package. Kind of like the Favorites but much faster and easier to set up. And I believe you could also set it up for multiple users. This was back in 2000-2002, so the tech does exist...

Personally, I find it too much of a pain to go through and pick "favorites".
Tom_Joad is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-01, 03:25 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,345
I should also add that Look let you pick-and-pay for your specialty packages. For example, I could select 10 channels for $10, 15 channels for $15, etc. You could literally assemble your own specialty packages and get the channels you were actually interested in and willing to pay for.

What a novel concept!
Tom_Joad is offline  
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-01, 03:29 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,018
Riplin (and others) I have Bell Satellite, and what I do rather than use my favourites, is "lockout and hide" the channels I don't subscribe to or don't want to see, by chance is there any similar setting in the menu of the Eastlink STBs?

If Life is a Highway,...then why is there no end to this dirtroad?
dirtroad is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-01, 10:26 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 21
dirtroad: unfortunately no. you can set a favs list and activate it when in the guide and it removes all the chans you don't have set as fav but you have to do it everytime you open the guide and it always resets you back to chan 2.

Its retarded. Whoever set this up in programming had no clue what they were doing.
Riplin is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-02, 10:44 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,300
Motorola writes the software for the boxes, not EastLink. It would be like blaming Aliant Mobility for not offering Flash on iPhones.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-02, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 21
I figured that might be the case. No excuse though for eastlink not to ask for this feature.

Push it in a fw update.
Riplin is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-02, 12:47 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,300
Quote:
Whoever set this up in programming had no clue what they were doing.
Maybe they did.
By forcing you to see what programs you are missing by not subscribing to a particular package or channel; they can increase the potential of increasing your bill.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-04, 02:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Halifax
Posts: 14
Motorola also writes the software for Bell Aliant FibreOp TV, but yet you can hide unsubscribed channels on their box. It would seem to me that the service provider would specify the features they want and not Motorola; otherwise we would see active USB and firewire ports for example. Eastlink is using this to market the channels you aren't subscribed to. It is incredibly annoying.
mediamercenary is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-04, 03:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
They don't make it for fibreop .. its Microsoft Mediaroom
robbie3130 is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-04, 07:15 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON; Cogeco - DCT6416 DVR, Ultimate 55 internet, Xbox360, Wii, SiriusXM, iPad2 & Galaxy S4
Posts: 1,103
Does any cable provider in Canada let you only see subbed channels in their IPG?
denben73 is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-04, 11:37 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,318
I believe that all Cable providers show all the channels. However, recent firmware on Rogers shows your unsubscribed channels in a different colour - grey. We can also create a "favourites" list, as can Shaw...

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-05, 12:19 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Grande Prairie, AB 1x3400M, 1xDCX700, 1xSB5680 NW, Wii, PS3
Posts: 165
The IPG software actually dictates features not the firmware.

The Rovi Prevue guide used to be based on an Amiga 2000 OS. It's crappy software and doesn't allow anything for features.

Bell Satellite you can display only subbed channels. I have a favorites list of only subbed channels but having to go into the menu to display each time is a pain.

On the Passport Echo IPG software you have to also to create a favorites list but at least with that software you can specify to use that list all the time so you don't have to keep selecting Menu -> favorites -> subbed list all the time.
excatvdude is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-05, 12:55 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, Nova Scotia
Posts: 685
The guide features are probably dictated by Motorola's biggest customers. Folks like Comcast, Time Warner, and Charter. Motorola could easily add a decent favourites feature, but likely won't bother unless their major partners ask/pay for it.

Mark
smallmj is online now  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 2012-03-05, 12:59 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,318
Also, many of these STBs are pushing their limits (some are quite old technology), so adding the feature might compromize other features or slow the STB down too much. (Newer STBs with more capability could perhaps handle different firmware and allow it.)

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome